We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grovefield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grovefield House to your Saves list
Grovefield House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taplow Common Road, Burnham SL1 8LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have just spent a week-end here for a family wedding. The hotel is nice enough, good bedrooms, bathrooms and fabulous food. However what really sets the place apart is the fabulous staff!
Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. Thoughtful touches included a jug of milk in my room as I am a prolific tea drinker. Special mention must also be made of Mark, the Duty Manager who worked tirelessly to make sure that the wedding was the success that it undeniably was. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    92
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
76
154
7
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An excellent place to stay in a country setting , with lovely parkland and nearby golf courses.
Wether you wish to stay for the golf or easy access to London or Windsor, via the nearby Burnham station.This is the place for you.
The rooms are very comfortable,and the choice of food excelent.On arrival you are made to feel very welcome by all the staff. A good value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Midweek stay in a ground floor room. Good location for M4 M25 corridor. Modern internals clean and tidy and good facilities. No pool or fitness suite but we were relaxing so not important to us.
Our room had a large area of glass and door to the garden area well covered with good quality curtains to keep the cold at bay. The bar and restaurant gets a special mention for excellent attentive service. Overall a welcoming and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Good clean tidy hotel with a nice restaurant. Good secure on site parking, friendly staff. Easy reach of Heathrow. Good value and nice, well equipped bedrooms. No draft beers! Not quite the huge landscaped gardens that we expected but still a good size garden rather than acres of land.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Grovefield House Hotel for a weekend break, they are offering Bed, Breakfast, evening meal plus a bottle of Prosecco at a special rate. We were there because it was my grandson's 21st birthday celebration which was in the very close by Cricket Club. Not our first visit to this hotel, which is very comfortable, we were upgraded because of a wedding on Sat, so our room was in a quieter area.
The staff are so really pleasant, and helpful, Tom, the waiter in particular was great. Only criticism is that when there is a large party of people for breakfast, the buffet does tend to get cold, no hot plates. Shame because the evening meals were delightful.
All in all, would recommend the Grovefield for comfort and warmth both from the hotel and its staff, on a very cold and snowy weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed taking advantage of a special promotion... Dinner, bed and breakfast with a bottle of prosseco for £109. All aspect of the stay were great. Room was large, comfortable and clean. Dinner was excellent with friendly and attentive waiting staff. Breakfast was buffet style but included full English ingredients. Highly recommend. (Only negative was heat in the room... Didn't find the fan in the wardrobe until the next morning!)

Room Tip: We were in a ground floor room that had large windows and a door onto the garden; shame about the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked three rooms as my family and I were attending a funeral nearby. The rooms were very pleasant as were the delightful surroundings, peaceful and relaxing.

We were served breakfast by a charming gentleman, a real professional. What a contrast to the bland impersonal serve yourself experience of so many hotels. I had a delicious Eggs Benedict, a good way to begin a difficult day.

What made this hotel special was the man who seemed to be in charge. When we asked to change one of our rooms from a double to a twin, it was no problem, he kindly went off and sorted it out. He welcomed us back in the evening with what felt like genuine warmth.

Only one complaint: the shower. It felt out of its stalk when I tried to adjust it, and the control for cold water was so stiff I couldn't turn it. It was a very hot shower! Other than this, I can highly recommend this hotel, it could be a perfect base for a visit to Cookham, Cliveden and Burnham Beeches.

Room Tip: The dot in fitness centre is a mistake, there isn't a gym at this hotel but I opulent remove the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grovefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grovefield House

Address: Taplow Common Road, Burnham SL1 8LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Burnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grovefield House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Grovefield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grovefield House Hotel Burnham
Grovefield Hotel Burnham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grovefield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.