We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Thatched Inn

The Old Thatched Inn
Main Street, Adstock MK18 2JN, England
01296 712584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Adstock
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bucks
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for dinner here to celebrate our wedding anniversary just yesterday.
Had an absolutely cracking meal and super choice of beers on tap.
For starters - mackerel rillette and the appetiser plate - were mmm mmm tasty. For mains we enjoyed sole and pheasant (with veg, chips and onion rings for sides - delicious). No space for pud although the parfait looked scrummy (next time!) so enjoyed a liqueur coffee instead.
I do like the fact that when you arrive, you are invited to sit on the comfy sofas to peruse the menu and then shown to your table shortly before your food arrives.
Overall, top pub dining in an unpretentious setting. It was our first trip here and as we are only a 15min drive away, I don't think it will be our last either :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcscott, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are really please you enjoyed your anniversary celebration at the Thatch and loved the food. Make sure you visit again soon... we have updated our Summer menu so there may be more treats for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    56
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very sad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just had lunch at Old Thatched Inn. I remember this as a nice pub but is now just a restaurant, as all tables are set up for eating. Even stood at the bar to look at menu as nowhere to sit for a drink.( All the bar tables were reserved for meals even though the restaurant was empty!) Food was boring and the less said about the fish pie the better! This used to be our favourite restaurant, but will not be returning. A place can only live on its reputation for a while, so I think the owners should look very carefully at what was once an excellent "pub" and restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcscott, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are sorry that you did not get the experience you had hoped for. We welcome the feedback and if you would like to disuss it with us in more detail please email us enquiries@theoldthatchedinn.co.uk so that we address the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Welcoming, friendly pub restaurant with superb service & excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful traditional building both outside & inside, with a maze of comfortable, well arranged rooms. Space to drink at the bar (my husband raved about Doombar ale), followed by a delicious meal in the restaurant, then coffees in the enormous leather sofas. Will definately eat there again and again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Supposed to be a quick mid week supper....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

but it is so lovely it turned into three courses and a lovely evening. Lovely warm greeting and being able to choose your meal before getting to the table. I do like being called through when your meal is ready and not sitting there for half an hour before it gets there. Staff very friendly and food wonderful. When i asked for more gravy to go with the duck it was no problem at all.
2 x people, Three courses, three alcoholic drinks and all around £65, what more could you ask. Wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Have visited The Old Thatched Inn on several occasions now and have never had a bad experience. Most recent visit was a rare child free lunch with my wife. As always the staff were incredibly welcoming and extremely helpful. Had a delicious meal of fish and chips washed down with a very well kept ale. The pub is a lovely setting and also has a delightful conservatory restaurant. In summary a pleasure to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatched Inn also viewed

Granborough, Buckinghamshire
 
Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
Winslow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Old Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Thatched Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.