We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lakewood Ranch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 4 nights here and we're very happy. Nice room in a good location ideal to explore the area. We ate 1 night in the restaurant which was fine. What more could we say.....? Sarasota is a wonderful area with great beaches, good shopping and lots of culture. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
37
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through Priceline. Location and reviews were very positive. Upon checking in we were greeted by friendly staff and I must say the hotel lobby looked great and we had super expectations. Our room was on the top floor and when we opened the door we were hit by a mildew smell and the smell of what we consider to be an offensive cleaning agent. I chalked it up to the room having just been cleaned and the AC perhaps not on for a lot of the time. I called the front desk to have them send someone up, which they promptly did, but only after telling me this was FL and being on the top floor I should manage my expectations. It turns out the AC was not working correctly ( according to the maintenance man) so we requested another room.

The next room was on floor two and lo and behold the same smells. There were no other rooms avaiable and Sarasota hotels were all booked so we had no choice but to stay. After 20 minutes we had huge headaches and went to a CVS to buy antihistamines in the hope of helping our nasal passages. We kept the air on very cold all night to "dry" out the room. After a rough night we asked the maid NOT to clean the room, kept the AC on all day while we were gone and came back to a better less mildew smelling room which we adjusted to given no other room availability.

This is only the second time we have stayed in a Holiday Inn in the past 10 years and believe it or not for the very same reasons as just described. We are not finicky travelers and have stayed in some very rustic places over the years as well as some of HI's competition with which we have never had this type of problem. I can guarantee that we will never choose Holiday Inn again and may reconsider Priceline when there is the potential for a Holiday Inn to be in the mix. Perhaps this was just an unlucky series of room choices. Hard to say...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Sarasota for Orioles spring training. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. It was also very conveniently located just off the highway so just about everything was within a 15-20 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I am very disappointed with this hotel. Little things mean a lot when you're traveling, especially on business. The fitness center doesn't open until 5:30 am. Those of you that have read my reviews know that I have to get up very early and believe that hotel fitness centers should be open 24/7 - period. Also, there is no coffee available in the lobby and right now it is 6 a.m.i don't think I have stayed at a hotel that doesn't have coffee available in the lobby. My room also smells and feels musty and the windows don't open to let some fresh air in. The hotel is about seven miles from the airport, yet there is no complimentary or pay for shuttle. Now for the positive things about the hotel : the restaurant attached is reasonably priced and quite good. There is a seafood restaurant next door that my colleague says is fantastic. It is very close to a ton of restaurants, shopping, golf course, and the Cheesecake Factory. There are also a couple of alligators in the pond beside the hotel, which is cool.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Hi,
I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am confused about several of the things you listed.
Our fitness room is open 24 hours a day and accessible with your room key. My apologies if you were not told this.
We do not put coffee out until between 6 and 6:30am, when our full service restaurant opens. Most full service hotels in the area do not offer it at all. We do have coffee in all the rooms if you need a complementary cup of coffee before these times.

Thank you so much for letting us know about the smell in your room. We may have a faulty AC and want to make sure we correct it asap.

We list transportation to the airport as available for a fee. There are several taxi and van services available and again, the front desk can help you with this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to fill this out. I hope you will give us another shot one day. Feel free to contact me directly if I am not understanding these points correctly

Rob Ferguson
Corporate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Staff was friendly--from housekeepers to front desk. David was especially helpful when making the reservation. Room was spotless. Only suggestions--brighter lighting in bathroom and complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room faced the lake and was quiet on the 4th foor. Would stay away from room next to ice machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Hi,
I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am confused about several of the things you listed.
Our fitness room is open 24 hours a day and accessible with your room key. My apologies if you were not told this.
We do not put coffee out until between 6 and 6:30am, when our full service restaurant opens. Most full service hotels in the area do not offer it at all. We do have coffee in all the rooms if you need a complementary cup of coffee before these times.

Thank you so much for letting us know about the smell in your room. We may have a faulty AC and want to make sure we correct it asap.

We list transportation to the airport as available for a fee. There are several taxi and van services available and again, the front desk can help you with this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to fill this out. I hope you will give us another shot one day. Feel free to contact me directly if I am not understanding these points correctly

Rob Ferguson
Corporate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Having just disembarked from a week cruise, the room seemed overly large. Check in was quick and easy. The original plan was for two nights, but we needed to leave early. No problem from the front office as they cancelled the second night. A wedding party booked a number of rooms, but we never heard them. Breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

You can't blame the staff for paper thin walls. That's why we bring earplugs. This seems to be a newer hotel, and the lobby was very welcoming. Sometimes it ends in the lobby, but in the case of this hotel it did not. I did not get the gentleman's name at the desk, but he set a very professional tone. The room was attractive and comfortable, easy to find. They have a restaurant in the hotel, (Alamo?) which had a reasonably priced menu. Very trendy steak house. We decided to walk to a restaurant next door, The Lucky Pelican, which we loved. It was a nice evening, and they had outdoor seating. But we will try the steak house next time. No complaints about this clean and comfortable Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Address: 6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lakewood Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lakewood Ranch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Holiday Inn in North America and in the Top Ten for 6 years running. Completely Remodeled In 2008! Step into luxury at Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch hotel. These boutique smoke-free Sarasota lodgings, close to Bradenton Airport, championship golf courses, Sarasota Polo Club, and proximity to I-75 corridor feature fine, upscale amenities and lavish touches. In all of our guestrooms, you ll find new Dynasty beds outfitted with premium sateen sheets. Enjoy complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, and the ability to send documents to the printer in our hotel s onsite Business Center. When it s time to relax, you have plenty of entertainment options with our pristine lake view pool and spa, miles of walking trails, authentic Alamo Steakhouse and Grill featuring bison steaks, Certified Angus beef, fresh seafood, and enjoy cable and movie channels on your in room 32-inch LCD HDTV. And for your convenience, there are microwave ovens, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, lighted vanity mirrors, and hair dryers in every guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.