We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hôtel very disappointing dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Saules

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Saules to your Saves list
Hotel les Saules
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075, Rue des Forges | Favières, 80120 Favieres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favieres
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hôtel very disappointing dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay in if you would like to discover two of the nicest coastal towns in Picardy - St Valery and Le Crotroy. It is just five to ten minutes drive from both. The check in is friendly and efficient and rooms have modern decor and are spotless. There are beautiful views from the rooms both front and back. The hotel has nice grounds with a large pond (with frogs in it that you can hear gently croaking!) and the downstairs rooms all have tables outside that you can sit at. There is also a nice decking area where you can sit out ink the sun.

We really enjoyed breakfast, the choice was good, the bread and croissants fresh and good quality and the surroundings nice. We were unfortunately disappointed with dinner though. This seems to be recurrent in many of the reviews. Our main complaint was that the meat was tough (unusual in France) and overcooked. Each different meat or fish dish that we tried tasted as if it had been microwaved, the bread certainly had been. No one came to check if the meal was ok and when I mentioned that the meat was tough and that was why I had left nearly all of it, all I got was a simple "oh". I would have been happy with some extra vegetables instead but nothing was done about it and we were charged full price. I think that if the hotel simplified its menu and proposed less choice but a few specialities, they might do better.

I would encourage people to stay at the hotel for the rooms and the excellent breakfast but I would recommend going to a restaurant elsewhere. There is quite a lot of choice in both towns nearby

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked 2 rooms months ahead through booking.com and on arrival hotel had overbooked and we had to stay elswhere in a poor quality B&B. Reception refused to let us call booking.com from hotel which is what should have happened. We needed to stay in the area as we had arranged to ride the steam train around the Somme estuary the following day. Subsequent requests for compensation - or goodwill gesture refused. Booking.com tried hard but without success. Have friends who have holiday property nearby and who have used and reccomended this hotel before - no longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The first impression was mixed; the room was small, with a smallish high-up window, but because the hotel appeared to have a spa (not seen), there were bathrobes and decent towels. The room also had a kettle and tea tray.
We think that the restaurant may have only recently opened, to be charitable, because the waiter, although pleasant, didn't seem to know what he was doing and spent a lot of time propping up the walls. he was dreamy and slow. We had to wait half an hour in an almost empty room for our order to be taken and then another 30 minutes before our starter came.
My starter, named 'ficelles' of something was a dish of rolled crepes, filled with tinned mushrooms and ham in a creamy sauce; much too filling for a starter.
Our vegetables with the main course were obviously microwaved and soggy; mine were very strange,and tasted as if they had been preserved in a tin or jar, then microwaved to heat them up..
In spite of the fact that we were nearly the first in the room to reach the pudding stage, they had run out of caramel icecream, which was on the menu, so i had a creme brulee, the interior of which was good but completely spoilt by a very burnt topping.
The breakfast was good, with a wide choice.

Room Tip: choose a room with a bigger window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had thought about having a one night stop at this hotel at the end of our holiday in the Loire enroute for the ferry at Zeebrugge but are delighted that we decided to have two nights there.
We were welcomed warmly and shown to our ground floor room by a charming young lady who showed us where the restaurant was and confirmed that we had booked for dinner. She also pointed out where in the hotel we could find tourist information about the surrounding area.
Our room was bright and airy overlooking the duck/frog pond and as it was on the ground floor we had a door leading out to a decked area where we had a table and chairs where we could sit enjoying the sun and the lovely view of the grounds. We also had in our room tea/coffee making facilities which I find unusual in a French hotel and was very welcome.
We had Dinner in the hotel both nights of our stay. There are 3 menus and an A la carte all varied and interesting. The food was excellent - well cooked and nicely presented.
We found everyone friendly and anxious to know that we were enjoying our stay. We would certainly return to this hotel when next in France.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is bright, newly decorated and extremely modern. The lady who showed me the room and door code was friendly and charming. The hotel is situated next to a pretty stream with ducks in abundance and is very near to the Somme Estuary which is a delight to visit. It is a quiet and charming location perfect for walking and cycling. There is a lake and large grounds at the rear . . . with more ducks.

I agree entirely with the previous reviewer. This is a lovely place but be careful on the newly laid decking. The lack of an English TV channel at least made one concentrate in French to the other channels. I, too, went to 'La Clé des Champs' for dinner but would like to try the hotel restaurant some time -- I was only there for one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

A very good modern Logis - still in course of expansion/modernisation. Our annexe, barely finsihed, still smelt of paint, the pictures hadn't been hung & the locks were incredibly stiff. Furthermore the decking outside must have contravened "Health & Safety" regulations as all the boards hadn't been screwed down & my wife nearly turned her ankle over as an unscrewed board tilted. Nevertheless our room was a well designed, & spotlessly clean with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever enjoyed.
The staff were very pleasant & attentive, although their English was no better than our French - still we always enjoy the challenge of communication.
There was free Wi Fi which was generous although it did not extend to the bedrooms.
- & I don't think they were really looking for English custom as they did not even manage one English TV channel on the bedroom TV. We would have appreciated BBC World News.
The breakfast was good (12 euros), but we did not try the dinner as in our view the dining room did not have a good enough ambiance - we preferred to visit the smart restaurant (Le Cle, I think it was called) 2 minutes down the road or drive into Le Crotoy, 10 minutes away.
I don't know why Hotel Les Saules don't try for more UK customers. It is located in a beautiful rural area - only about 75 minutes from the ChannelTunnel & less than 10 minutes from the beatiful Sommes estuary with its resorts of Le Crotoy & Saint-Valery. Also 15 minutes away is the superb bird sanctuary of Le Parc du Marquenterre & the attractive Belle Dunes golf course.
Overall an excellent destination - & we wish them every success.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Favieres
2.3 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
#2 of 5 in Le Crotoy
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
3.9 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Caudron
Hotel Caudron
#2 of 2 in Rue
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Saules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Saules

Address: 1075, Rue des Forges | Favières, 80120 Favieres, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Favieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Saules 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Saules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Saules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.