We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning decor, extremely friendly and helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Save Saved
You added Kahanda Kanda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kahanda Kanda
Angulugaha, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Angulugaha
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stunning decor, extremely friendly and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (end April) at the end of a week tour of Sri Lanka and had a fantastic stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We specifically asked if we could have Sri Lankan curry on our last night and were given a selection of different curries, all delicious! We had an enormous villa beautifully decorated as is the whole hotel. George the owner has exquisite taste and personally welcomes you to his home. Our only little gripe was the two outside showers. Whilst previous reviewers obviously loved them we found that in the hot and humid weather no sooner had we showered then you needed another one as the shower area was stifling hot. Shaving and putting makeup on (not at the same time) was extremely difficult due to the heat! Plus at times there were tiny ants all round the sinks! I have to say they looked stunning but for us an indoor bathroom was preferable! If you intend to go end April/May ask for a villa with an inside bathroom - or not?

Room Tip: As above decide if you would prefer an inside or outside bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    28
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
221
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed 3 lovely days and nites at KK. The setting is gorgeous..lush Sri Lankan countryside, in a tea plantation surrounded by gorgeous tropical gardens. We visited Galle a few times but found the country atmosphere at KK to be not as hectic as Galle and not as hot with gentle wafting breezes most of the day. Staff were very good in looking after all our needs and the dinner we had there also delicious. Loved the collection of dogs and Rosie the cat wondering throughout the hotel. The only slight negative (which will be fixed this month apparently) was the slightly murky pool which wasn't as inviting as it should have been.

Room Tip: Stayed in Tamarid and enjoyed the views of the country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The very charming and enthusiastic George Cooper, has made a mini paradIse at Kahanda Kanda for us all to share, although briefly, unfortunately. As interesting as the Galle Fort area is, I feel that staying outside it gives you a more wide ranging experience of this little corner of the glorious island that is Sri Lanka. Some maintainence is required to the suites, pool and external walls, but they plan to close for a month from early May to attend to this - reinvesting in infrastructure is expensive, but essential to maintain the edge on competition, which I would think will grow now that stability has returned to the island. All the suites are generous in size, and full of interesting pieces which reflect the eclectic taste of George himself. Water pressure was poor during our stay, but the rains are very late, and I think this was the cause. As with all properties we have stayed in during this trip, the staff proved smiling and wonderfully helpful, the food delicious and the wine list good. Both the bar and dining salas are stunning, with fabulous vistas worth lingering over.
Should you desire a swim in the beautiful ocean waters, ask the staff to organise a trip to Why Beach, a private establishment right on the beach, with safe swimming, and a tiny, but excellent Italian restaurant to keep you supplied with Campari/ Pinot Grigio and fabulous seafood and pastas. We had dinner in town a couple of times and found the Lobster curry at The Fort Printers sensational, likewise the Sri Lankan Curry feast of ten curries and sambals at the beautiful Amangalla.
Last, but certainly not least, I must mention the sweetest (and chattiest!) tortoiseshell kitty, Rosie. She stole my heart, and knew it, so when she says hello, which she will, give her a pat from me please.

Room Tip: Peacock, Tamarind and Mango are closest to the pool/ dining area, but all have great locations and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for my daughter's wedding and it is an absolutely stunning hotel with fabulous surroundings being set on a tea plantation. Monkeys in the trees, mongoose in the garden, fantastic rooms, we had a double outside shower so we could shower under the stars!
Excellent service, lovely food, splendid pool and just everything was just perfect, including the weather.
George couldn't have been more helpful, and the attention to detail for the wedding itself was incredible. Everyone had a superb time and we were indeed sorry to leave.This is a fabulous place, where everything about it is 5 star and I would recommend this to anyone who wants an idyllic location.

Room Tip: They are all marvellous, but the Dubu suite has to be the most fantastic room I have ever seen in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a 9 hour flight and 2 hour drive, most of it spent trying to get out of Colombo, Kahanda Kanda was the perfect hotel for us. We had a beautifully appointed, secluded room.... the Hellaconia Suite. The food here was some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. A request for a cup of tea by the pool one grey afternoon was served with some fabulous, just baked as still warm, lemon cake. The attention to detail was impressive. Your room will be closed up around 5pm and the mosquito plug ins switched on.....
The host was charming and basically organised almost our whole stay in Sri Lanka. Two nights at KK, two at The Galle Fort Hotel and two at Why Beach plus recommending Leopard Safaris.
We were so impressed with Sri Lanka that my husband has just returned there to explore this beautiful country further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for four days of our honeymoon and it is everything you hope it might be and then a lot more, the location is staying the villas are amazingly the food is simply divine the service is five stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent our (shortened) honeymoon in KK and loved every single bit of it. The nicely designed suites, the outdoor shower, the breathtaking view from the gym, the freely roaming monkeys, the excellent food (we only dined outside once and regretted it), the amazing landscape, the warm and welcoming service and even the "jungle alarm clock" at 0530 in the morning (I am a light sleeper though).
We stayed in the Tea-suite, which is furthest away (with the exception of the Peacock suite if i am not mistaken) from the dining & reception area.
The whole compound breathes of relaxation and calmness. No children under 12 are allowed which adds to the welcoming silence (unfortunately this is the exact reason why we are not going to be allowed to KK for the next 12 years :-) ).
The KK is absolutely great for winding down, but can also serve as basis for excursions to the White-Tea-plantation or nearby Galle.
George & Crew - thanks for a truely memorable vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Address: Angulugaha, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahanda Kanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.