We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sturdys Castle

Save Saved
You added Sturdys Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sturdys Castle
Banbury Road | Tackley, Kidlington OX5 3EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pleasant room , well stocked, and clean. We were staying for 3 nights, but on the first night were kept awake by selfish and thoughtless people who walked/ran across the room above us , jumped off the bed , slammed and banged on doors until 4am ,and generally ruined our first night . We were unable to contact anyone from the hotel as there was no phone in the room , and no numbers or person to contact in an emergency . Did consider phoning Police at one stage. The following morning we complained to the manager , who dealt with the whole issue very effectively, and asked the offending couple to leave. We were also offered a free evening meal, which we accepted. The staff were brilliant , helpful and friendly. Food very good, and service excellent .

Room Tip: Corner rooms bigger , and upstairs rooms quieter , no noise from people above walking up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
18
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porirua
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice room and restuarant was lovely too. We had arranged to stay for two nights and at 3.00 the first night/early morning, there was a lot of disturbance in the room next to us. Several patrons including us mentioned this to the management the next morning and I have to say that the management handled the situation admirably and chucked the noisy patrons out promptly even though they were supposed to be staying aonther few days. We also got our next evening meal free of charge. Would happily recommend this hotal to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the car park - because of the noise of the trafric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here as a base for meeting some friends from Bristol and Cambridge. Excellent accommodation and welcome although one of the party's bathroom smelt due to a new floor being out down? Not pleasant. Excellent manager very good customer service and very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and staff good. Dinner a slight different matter, we were asked earlier that day which table we wanted, when arriving for dinner, the table was taken however we were told we had been booked a rage round table for 7 people and was that ok, I said not really there is only three of us, she looked a bit bemused and then offered us another table. Staff lovely but food basic and not over tasty, it was ok. I would stay again but maybe not eat there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (UK)
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Normally I'm loathe to give full marks to a hotel, but Sturdys is exceptional, having being recently completely renovated. I often like to judge a bathroom on the strength of its shower, and this one is superb. I thought the price of accommodation was a bit steep, but once we ate some excellent burgers in the restaurant at 5 pounds each, I was sold. The food is first class, and we looked forward to breakfast each day. The staff were helpful in every way, and assisted us, even when it was outside of their working hours. Free parking and easy bus access to Oxford.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the fields, this should cut down on traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Slightly in the middle of nowhere, but I could not have been happier with the level of service I received. From the minute I arrived, the staff were pleasant, courteous and went out of their way to help. Rooms are basic but adequate, not bad value for money. Dinner was good and prompt. I will return

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We reserved 2 rooms at 7am on the morning of arrival, one for our company director and one for his colleague as they were working nearby.

We received CONFIRMATION BY EMAIL TO CONFIRM THESE ROOMS, but when my director turned up with his colleague, they found that they had no booklings! They are now searching around the area for alternative accommodation or face a 2 hour drive home, and a 4am start tomorrow.

TOTALLY DISINTERESTED STAFF AND MANAGER WHO DIDN'T GIVE A DAMN.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Book another hotel, that way you may have a room when you turn up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worlwide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First impressions, very smart.

Well presented, contemporary, clean and tidy.
Check in was swift and trouble free. The room I was given was No.31 and was far bigger than expected with a big double bed, table and chairs and then a settee further into the room. On suit was nice and I quickly felt at home.
Breakfast was very nice with the choice from a menu as opposed to buffet style and the evening meal in the pub section was just as nice and well priced.

So why not full score?

Well, the free wifi advertised is unusable in the rooms (cannot confirm other areas).
It’s there, then it’s gone, then its back at full strength then drops to one bar then it’s gone. I was informed by the management that there was a high usage on that night but the following night was the same and "high usage" is a poor excuse for dial up style connectivity.
An online speed test showed a download speed of less than one meg and the upload test crashed!!
I see this so many times all over the country, free wifi advertised that turns out to be unusable. It takes the shine of otherwise good places and yet is so easy to rectify.

Second point is the table and chairs in the room. The room is bright, well presented and modern and then there is a second rate, charity shop table and chairs in the middle ? Why ??
Don't get me wrong, I would go back again despite these two points but sort the wifi and put table and chairs sympathetic to the room style in there and this review would have had top marks.

Still very much recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sturdys Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturdys Castle

Address: Banbury Road | Tackley, Kidlington OX5 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sturdys Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturdys Castle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sturdys Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.