We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, so friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warsborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kidlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warsborough House
Save
You added Warsborough House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   52 Mill Street, Kidlington OX5 2EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Kidlington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, so friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent a weekend here with my daughter and had a lovely time. Clean, comfortable rooms. Flexible on arrival, departure and time of breakfast. Is as good as the pictures. Very friendly welcome and great breakfast. Would highly recommend staying here and intending on coming back with my partner :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
27
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at this wonderful old house. The atmosphere and welcome were both inviting and relaxing. Elizabeth, the proprietor, was hospitable, friendly and very accomodating of our needs; particularly my gluten/wheat free diet. She went out of her way to make sure that we had the most wonderful time. She was a wonderful and genuinely warm and friendly host. The location of the house was ideal, set back of the road within a beautiful gaden, having it's own parking area to the from of the property, it was quiet, yet surprisingly convenient for trips in to Oxford and the surrounding area. Bus stops right at the end of the drive made for an easy 20 mins bus ride into the heart of Oxford itself.

I would not hesitate to book here again at £80 per room per night B&B it was a steal.

Room Tip: They all looked terrrific, I don't think you could go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

The owner can't do enough for you. Well recommended especially for families.

The breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

a far better solution to staying local to Oxford with a more human touch than a big national chain. Within easy reach of oxford and on bus route.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for a Saturday night at Warsborough House. The bedlinen was very clean, the breakfast well cooked and good quality and the location quiet and pleasant. However, it wasn't quite the stay that we'd expected from reading other reviews on this site. The double bedroom was small, with the curtains and carpet a bit grubby. There was no blind in the bathroom, nor frosted glass in the windows. The bathroom lacked enough bath towels for two. We stayed in a room not pictured on the website. It might have had an impact that the owners were away that weekend and the person standing in was clearly swamped come breakfast-time, as she did not realise how many people were staying. An expensive night (£90) given everything and I don't think I'd choose Warsborough House again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed in Warsborough for seven months from November 2010 to June 2011. I was attending Oxford Aviation Academy and count myself lucky to have found the house and Elisabeth who provided me with a home away from home.

Warsborough house is a very warm friendly place with lots of old farmhouse charm. It has six rooms plus a seventh room that is in the garden detached from the main house. Most rooms are quite generous. The beds are comfortable and the linens changed daily. There's free wifi throughout. The good sized bathrooms have plenty of hot water and new showers were installed recently over the bathtubs. Three of the larger rooms have nice views towards the entrance to the property and the front lawn witch is large enough that you can hardly see the road from the house.

The bus stop to Oxford is right outside the property and takes 20' to 30' min depending on traffic. The tickets cost 2 pounds and you can buy them from the driver. Alternatively a taxi costs between 15 and 18 pounds.
The Six Bells pub is a three minute walk. Kidlington centre is a 10 min walk through footpaths between various properties.
Another nice walk is to the old village and the church which is also 10 minutes from the house.
There are many places to visit further away provided you have a car or bicycles. Elisabeth makes sure you find out about all the options available and eagerly helps with any plans.

Breakfast is diverse and plentiful. You can have the usual british breakfast including eggs any style with bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms and beans or alternatively have salmon with your eggs. There's always fresh fruit salad available along with Greek yogurt, honey, marmalades, butter, milk, juices , alpen muesli, various kellogg cereals, different types of toast bread, peanut butter and the occasional cakes. Coffee is served in individual coffee plungers. There is a variety of teas.
If you're on a special diet just let Elisabeth know and she'll arrange a breakfast just for you. I'm gluten intolerant and she made sure there was always special cereal and toast available for me.
Breakfast is around a single table for all guests and depending on how full the house is this can be a quite lively event.

In the seven months I stayed at Warsborough I only met polite and tactful guests. You'd think that in such a long period one would come across the odd rude or unfriendly person but it never happened while I was there.
There were a few regulars that would visit from other parts of the country or the USA every month or so as well as some guests associated with Oxford Aviation (like me) or Elsevier. Most people though were tourists wishing to explore Oxfordshire. Elisabeth made them all feel so welcome.

This is where I'll stay whenever I'm in the area again. I'm sure there are other nice places at twice or more times the cost but I doubt they can match the charm and warmth that this house has.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, Holland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

Most wonderful setting, driving up the drive is already such a treat. The host, Elisabeth, is absolutely lovely and very hospitable! She even offered to drop me off at my meeting in the morning. The breakfast is exquisite and the rooms are large and very comfortable. I'd recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warsborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warsborough House

Address: 52 Mill Street, Kidlington OX5 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Hotel Class:4 star — Warsborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Warsborough House Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warsborough House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.