We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dbb deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Breaks
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dbb deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights dbb..staff were great..special mention of jimmy the waiter but everyone was friendly and worked really hard to keep the customer satisfied. ..room was large and spotlessly clean. Great menu and you could pay small upgrade for things on all a carte menu. Especially good fish dishes. Bar prices very reasonable. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear martha57_12

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    163
    38
    6
    13
See reviews for
83
272
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food was excellent throughout our stay. Our room (suite 22) which was on two floors served us very well as it had its own entrance which saved us using the main hotel corridors. All the staff were very obliging. One minor issue - it would be nice to have wi-fi reception in the bedrooms rather than having to go to the coffee lounge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Colin S

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the Hotel's cottages, the Hayloft, with our dog. The accommodation was very good - immaculately clean, comfortable and fully-equipped and the lovely garden an added bonus. We had two breakfasts and two evening meals in the restaurant, all of which were of a high standard. The service was friendly and efficient. One suggestion: that the gate leading from the garden to the fairly busy main road be equipped with a more secure form of closure. Someone left if off the catch and our dog escaped onto the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Maryshoe

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Ordered one evening meal for six people. A poor prawn cocktail masqueraded as a smoked salmon, crab and prawn dish which had to be replaced. The lamb main course from the specials menu was tender and delicious. The lamb from the main menu was inedibly tough and could not be cut by a strong man. We sent a mixed blessing to the chef and got no response

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Peter C

We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.

Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We visit this area regularly, staying at the same hotel. However we had left it late to book and as there was no availability at our usual place, we decided to try the Dunstanburgh Castle. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the main hotel and due to limited availability had to change rooms during our 3 night stay (we were informed that this would be the case on booking). Although not super-modern, both rooms were good sizes, immaculately clean with very nice modern bathrooms. The staff went out their way to be friendly, helpful and welcoming. We ate in the less formal restaurant all three nights as the menu choices were varied and food absolutely delicious. Service was excellent even though it was very busy on this weekend. The issue of lack of signal and wifi in the rooms did not bother us. It was great to be able to switch off for a while! The location of the hotel is great- quiet and just a short walk to beautiful Embleton Bay beach. We will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard double which had a view of internal rooftops. Choose village view room for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Spotty07779


We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We usually stay in the main hotel but this time we stayed in Police House 1 which was ideal for a family break. It was well equipped including a washing machine, freezer, fridge and cookerand pleasantly decorated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Gloria B


We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed in the 2 bed cottage with my friends the night before my wedding & was not disappointed. The cottage was decorated to a high standard & offered everything you would want for self catering, including a tumble dryer & dish washer. I would definitely stay here again. The only 'issue' was the lack of signal & no wifi. We were told you could access it in some rooms but during our stay not one of us managed this. It did turn out to be a blessing in disguise though as no one could contact us :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Bell-Clark

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.