We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had!
whilst travelling through Malaysia my husband and I booked one night stay here based on the reputation the hotel is supposed to have. What a mistake that was.
It was clear upon arrival that the staff did not think too highly of us and they were impolite. We were taken to our room which was away from he main building. There is no AC as it stays cool in the area (althought when we got there it was in the mid 20's!). There was also no fan, so to keep the room cool the windows had to be left open- cue lots of mosquito bites. Although there are bars over the bedroom windows (not the bathroom) I still felt very vulnerable as there was a path beneath the windows.
The room itself was unclean and old. The bedstead was broken, two of the lights did not work and when we pulled back the sheets to go to sleep we were greated by long dark hairs.... I'm blond and my hubby has short hair.
The bathroom was apparently doubling as an insects graveyard and there were hairs in the sink, bath and floor. There was no shower curtain so when the shower was turned on the floor flooded. Which brings me to the next point. When we got up in the morning we discovered there was no hot water. We rang reception and they sent some poor maid up who turned the taps on and off a few times, but this failed to help. When we mentioned this at check out the receptionist told us we should have let them the the night before and they would have fixed it, of course we didn't know until we got up to shower in the morning!
To be honest I could not have left the hotel soon enough. The staff were unhelpful and the overall feel of the hotel was of it being dirty. I have stayed in back-packer hostels for a quarter of the price that have been better.

Room Tip: If you want a good room Choose one at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    36
    30
    27
See reviews for
52
109
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Decided to book a stay for a weekend getaway from the city after learning that the property has been refurbished. As with most hotels in smaller towns / cities, service is slow and staff are most probably not trained in hospitality. At check in we were given a form to fill out and we had to wait around eventhough we were the only guests at the time. The concierge, bartender, waiter is the same guy who's helpful & pleasant. Our room was in the main wing, overlooking the garden. Although quite close to the main road, it wasn't noisy at night but can be quite noisy in the day time especially the weekends when people come for tea or just to enjoy the gardens. The lights are very dim in the room although there is a big chandelier and some lamps. The bathroom is clean but looks old and the tub uninviting if you were planning on taking a bath. Fixtures are cheap and old. The waste paper basket was shockingly horrible, a really old bad quality plasticky one. Bad quality toiletries. At close to RM600 per night I was sorely disappointed. I know it's a very old property but surely there could be nicer touches in the room? All hotels in Camerons do not have air conditioning being in the highlands it's cool but this room has no fan and it can get pretty warm in the day time when the sun in shining. We have to open up the windows to let in fresh air and there are plenty of mosquitoes at night so remember to bring your repellents or citronella candles. Also it will be a good idea to bring candles if you're on a romantic getaway to use in the room, I find the lighting a little spooky, not romantic. Dinner is not very nice in terms of the food, it's English but the type you get like probably in the 80s and service can be slow. After dinner we proceeded to the bar and sat by the fireside to have a night cap. There are plenty of interesting English knick knacks to look at at the bar area next to the reception / front of restaurant. Breakfast is included in the hotel rate. You get to pick from a choice of 2 sets. Quite pleasant, again the food is retro.
I'm giving this 4 dots instead of 3 just because it's a quaint little property that you will not find anywhere else in Malaysia. But will I be back for another stay? Nah, once is enough.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellents!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked this stay to celebrate my first anniversary with my boyfriend and i must say we were delighted! Initially i was worried after reading the mixed reviews from other people, but we are full of nothing but praise for this place!

Upon arrival, Ammu from the reception helped us with registration and also gave us a brochure for tours. She told us our room was not yet available (we arrived around 9am) and we could only check in around 12 noon. She served us our welcome drinks shortly after and we sat in the comfy main hall looking through the brochure and drinking tea. To our surprise, as we finished our tea, Ammu told us our room was prepared for us and we could now check in.

The room we stayed was 2 storeys above the main floor, the Eldgin room. The staff had very kindly bumped us to a suite in the main building instead of the deluxe room, which was lovely and very thoughtful of them! The room was beautiful and had lovely decor and ample space for both of us, though it was not incredibly large. The window in the room opened to a nice view of the garden below and of the golf course in a distance.

My boyfriend loved the gardens of the Smokehouse and we spent some time strolling about, exploring the place.
There seems to also be an extension to the left of the main building where the deluxe rooms are. There's a nice area with a traditional red telephone booth and some chairs where you can dine and have afternoon tea.

During the course of our stay, we had full english breakfast (included in the accomodation cost) and tea and scones. Breakfast, as other reviewers have said, was ample and very satisfying. Staff were friendly and polite, and food was served at an adequate pace- tea and cereals first, followed by breads and jam, then the main eggs and sausages, bacon. Tea and scones were slightly pricey but worth every single bit.

The only area of improvement i would suggest is on the amenities e.g. electricity and heating.
The hotel is old and this has clearly affected the amenities as well.

For water heating- the bath water was constantly hot and cold and it was difficult for us to take a proper bath or even a shower.
Also, during our stay, we experienced a blackout, but as we were doing nothing major at that time (just sitting on the bed watching the telly), and the light and electricity was promptly back on in about 5 minutes, we didn't quite mind it, but i imagine if another guest was in the middle of a shower, it might be quite distressing....

Room Tip: Guest who prefer a more rested sleep can consider to request NOT to get the glenee room as it seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The "welcome" was rather appalling. We just wanted to have a drink in their nice lobby, but were told by rude staff in an almost impolite manner to sit outside. It was raining, and all they had outdoors was a kind of pavillion - certainly not the quaint feeling of Good Old England that one would expect from such a place. It looks to me like they own a beautiful property, but do not maintain it well. The service is poor. For example, their garden would be beautiful if they only looked after it more carefully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Smokehouse hotel is just the right place to sit back and enjoy it's relaxing ambiance, fabulous gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

1.no greetings or smile from hotel staff
2. No welcome drink
3. We had some issues with reservation and were treated very rudely, they never showed any courtesy or offer any assistance to help resolve the issue which is within their jurisdiction.Only after much argument and our expression of displeasure.. They finally agreed reluctantly
4. Room was so small and congested with furniture
5. Room smells of mould and windows can't be opened unless you want mosquitoes to sleep with you
6. Sofa and carpets are old tired and smelly
7. No warm water for shower.. Its either hot scalding water or ice cold water which comes at low and high pressure.. Really terrible
8. Lizard poops scattered on balcony table and staircase
9. Slow wifi which disconnects easily
10. No thank you from any of the staff upon departure
11. Overall this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed and with the kind of money we paid for, it's really not worth a single cent

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

After a long tiring drive you would expect some kind greetings from the receptionist but no no... Upon seeing I have small kids with us her face turned solemn n arrogant... And quickly denied us the room unless we upgrade...no other options were given to us... Either we upgrade or we can leave without any compensation since the room has been paid for 2 nights....we then asked for the manager but were refused contact saying that the mgr was on leave.. We insisted the manager be called thru phone... The manager was as hopeless as the receptionist and could not even make a small decision to consider our situation... We always book rooms at other fancier hotels and not a single of those multinational hotels make such a big fuss over us sharing the room with small kids under 5yo... But somehow the smokehouse hotel has a very strict policy that for them no consideration should be given to special cases.... They treat us like mobsters as if there were 15 of us checking into their small congested mould infested room... We had to spend almost half an hour arguing with both of them who seem to not use their brains and only looking at ripping us off further and forces us to pay extra for somethg we dont need... When asked for the reason why and none of them cud answer.. I asked if it's the breakfast we dont plan to hv them anyway so what is the fuss al about... They insist its not abt the breakfast its just company policy... Again i was puzzled and furious on how idiotic their response was...
After the unwelcome greeting we had we finally get to check into our room... And were further devastated... The room smells of mould and leaving the windows open was not an option since mosquitoes are abundant in that area... The condition of the furniture was also pathetic... Old dirty carpets and smelly sofa.... And getting a shower was a nightmare due to inconsistent water pressure... One second the water was too hot it could scald our skin and the next second the water turned cold as ice... We actually had to ask for a bucket to bathe.!!
We expected a relaxing vacation but what we get was a stressful one due to the terrible service and pathetic condition of the room for a hefty price ... Never again will we be even glancing back to this hotel or recommend anyone to stay here... And we bet even after many bad reviews they would not evrn care what more strive to improve.. Many has complaint abt the room but after yrs nothing has been done to rectify them... I feel sorry for those victims including myself who has fell prey to these rip offs!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant By The Golf Course
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.