We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fun City at Brean Leisure Park

Fun City at Brean Leisure Park
Coast Road, Brean, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2QY, England
01278 751595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Brean
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We came here expecting to stay a few hours at most and ended up staying almost all day. The wristbands may seem a little expensive but when you think about how much you'd have spent at a fairground on rides they work out ok. We paid for 3 wristbands for husband, daughter aged 13 and son aged 7 ( who we'd already measured to ensure he could go on most things) and bought a few extra tokens for myself ( who is a bit of a wimp when it comes to spinning rides). It was fairly busy on the day but there were no queues for rides at all. Staff were all very pleasant and it felt a safe, happy place for children. Can recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    145
    68
    26
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overall Good Value For Money With Great Rides & Small Queues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wasn't expecting to much from my visit to Brean Leisure Park as I usually prefer theme parks to fairgrounds (or amusement parks as they are called in the USA). I was however presently surprised at how good this park overall was and literally shocked at how good some of the rides were.

The park has that fairground feel to it but that isn't necessarily a bad thing, especially at night time when unexplainably, when night draws in and the lights come on, the rides seem so much better.

There is a good selection of rides at the park all of which operate on a token basis with a varying number of (50p) tokens per ride. About 90% of the rides are included with the Mega Wristband which cost £20 and allowed unlimited rides on almost all attractions and there is a junior wristband for around £10 covering most rides under a 1.2m height requirement.

Personally my favorite rides at the park were Shockwave, an amazingly good single loop roller coaster which would not be out of place at a major theme park, Astrostorm, a mini roller coaster in the pitch black and Terror Castle, a scarily good ride which puts other ghost trains to shame. Rather than depicting cartoon ghouls and ghosts, you travel through scenes from adult horror films (not recommend for little kids). I was not brave enough to try X-tream but my daughter loved it and Wipeout looked great but was having maintenance work done.

The park itself is clean and reasonably maintained but toilette facilities could be improved and a wider choice of on site food outlets would be nice. All the staff were pleasant and helpful when needed but I would guess that for half the staff, English was not their first language.

Overall it's a great evening out (5pm-10pm) or maybe more suitable for children would be the morning session of 11am-5pm. Don't expect Alton towers and you should not be too disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun filled holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This wasn't our first stay at unity/brean leisure park. We like to return here as it has everything u could possibly need/want for the whole family.
A great holiday destination

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good fun! Good value and some great rides!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a day trip here and had a super time. The only drawbacks are the £2.50 charge to park and the fact that the wristbands (£20 each) do not let you get on some rides. On the whole though, a great day out!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here with my 11 year old and thoroughly enjoyed the pools and slides, although the main pool had alot of chlorine. However, the main pool is a large 25m, so great for swimming lengths. We both loved the slides.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fun City at Brean Leisure Park also viewed

 
Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
 

Been to Fun City at Brean Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fun City at Brean Leisure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.