We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Food in lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The White Horse to your Saves list
The White Horse
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Woolstone SN7 7QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swindon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellant Food in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having eaten here a numerous times on a Sunday with an excellant carvery lunch every time , we recently tried for a midweek lunch and yet again fantastic quality and good choice with the usual very good service. This is a jewel in the crown of country pubs, would recommend the Sunday Carvery option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    12
    15
    2
See reviews for
21
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Attentive staff and amazing food, the steaks are the best you'll find .I've traveled all over the world and never had a better steak.

The location is great too, an ideal base for a walking weekend with the Ridgeway and Uffington White horse nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently had Sunday lunch here and it was faultless!!

The service was very good, food amazing (and hot!!), and also very good value.

The only thing that spoilt it was the mis-behaving children. By all means take kids out - we did - but please control them. Screaming kids in restaurants doesn't bode well for a relaxing time!!

Nevertheless we will return as it was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We dined at the White Horse Inn on Saturday 26th January and were warmly welcomed by the landlord. The Inn is stunning old pub and no doubt on a summers day it could be very easy to let a lazy afternoon drift away with a pint or two. The menu was exceptionally good. The food was presented well and the staff were polite and attentive. My only comment and it’s a minor issue the menu said the chips were triple cooked, I would have to dispute this, however with a meal of such good quality its was a blimp that really did not matter a hoot!

Well done the White Horse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As we live locally my wife and I plus our dog visited the White Horse in Woolstone on the evening of Friday 16th November. The place itself has an old world charm as does the village of Woolstone, with the hotel having a very old facade dating back hundreds of years which adds to the ambience. As we entered the roaring log fire added to the expectation of a good evening. It was quite busy with locals and also people staying at the hotel, but we were soon given a menu and a wine list from one of the cheery staff. We chose a bottle of Spanish Cava which was served well chilled and for eating we chose to share a starter namely the grilled goats cheese with sun dried tomatoes and asparagus. It arrived in good time but was not accompanied by any bread or rolls which we then ordered separately. However the latter were forgotten by our server and upon reminder were served just as we had finished the starter. The bread was obviously home made as it came in door steps and was delicious on its own or with butter, which made up for the fact that they were forgotten when first asked for and we were not charged for same which was a plus.
Then for main course we both selected from the specials the baked cod in a cream sauce with potatoes and a pea mash. Again service was prompt and the main course was one of those "stacks"with the pea mash and the sauce around the "stack" in a moat like formation. It was delicious with tender cod cooked just right with no bones or skin. The only comment we would make would be for the "large portion hunter" We feel that they may be disappointed by the amount of food for the price. But as we always say about life is it quantity or quality you are after? Also it is nice to come away from a meal out without that overfull feeling.
One other comment is that this is a dog friendly venue and even though the restaurant was busy this appeared to be no problem with sitting inside particularly as certain sections were off limits because the tables had been reserved.
We would in summary advise that this is well worth a visit for quality of the food.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel we ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wichel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great meal again for a family celebration in lovely surroundings. Portions are huge and very good value for money - the fish & chips does not come with peas which disappointed me but I am a big pea-fan!! Great service, great chefs, looking foward to next visit, no-one goes hungry here!

Room Tip: Great if you are in the middle of a nice walk, lovely surroundings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in this delightful and picturesque inn last weekend. We had had travelled to Woolstone to be near White Horse Hill in order to meet up with my two brothers, so we could scatter our late father’s ashes on the Ridgeway (a favourite walk of his). The enjoyable lunch we all had together afterwards, thanks to the efforts of the excellent and friendly staff, helped make what could have been a sombre occasion into a joyous one.
We decided to stay a couple of nights here, and we are so glad we did; the food and service were excellent, and contributed to a good break for us. There was also a very well-chosen wine list. We both thought the suite of rooms were very comfortable and spacious (TV upstairs and down!), and amazingly good value. We will certainly look forward to revisiting on a future occasion.

Room Tip: Ours was fine. I think it was Room/Suite 5. It could be joined up with the adjacent one (6?) to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: Woolstone SN7 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woolstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Woolstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.