We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Lion to your Saves list
Red Lion
47 High Street, Stretham, Ely CB6 3LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Stretham B&B and Inns
Burwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Recently stayed at The Red Lion while having an evening out in the local area. Great staff and a lovely room, very clean, modern and comfortable. The menu looked superb too. Will definitely be back for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionstretham, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many Thanks for your review and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Richard, Michele and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
46
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The Red Lion for a month and enjoyed every evening. Thank you Richard and your excellent staff! The meals were delicious, and the portion sizes good.
The rooms were spacious and well kept.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionstretham, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thankyou for your brilliant review of us and The Red Lion team. We look forward to seeing you again when you stay with us in the future.
Kind Regards
Richard, Michele and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here as it was very close for a business meeting and found the room very comfortable. Shower was amazingly powerful. If you choose the steak from the menu it is sourced from beef from the village and absolutely wonderful.

Staff very friendly and a very good freshly cooked breakfast. Will be using this again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: I had the single room which was absolutely fine though miss sleeping in a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for one night and enjoyed a lovely pub dinner, peaceful night and very nice breakfast the next morning. Staff were very friendly and did everything they could to fix the shower that was only running cold water when we first arrived.
Great atmosphere at this place, and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion in October 2012, as it was hard to find any resonable accommodation in Ely. It was just a few min drive from Ely to Stretham. The room (not in the main buidling) was not so impresstive - rather small and the bed was not comfortable. The breakfast was really disappointing - cost us more than 7 pounds for this rubbish (not including the room price)! In the end our stay at the Red Lion cost the same as we would pay at a B&B in Ely. The pub was however very cosy and with a good selection of beer. Perhaps the Red Lion is a pub, not a hotel. Staff was very friendly, but did not bother the quality of breakfast...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here on a Newmarket racing weekend. Only 12 miles from the racing capital of England and a real gem! Our room was excellent value for money, we ate in the pub on Saturday night when the food was very enjoyable. What a change to see a busy local buzzing with atmosphere.
Well done!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose to say here as we were visiting Cambridge but hotel prices there way too expensive.

Friendly staff, checked in and girl asked if we required breakfast the next morning (payable extra) and booked us a table for evening meal in their restaurant. Shown to our room, this was a really large room, TV with freeview, comfy double bed, chest of draws, chair and wardrobe. The cleaner hadn't dusted very well and marks on mirror.

The bathroom had a shower cubicle, shower worked fine. Toilet had no lid and looked very old and could have done with a bit of bleach, standard basin. Bathroom very stark and bedroom plain and unremarkable with a bit of effort the accomodation could be so much more.

We stayed on a Sunday evening and although the pub was pretty busy when we arrived when we went down for dinner there was about 6 people in the bar and about 8 people in the restaurant. Could not fault the food but no atmosphere due to lack of people.

Had a good nights rest and checked out at 10am £45.00 for the room, good value but I would have paid more if the room was a bit more updated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion

Address: 47 High Street, Stretham, Ely CB6 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Stretham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stretham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Stretham
Red Lion Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.