We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowburn Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bowburn Tandoori
Durham Road, Bowburn, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bowburn
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Outstanding food - surprised it's not listed already
Restaurant details
Description: Outstanding food - surprised it's not listed already
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was one of the best value meals I have had, excellent food well spiced and retaining the delicate flavours. Just off Junction 62 on the A1(M)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food could do with an update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had an early evening meal here after having had takeaways which were good. The sit down meal was very good. Didn't like the lime pickle much as it seemed a bit old but the rest of the meal was really great, pleasant service and good price. The downside for me is the decor which was a bit dingey and dated with a bit of an old house sort of feel, I wouldn't take someone there to impress them but apart from that its a good Indian restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Indian Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Close to the A1m and Durham service area, Great food well worth a walk to experience the taste of great value indian food

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We used to go to this place very regularly but began to notice how inconsistent the quality of the food was. Went in with the family once and the whole place was running off extensions plugged into one socket....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Enjoyable Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having read a couple of less than complementary recent reviews we were unsure of what to expect. We arrived at 7pm on a Tuesday and there were already people eating there. The tables, cutlery etc were clean and the food was of a good quality. The courses arrived at ideal time intervals and we were asked whether we were happy with the food, which we were. The staff were friendly and as we left we saw that another table was occupied with diners. The only slight downside is that the restaurant is small and the decor could do with an upgrade

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowburn Tandoori also viewed

Durham, County Durham

Been to Bowburn Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowburn Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.