We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Save Saved
You added The Bell at Hampton Poyle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11 Oxford Rd, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in an executive room for one night and it was lovely.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was really comfortable and the shower was heavenly.

We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and the food was out of this world. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and it was all so reasonably priced.

My husband and I can't wait to go back!

We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    50
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
154
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for two nights at The Bell and found it to be an excellent small hotel. It is ideally placed for exploring Oxfordshire being conveniently placed for access to the motorway. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a good sized bathroom and a great shower. The food in the restaurant is of a high quality and a well judged menu. The staff were all helpful, friendly and efficient. We are just sorry we couldn't stay for longer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have eaten here many times over the last year and found it to be consistantly good.
A varied and interesting menu is equally good for a simple lunch or a large evening meal. The service is excellent.
The Pizzas are the best around.
The car park is limited and The Bell is off the beaten track but worth the effort to seek out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable short break based at The Bell. Our room was quiet, very comfortable and spacious with a large shower room. The dinners in the restaurant were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The location of the hotel makes it an excellent choice for exploring local attractions, with the nearest park and ride for Oxford only a few minutes drive away. Other locations we visited within easy reach included Stowe Landscape Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Bell for 1 night during a short visit to Oxfordshire and the only disappointing part of the experience was that we couldn’t stay for longer!

Location wise The Bell was perfect for our stay. We arrived late Saturday afternoon at The Bell and after checking into our room we headed straight to Bicester Village, which was only a 10 minute drive away in the car and very easy to get to. I’d recommend staying at this hotel if you are planning on visiting Bicester Village, have a car and need a room for the night, because it is very accessible and perhaps a better experience than staying in one of the hotels in Bicester (when we booked some of the nearby options were more expensive and thought The Bell was worth the extra money compared to the Premier Inn). We also visited Blenheim Palace during our brief visit and again this was a short drive from The Bell. We didn’t get a chance to go into Oxford itself but notice that the hotel was close to the park & ride facility for the bus. The Bell has parking facilities which is great as parking can be a problem if you stay in Oxford, although the hotel restaurant was busy on the Saturday which meant that on our return from Bicester we had to park on the street outside the hotel rather than in adjoining car park.

We stayed in room 7 which was well furnished and had a separate bathroom with walk in monsoon shower area, although there was no separate bath. As anyone living in the UK will know, we’ve had a cold start to the year and it was a pretty cold weekend in Oxfordshire and we were pleased that the room was very cosy, although we had to turn the heating up on arrival. The bed was very comfortable and we didn’t hear any noise from the other 2 rooms beside us which were also occupied.

We ate at The Bell on the Saturday night and would recommend booking a table in advance as they were almost fully booked. Thankfully we were able to get a table later in the evening which suited us very well as it gave us time to relax after our return from Bicester Village. We opted for the wood fired oven pizzas and desserts, both of which were fantastic. We thought the menu was excellent, decent value and I had food envy looking at some of my fellow diners plates. Having had a late meal the night before we weren’t that hungry at breakfast but managed to squeeze in a cooked breakfast; good quality, locally sourced ingredients that were nicely cooked. The continental selection was fairly small but adequate considering the al carte options which were cooked to order.

Overall, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Bell as a great place to stay for a visit to Oxfordshire for those with a car. I thought it was good value for such a convenient base with lovely food and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here one night in March. Lovely room, deep stand alone baths. Excellent evening meal.
Lovely comfortable big bed. Good breakfast. Staff all very helpful. Hotel also have 10% off vouchers for Bicester village. Oxford was well worth a visit, so much to do.

Room Tip: We stayed in 5/6. If you were tall, you would have been in danger of banging your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed this weekend with some girl friends as part of a Bicester Village shopping trip.
This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and it is as good as always. We stayed in room 1 which was a fab room that overlooked the car park. It was an enormous room with a huge, huge bed and a lovely ensuite shower room.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were amazing. the staff are so accommodating and nothing is too much trouble.
We will definitely be going back for visit number 4.
I can't praise them highly enough

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are in the main hotel building and so are very handy to get to after dinner, both are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much ladies. It is always nice and a lot of fun when you are around. We look forward to another party!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Address: 11 Oxford Rd, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell at Hampton Poyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.