We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Turnpike

The Turnpike
2 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Kidlington OX5 1PJ, England
01865 847666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Kidlington
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great lunch ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Offers a great lunch menu at a good price. A nice garden to sit in with a cold beer. Service is good and quick and the food delivered was of a high quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    66
    40
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Evening........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My golf society decided to have our captain’s day evening meal at the Turn Pike, Yarnton (AKA The Grapes), what a very good decision of our captain that was. We had a delicious three course meal which was hot, plentiful and with great service from the staff. A very big thank you to the pub for making us feel so welcome and for looking after us so well. Yarnton Bandits Golf Society.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Good place to stop after Blenheim Palace...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a lovely friendly pub on the road from Blenheim Palace. It has a big easy access car park, jovial staff and a reasonable selection of beers and wine. Unlike other reviews, our service was excellent and the food came quickly. We had the seared salmon and a home made pie for main course and the portions were so large, dessert was out of the question...and we ate it all. It does not pretend to be anything other than a pub restaurant...but it's a good one so I'd use it again...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfoyle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yarnton Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Good choice of food. Friendly staff. Good choices of beer and wines. In a nice location. Handy to walk or drive to.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb, as always !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A day out with the family, a visit to Blenheim Palace & topped off with yet another lovely meal at the turnpike.

The food is great, the service friendly an unobtrusive. Lamb steak cooked to perfection, and a pint of Englands glory from the hog back brewery.

Back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turnpike also viewed

Bransgore, New Forest National Park
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turnpike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.