We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place we'll never forget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Kahanda Kanda to your Saves list
Kahanda Kanda
Angulugaha, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Special place we'll never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This review is a little late but better than never. We had our wedding here and hired the whole resort for the rest of the family. We can't thank George and the team enough for arranging such an amazing wedding for us and holiday for the rest of our families. From the moment we arrived and saw the beautiful location, any worries we had soon disappeared, especially when we met George who seemed so relaxed about it all.
Kahanda Kanda really is a special place, the rooms are all lovely and the Dubu suite we stayed in was just incredible - all that space just for us (and the resident monkeys, of course!). The food was delicious and went down very well with everyone, especially possibly the biggest prawns we have ever seen!
The wedding day, every single part of it exceeded our expectations. The flowers were perfect, the ceremony was laid out beautifully, the table looked lovely, food was wonderful and the lights around the gardens made the whole place look magical. The Kandyan drummers and the fire eaters added a really nice edge to the day and everyone really enjoyed watching them. Georges attention to detail really showed and if we could do it all again, there is not a single thing we would change.
Everyone has said what an incredible location Kahanda Kanda is and how well they were looked after - it's always hard to please everyone but George and the team certainly managed to do just that!.
We would both like to say a huge thank you to you and your team of lovely staff who made our stay so special and we can't wait to come back soon, maybe for our anniversary…!
Overall an amazing place and staff who created the holiday of our lives we'll never forget. For anyone else thinking about this place - just do it, you will not regret it
Scott & Kirsty

Room Tip: All of them but the Dubu we stayed in is a cut above anything we've stayed in before. Private po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    28
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
223
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My new wife Janey and I stayed at Kahanda Kanda for the last 5 days of our honeymoon in April. We arrived after a long and winding journey from the hill country to be greeted with Garlands and a fresh coconut drink, just what was required. We were then guided to our Mango Suite and everything was explained to us and we were asked if we would like anything to eat, which we readily agreed to a couple of salads. We were enchanted by our suite with a lovely verandah overlooking the tea plantation and jungle. We sat enchanted by the birds in the trees in front of us and our salads arrived. We were asked to choose our evening meal from the menu and we were offered a cookery lesson the following day, which we readily agreed to.
We explored the property and were enchanted by the surroundings and the eclectic furniture etc. That evening we were served Gin and Tonics in the comfortable lounge and then moved to flower petal strewn table for a lovely dinner with attentive service.
This was really the story for the rest of our stay wonderful friendly service and beautiful food. After our curry cookery lesson we ate our first curry that night and then every night afterwards, infact the staff just knew what we wanted and were happy to oblige with different curries every night and we never saw the menu again which amused us as the staff were so happy for us to eat Sri Lankan food. On the second morning with the recommendation of the totally wonderful Henry I tried Hoppers for breakfast and never looked back. I could go on and on but suffice it to say we had the most perfect time at KK we met George a couple of times in the beginning and he was amusing and charming, he was then away for the rest of our stay but the staff led by the managers attended to our every need and were always ready to offer us suggestions as to what to do, though we were mostly happy to enjoy just relaxing and soaking up the beauty of KK. We were on our own for two nights and then with another honeymooning couple whom we made friends with and dined with in the evenings again it was easily arranged for us to eat together and we shared a wonderful multi type curry together on our last night.
I have to mention Henry again he really is a wonderful man and was so friendly and helpful and Rosie the cat who soon found out we woke up at 6am and was on our doorstep when I opened the door.
We had the most wonderful stay in paradise thank you George and everyone at KK it was a dream come true for us.
David and Janey Bridgman

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (end April) at the end of a week tour of Sri Lanka and had a fantastic stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We specifically asked if we could have Sri Lankan curry on our last night and were given a selection of different curries, all delicious! We had an enormous villa beautifully decorated as is the whole hotel. George the owner has exquisite taste and personally welcomes you to his home. Our only little gripe was the two outside showers. Whilst previous reviewers obviously loved them we found that in the hot and humid weather no sooner had we showered then you needed another one as the shower area was stifling hot. Shaving and putting makeup on (not at the same time) was extremely difficult due to the heat! Plus at times there were tiny ants all round the sinks! I have to say they looked stunning but for us an indoor bathroom was preferable! If you intend to go end April/May ask for a villa with an inside bathroom - or not?

Room Tip: As above decide if you would prefer an inside or outside bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed 3 lovely days and nites at KK. The setting is gorgeous..lush Sri Lankan countryside, in a tea plantation surrounded by gorgeous tropical gardens. We visited Galle a few times but found the country atmosphere at KK to be not as hectic as Galle and not as hot with gentle wafting breezes most of the day. Staff were very good in looking after all our needs and the dinner we had there also delicious. Loved the collection of dogs and Rosie the cat wondering throughout the hotel. The only slight negative (which will be fixed this month apparently) was the slightly murky pool which wasn't as inviting as it should have been.

Room Tip: Stayed in Tamarid and enjoyed the views of the country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The very charming and enthusiastic George Cooper, has made a mini paradIse at Kahanda Kanda for us all to share, although briefly, unfortunately. As interesting as the Galle Fort area is, I feel that staying outside it gives you a more wide ranging experience of this little corner of the glorious island that is Sri Lanka. Some maintainence is required to the suites, pool and external walls, but they plan to close for a month from early May to attend to this - reinvesting in infrastructure is expensive, but essential to maintain the edge on competition, which I would think will grow now that stability has returned to the island. All the suites are generous in size, and full of interesting pieces which reflect the eclectic taste of George himself. Water pressure was poor during our stay, but the rains are very late, and I think this was the cause. As with all properties we have stayed in during this trip, the staff proved smiling and wonderfully helpful, the food delicious and the wine list good. Both the bar and dining salas are stunning, with fabulous vistas worth lingering over.
Should you desire a swim in the beautiful ocean waters, ask the staff to organise a trip to Why Beach, a private establishment right on the beach, with safe swimming, and a tiny, but excellent Italian restaurant to keep you supplied with Campari/ Pinot Grigio and fabulous seafood and pastas. We had dinner in town a couple of times and found the Lobster curry at The Fort Printers sensational, likewise the Sri Lankan Curry feast of ten curries and sambals at the beautiful Amangalla.
Last, but certainly not least, I must mention the sweetest (and chattiest!) tortoiseshell kitty, Rosie. She stole my heart, and knew it, so when she says hello, which she will, give her a pat from me please.

Room Tip: Peacock, Tamarind and Mango are closest to the pool/ dining area, but all have great locations and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for my daughter's wedding and it is an absolutely stunning hotel with fabulous surroundings being set on a tea plantation. Monkeys in the trees, mongoose in the garden, fantastic rooms, we had a double outside shower so we could shower under the stars!
Excellent service, lovely food, splendid pool and just everything was just perfect, including the weather.
George couldn't have been more helpful, and the attention to detail for the wedding itself was incredible. Everyone had a superb time and we were indeed sorry to leave.This is a fabulous place, where everything about it is 5 star and I would recommend this to anyone who wants an idyllic location.

Room Tip: They are all marvellous, but the Dubu suite has to be the most fantastic room I have ever seen in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a 9 hour flight and 2 hour drive, most of it spent trying to get out of Colombo, Kahanda Kanda was the perfect hotel for us. We had a beautifully appointed, secluded room.... the Hellaconia Suite. The food here was some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. A request for a cup of tea by the pool one grey afternoon was served with some fabulous, just baked as still warm, lemon cake. The attention to detail was impressive. Your room will be closed up around 5pm and the mosquito plug ins switched on.....
The host was charming and basically organised almost our whole stay in Sri Lanka. Two nights at KK, two at The Galle Fort Hotel and two at Why Beach plus recommending Leopard Safaris.
We were so impressed with Sri Lanka that my husband has just returned there to explore this beautiful country further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Address: Angulugaha, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahanda Kanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.