We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but stay unfortunately spoilt !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Breaks
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel but stay unfortunately spoilt !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent a week D,B&B in one of the cottage suites. Accommodation very comfortable, food excellent, waitress service a credit to the hotel. However some of the holiday was spoilt by 3 days of loutish behaviour by a party of about 20 rowdy men. Shouting, swearing, jeering, booing and loud animal noises are not acceptable in a hotel dining room. Rather than dealing with the problem in the correct manner management response was to move us, and others who complained, out of the formal dining room into the Grill Room. Even here they could still be heard to some extent. We only saw the manager when paying the bill on leaving. As suspected he said that the group were regulars and usually noisy. It is a pity but we would not stay here again and risk suffering this or a similar behaved group again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    163
    38
    6
    13
See reviews for
83
272
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Embleton in a self catering cottage, but as it was our aniversary we wanted a nice meal, a special meal, something to match the occasion. We were not disapointed by having dinner here, it was fantastic and one of the best meals we have had in a long time. On the day we had dinner the hotel was very busy, with large parties of golfers and walkers, and the hotel was fully occupied. Did that effect the service, not at all. Attentive courteous and very friendly, with a few words of care for that personel touch. The meal itself was just great. We both had lamb but different cuts and it was cooked to perfection. Yvonne was asked if she would her rack of lamb pink, and she asked if it could be a cooked alittle more, and it was. The lamb was local and it was wonderfully tender and tasty. The puds were to die for, and we did them credit

So there it is, great location, comfortable and with friendly and attentive staff, and perfect country food. A credit to everyone who works there. Just great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were looking for a well positioned pub hotel with good food and atmosphere and where we could guarantee a good sized room. The superior village rooms fit the bill nicely. Good food though choice / variety lessens the longer you stay. Good standards all round and friendly staff. The only slight disappointment was that the place was dead by mid evening. Maybe it was a quiet week but unusual for everyone to be in bed and the bar shut before 10pm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here last Friday after attending a wedding at the wonderful Newton Hall, about a mile and a half away. Very pleased with our stay at this hotel, Decent size rooms with a large double bed, flat screen tv, tea/coffee, bathroom with good overhead shower. We had a lovely breakfast next morning with checkout not until 11am. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There are two lovely lounges on the ground floor and a restaurant. Would recomment here, lots of beautiful places in the surrounding area to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Five of us went for a meal in the hotel restaurant. The bar and restaurant were small but pleasantly intimate. The service was attentive and friendly, the food was excellent with a good selection of seafood. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Embleton is a marvellous location with a wonderful beach with views of Dunstanburgh castle.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just had two nights staying in one of the one bedroom cottages on a self catering 'pre-season' deal. The cottage was brilliant with the double bed on a mezzanine level. It was fitted out to a very high standard. warm and very comfortable.
We ate each evening in the hotel restaurant and the food was outstanding, beautifully presented and great value. The menu had lots of vegetarian options to suit my wife and service was very good. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
We are already planning a return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Embleton Bay never fails to please. Until people see it, they don't believe how great the Northumberland coast is!
Just had a weekend at the Dunstanburgh Castle hotel - excellent.
The room (village view) was spacious and equiped to the standard you'd expect, however at £121 a night B&B, possibly, slightly overpriced - BUT THE REST IS ALL GOOD! -
Great food - Diner on both nights excellent - high end restaurant quality, well presented, without being pretentious 'pretty pictures on a plate'.
Great service by both the bar and restaurant staff - efficient, very friendly, without being over fussy.
Used to go to the 'Sportsman' in the same village ( now no longer open) but will definitely return to both the hotel and Embleton.

Steve

Room Tip: Although our friends stayed in it - Room 1 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.