We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended. If you go to Sarasota, stay at this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8565 Cooper Creek Blvd, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34201 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/University Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakewood Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended. If you go to Sarasota, stay at this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October and had a wonderful experience. This is not your typical Hampton Inn... They had a great breakfast, the rooms were clean, we loved the location and the staff were extremely professional! If you are going to Sarasota - stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear JLyn,

Please allow me to take a moment and Thank You for staying with us and for taking your time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay and already looking forward to be your home away from home during your next trip to the area.
I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with our team.

We loved having you here!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    74
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
103
76
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Do you like to shop? Plus nice places to eat within walking distance? Maybe a great liquor store? This is the Hampton for you!! LOL I just read what I wrote and cracked myself up. Seriously though, you're in the middle of a mall area with some decent stores to pick from and a short 20 minute ride to Siesta Key or St. Armands. The room was spotless - our favorite find was the little sticky note they leave on each bed saying that your duvet covers were washed! If you're looking for clean, great service, close to the beach but far away enough to offer something else - this is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear flstorms,

Thank You for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you had such a great time not only here with us at the hotel but also while exploring our area that has so much to offer. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with our staff and we are looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with my parents in a room with 2 beds for a wedding Nov 3rd-4th. This hotel could not have been more perfect! We were able to get an early check-in to a room which was a BIG help considering we only had about 3 hours before the wedding started. Crystal, at the front desk, couldn't have been more helpful! About 10-15 minutes after checking in we received a knock on the door (I assume from concierge) with a wedding gift basket which was a very nice surprise! At first I thought she had gotten the wrong room but after confirming that we were with the wedding party, we accepted the gracious gift. Even though I understand this was arranged by the wedding party and not the hotel, it was still excellent service.

The room was clean, quiet, and nicely appointed with all the necessary amenities and PLENTY of towels which was great. The AC unit was extremely user friendly as a digital control pad on the wall and cooled or heated the room as we needed relatively quickly.

After being out late from the wedding, it was very hard to get ourselves together the next morning so we called down to the front desk and spoke with Crystal and she was able to arrange a little bit later departure for us which was greatly appreciated.

We had breakfast in the lobby that morning and all the food was delightful except for the "omlettes" which consisted of an egg folded over a piece of unmelted velveeta cheese. That was kinda gross. They might want to re-think their omlette strategy. The hotel did offer just about everything under the sun as far as waffles, bagels, sausage, hard boiled eggs, coffee and flavored creamer, tea, juice, fruit, cereal, muffins. The lounge attendants for the breakfast area were very attentive and did a very good job of keeping the food plentiful and the trash empty.

My mother and I took FULL advantage of the pool the morning of checkout which was absolutely beautiful (and heated!) with the waterfall from the jacuzzi into the pool. We went at about 10:00am and there was hardly anybody there which was nice. We got some much needed mother/daughter time. =) There are towels on site at the pool deck however there are no signs TELLING you that the towels are in the cabinet on the pool deck. If I didn't happen to be curious as to what the cabinet was and opened the doors, we would have never known the towels were there.

We got back up to the room and were able to shower and pack up and get downstairs by our extended departure time. Crystal (again! I don't think the girl ever goes home!) was very helpful in splitting the bill between my parents and I with ease which was very much appreciated.

Overall, I would reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear CelticDreamer03,

Wow - I'm very happy to see that you had wonderful time with us not only while attending wedding event but also spending quality time with your mom and your family. Thank You for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. I will make sure to share your comments with Crystal as well as the rest of our team.
Comments like yours are helping our team to be more successful and strive for excellence even more.

We loved having you here and looking forward to be your home away from home in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on business with family in tow. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Very clean. Would recommend spending a few extra dollars for the suite. The pool area was exceptionally nice and breakfast was a great convenience. The staff was very helpful. Love the fact the duvet covers are washed for every guest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Infogi,

We loved having you here. Thank You for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with our staff as they are huge part of our success.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed not only our property but the area as well.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm a loyal Hiltoneer anyway, but this Hampton Inn & Suites is the finest in Florida. Lots of business travel gives me many data points for comparison. The rooms are outstanding; many $200+ hotels would not favorably compare to the guest rooms and lobby. Very delighted traveler, will find excuses to return,even if I have to travel further for business that day.

Room Tip: great soundproofing, cannot hear interstate noise or nearby shopping plaza at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Levi5440,

Thank You for your loyalty and for being part of our Hilton family. I'm glad to see that you had such a great stay with us and appreciate that you have taken time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor.
Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I'm looking forward to serve you in the future.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, I was greeted warmly by the manager. Coffee and tea were waiting in the hallway lobby and was fresh all day. My room was perfect, as always in The Hampton style. I stay at The Hampton due to the consistent clean, bright atmosphere from location to location. This location is fun due to the fact that it is within walking distance to a large mall and restaurants. A road with a comfortable running path is just around the corner. Great location at Exit 113 off of 74. Parking is easy. The hotel provides easy luggage pushcarts. This Hampton does not miss a beat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Michele,

It was our pleasure to have you here. Guest feedback is essential to our success and I wanted to take a moment and Thank You for taking time to share your experience here at TripAdvisor.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hoping we will have the opportunity to be your home away from home in the near future.

We loved having you here!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here one night and were totally surprised at just how nice these rooms were! They were clean, comfortable, spacious and really nice! If a good rate can be found, this hotel is very comfortable and clean! I would totally recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanaLazaro, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear MrsM00re,

Please allow me to take a moment and Thank You for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Guests feedback is essential to our success and our highest priority. I'm glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to your next visit with us. I'm excited to share your wonderful comments with our team.

We loved having you here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch

Address: 8565 Cooper Creek Blvd, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34201 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/University Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lakewood Ranch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakewood Ranch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/University Park Hotel University Park
Hampton Inn And Suites Sarasota/University Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.