We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Villas Sotomayor

Save Saved
You added Parador Villas Sotomayor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parador Villas Sotomayor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Car. 123 km 36.6 Int 522 Km 0.2, Adjuntas 00601, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Adjuntas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SUPERB!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for twice. We had a great experience. The area is excellent to relax and breath fresh air. This is a family oriented place, but also a great place for couples. Damaris and Luz both frontclerks were helpful. You have to eat at the restaurant and eat "Mofongo" if you are a group ask for the "Mofongo Grande" made with 12 plantains....it is huge!!! You can visit the river whic is walking distance and if you want to see the town, take the tour but request the owner of the hotel to be your guide "Jun" he is a true "jibaro" and humble men. They still have 4 small rooms that are going to be remodeled. Cant wait to go with my wife again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    9
    4
    15
See reviews for
28
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stay at three hotels during my stay and Villas Sotomayor was the cheapest and by far the best of all the hotels visited. The villas are very cleaned, the bed mattresses are almost new, if not brand new. The "parador" is kind of tucked away. Could benefit from additional signage and if you are not familiar with the area don't venture to arrive after dusk. I got lost the first night that arrive and was forced to stay in Ponce. Service is very friendly. And is a great place if you are touring the Ponce area. You could listen to the Coqui (native toad) singing at night. And each villa has a hammock hanging on the porch.You would not get this at big hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife decided to spend a weekend away from the rush of the city and we couldn't made a better selection. If you're looking for luxury, this is not your place. Although if what you want is a beautiful connection with nature, a place to relax a 100%, the perfect spot to recharge your batteries, this is the PERFECT place!! Only one suggestion, a security officer on a golf car doing some surveillance at night. Everything is so quiet and alone at night by the cabins area that might get kinda scary! Besides that, cleanliness, personal service, food (huge amounts) was perfect! Will most likely be back soon! Special Thanks to Damaris, Luz at reception and the ladies at Las Garzas Restaurant that made our kiddo enjoy every minute!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the property, very country. We will definitely come back, but this time with our kids. We notice the place is great for both couples and family with kids. Plenty of activity for the kids all ages. We would like to give a special thanks to Daniel Hernandez. He was very helpful and provided great service. He should be the one managing the place, he is very detail when it comes to servicing guest and resolving guest issues, in which we had quite a few. The workers need a little more training on how to accommodate a guest whom has had issues with there stay. They should remember that with one guest you can either gain 10 more or loose 10.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room #1 the horses bang on the doors all night and you can smell there urine. Also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms were small but cozy and clean. Excellent service and the right place to stay and get away from metro life. This is a Parador, not a resort; you must be in that mode to relax and enjoy the grounds.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful place with a group. The staff is very friendly and courteous. The atmosphere at the restaurant ia laid back.Service might be slow if the restaurant gets crowded. Portions are very generous. The menu includes puertorrican dishes; no gourmet cooking. Don't expect a "five star resort"; it's more a cabin in the woods atmosphere and the cabins are quite rustic though very clean. The room I got (#2) had a small fridge, a microwave oven and a coffee maker. If you're looking for a resort, go somewhere else. I look forward to come back, and keep exploring all the nature around Adjuntas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After traveling for a while around the island, all i wanted was a good nights rest. So i went to go to sleep about 9:15pm.There was too much light coming out from the air conditioner which lighted up the whole RM.I had no tape or somthing to cover that bottom part. About 9:50 these dogs started barking and barking all night. Icame out 4 times during the night to see if i could quiet them for awhile. They did. just for 10 or 15 minutes and then start again. Finally i heard rosters in the back ground so i new dar n was apporching.I would get some sleep til 10or 11 and then play some tennis and leave.At exactcly 8:25am Istarted hearing poundering and drillig in the villa behind us.We had to pack up and leave. By the way, the tennis court, half of the fence was down right behind where you serve.This is a safty hazard.There was no sign saying excuse the convienience or somthing. The day we checked in was a mess. The owners family had just come from a funeral. There was no parking space. There was eating ,smoking and drinking and crowed we just felt out of place.I cant amagine this place in summer. We checked out a day ahead. Sorry but if you want peace and quiet. This is not the place.

Room Tip: It would of made no difference. Noise was everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dulcepapi, Manager at Parador Villas Sotomayor, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings Eugene,

We are truthfully sorry that your experience with us was so riddled with issues. First of all, regarding your issue with your air conditioning unit, you actually had the option to turn off this light using your remote for it. We do recognize our issues with dogs around the area however. Just like we explained in our response to your e-mail to us, due to the nature of our installations, an open area in a valley between mountains, we do tend to attract owners seeking to irresponsibly release their unwanted pets. As a business that is constantly striving to better itself we do apologize once more and assure you we are working on responsibly dealing with this issue since, even though we are a pet friendly location, we rarely have issues with the pets brought in by our guests, but with the ones released by others. There is no excuse however for your issues with the drilling and pounding in the back of your room, or with the tennis court fence issues. Even though we were preparing for a big activity on the weekend, our grounds employees have been given specific instructions regarding appropriate times for noise generating work, and for putting back up the fence on the tennis court as soon as possible. Last, we would like to explain the situation you found the day of your check-in. The Ramos family is a very close one and, just the previous weekend, lost a very loved member of their family whose health had been compromised for a long time. The people you saw that day were the members of the family which had gotten together after this funeral. The time you spent in our establishment was definitely a highly irregular one that resulted in an undoubtedly less that ideal experience to say the least.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adjuntas hotels

Been to Parador Villas Sotomayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Villas Sotomayor

Also Known As:
Parador Villas Sotomayor Hotel Adjuntas
Parador Villas Sotomayor Hotel
Parador Hotel Adjuntas
Villa Sotomayor
Parador Hotel Sotomayor
Address: Car. 123 km 36.6 Int 522 Km 0.2, Adjuntas 00601, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Adjuntas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Adjuntas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Villas Sotomayor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parador Villas Sotomayor, the first and the only eco-tourist complex in the mountains of Puerto Rico. Here you can reduce the stress, make your life last longer, and strength your family ties. Our green areas, trees, flowers and open space, makes this a very special place to enjoy and relax with your family and friends. We do our best to make you feel comfortable, just like in home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Parador Villas Sotomayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Villas Sotomayor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.