We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Cafe

Sea Star Cafe
11544 Palmbrush Trail, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34202
941-753-6016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a good experience the first time we tried this little, owner run restaurant, remember I said good, NOT GREAT! Our second visit in Jan. 2013 on a Sunday after Church w/ friends was not good at all. Before I review the food, I must say the servers on our first visit were very friendly. On our second visit when we had to send back my food, they became a little sarcastic.
Ok, so here is my food review on our second visit. I ordered a blueberry pancake and bacon. The pancake was undercooked and tatsted very salty, so I told them I did not want it and just ate the bacon.. My husband had a big breakfast platter that he said it was OK, but nothing to bring him back to the restaurant. Our friends both had eggs benedict and it was terrible. The eggs were almost hard cooked and the sauce was a thick velveeta like cheese sauce, not Hollandaise sauce. We all left very dissappointed will not be returning. The other thing that bothered me is that the owner had her young child in a highchair behing the breakfast/lunch counter and she was feeding the child. Just really seemed inappropriate to have a child in the area where they are preparing and prepping food. We really like to support locally owned businesses and I feel badly that I cannot say anything better. Maybe they were just having a bad day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were in the area of SR 70 and I-75 after a tour Southern Sarasota County and were hungry for a non-chain type restaurant for lunch. We did an Internet Search and saw that the Sea Star was within a couple of miles from our location. We arrived after the rush hour and were not dissapointed. After downing a bowl of home made chips, I attacked a loaded philly steak with a side of onion rings. Service was fantastic and my glass of diet Coke was topped off ever few minutes. The quanity and quality of the food was very good. Sea Star is a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Owner operated, service is good and they do a great job with the food. A hidden gem, one of the better restaurants in the area. Always busy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Awesome little Breakfast & Lunch cafe! Families are welcome, prices are right - it's a neighborhood gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Every town has one of those great little cafes or diners that all the locals go to. Well, in Lakewood Ranch...this is it. It's tucked away off State Road 70, but no impossible to find. The food is really good. Standard foods, like pancakes, eggs, biscuits & gravy and daily specials. Everything is made fresh to order, which is nice. The staff is friendly. I'm going with 4 stars simply because it's not a swanky establishment. If you try it out, you'll probably love it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good local breakfast/brunch cafe; always friendly and efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Nice little local breakfast / lunch / brunch cafe. Provides the complete range of menu choices expected from this type of cafe. Inside decor is fresh and bright. Seating is mostly 4-person booths plus limited counter seating. There is also a small outside seating area which basically overlooks the parking lot. Not alcohol licensed. Food is well prepared. Portions are generous without being "over the top". Nice range of omelet choices, in addition to more creative dishes such as Eggs Benedict and Coconut French Toast.. Egg-white and egg-beater optional for $1.00 additional. And, as the menu states... if you want something not on the menu, just ask, and if they have the ingredients they'll whip it up for you. Service is always consistently friendly and efficient. Coffee fill-ups offered often and without prompting. Over the past 3 - 4 years this cafe has become our primary post Sunday service breakfast location, and we have never left less than completely satisfied.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Star Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sea Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.