We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but a few shortfalls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab & Boar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Crab & Boar to your Saves list
The Crab & Boar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LONDON
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good, but a few shortfalls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

On the whole, another lovely meal. Sea bass with prawns main course particularly good (could have done with more saute potatoes); my wife requested a salad instead of the fondant potato with her tuna main course, yet what she actually got was a small garnish on the side of the plate.

Desserts were exceptional. We ordered an assiette of desserts, which was essentially a tasting plate of about 5 or 6 desserts, each and every one of them, exquisite. We also ordered the popular 'gold bar' with peanut butter ice cream, again, delicious.

Wine: the bottles of sancerre and then a NZ malbec, was as good as I have ever had.

The letdown for me were the oysters, which I always have as a starter and was looking forward to. They were the smallest and most disappointing I can remember eating, and they seemed to be lacking in flavour. Two of the 6 were the size of a 50p piece, I'm surprised they even made it to the pass, let alone be served. And rather than the usual platter with the oysters served on ice, they were on a plate with 2 shot glasses, one of which was a disappointing shallot vinegar, the other one I have no idea what it was, I couldn't tell by tasting it. Very disappointing, but not something I would have complained about when we were being treated by friends.

Still a lovely evening; great company, great food overall, lovely restaurant, great service, attentive staff etc. In spite of my disappointment with the oysters, it remains my (joint) restaurant of choice in the area, along with 'the halfway', at Kintbury.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello MARKDL995,

Thank you for your comments in your review.

We are very pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your meal with us. However, it is disappointing to hear about the salad for your wife's main course and your oysters. It is never easy when we have fresh deliveries to know what we should expect and what we will be working with until it arrives. In relation to the oysters, my only observation would be that it was a very unusual batch that was smaller than normal, but this is a rare occurrence. Having said that, it seems that this has not changed your opinion of us, and for this we are very grateful!

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends to dine again and hopefully the oysters will impress as much as they used to!

Kind regards,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    120
    64
    38
    36
See reviews for
43
296
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Shame about the Crab, I think afew years ago it would have been excellent. Rooms were good but looking a little tired. Breakfast was good. Meal was disappointing. Tuna main was dry and tasteless. Strangest thing was that the staff kept getting the bottles we ordered wrong, the worst being the Prosecco I stopped the waiter from opening when we had ordered champagne. To get here takes a bit of effort, but its a shame that the experience isn't really worth repeating. Location is good, rooms could be nice once again but the chef needs to make more of an effort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Peruvian_Lovebeast,

Thank you for your review.

We did have a long winter here at The Crab and although we re-decorate our rooms on an ongoing basis, some people do stay just before we re-decorate and possibly see the wear. Our apologies for the mix up at dinner with the Champagne and Prosecco, I believe there had been miscommunication on the bar which resulted in this, but thank you for noticing and allowing us to make the change for you.

We do hope we can welcome you back again to possibly change your mind about us, but if not, we still value the comments that you have left.

Kind regards,

Natasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the newly refurbished Wikiki Beach room and it was so lovely and comfortable, plenty of room and tastefully decorated, the theme carried on into the bathroom with a shower more than big enough for two! We ate in the restaurant and as this was our second visit we decided to try something different and for our main shared a more than ample Fruits de Mer. The quality and taste of the food, presentation and attention to detail throughout the meal exceeded all our expectations. The staff are attentive and knowledgeable, the restaurant has a calm and relaxing atmosphere, ideal to unwind with your partner. Breakfast didn't disappoint either, a great choice of menu, ample portion and freshly cooked to order which makes a pleasant change from the usual 'help yourself, cooked and hour ago' buffets! We look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: The are all individual and worth visiting more than once to try them out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello tdk_73,

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us!

The Fruits de Mer is very popular and it is great to hear such raving reviews surrounding it. We do get very busy from time to time in the restaurant but we always try to maintain the calm and relaxing atmosphere that you have mentioned.

We hope we can welcome you back again to stay in one of the other rooms!

Kind regards,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went for a meal and overnight R & R. Food was superb and staff were attentive in every detail. Selection of wines was just right for me. This place specialises in fish and my fish was absolutely perfect. The breakfast the following morning was also cooked to perfection.
This is my third trip here and totally recommend this venue. Well worth the journey for a nice mid-week stay, or weekend for that matter.
Package price was £140 for dinner, bed & Breakfast for 2 people. If you chose the a la carte menu they allow £25 each towards the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello nmpm,

Thank you for your great comments!

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back for a 4th time and many more to come!

Kind regards,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in the Banyan tree room. The photograph was very misleading! The four poster is in the middle of the room, so the room looks a bit small in the photos on the website, its not huge, but it is bigger!

The spa bath was lovely, although not so easy to lie down in, but definitely the relaxation I needed. Word of warning! The plug has to be taken out before you get out, a mistake that I made!


The restaurant:
The food was absolutely amazing. The restaurant was quite quiet (we were the only people in there) but it was still a wonderful atmosphere. The waiters were lovely and the food was stunning!

Definitely recommend this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Sophie W,

Thank you for your review!

You are right, our spa suite is not an easy room to photograph, so it is difficult to do it justice! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes, the plug does need to be taken out of the bath before you get out, otherwise you find yourself having a bath all over again!

Thank you for the recommendations, and we hope we can see you back here soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
563 helpful votes 563 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We popped in here on our way to London (and then on to our holiday in South America) on the off-chance and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent - I had the white fish soup, followed by crab & lobster gratin whilst my wife opted for smoked salmon. All were well presented and overall service was very good too.
My guess is that we will return .....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello GrumpsDC,

Thank you for your review!

We hope you had a lovely time in South America!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Where do I start! We were super impressed with this cosy cottage feel hotel. Shown to our room - Bora Bora - and it didn't disappoint. Beautiful bathroom and bedroom space and a huge 4 person hot tub in a garden trimmed with bamboo. - The hotel does sell these as "very private hot tub gardens" but please do take a cosy as these are overlooked and there are gaps in the fencing, the hotels other hot tub gardens are located next door to each other. This didn't take it away from how special this hotel is.
Room service was free so do take advantage of this by ordering one of their beautiful champagne cocktails to the side of your hot tub.
We dined at 7.30pm and was very surprised at how busy the restaurant was compared to how quiet the place seemed, so make sure you book your table.
ONE OF THE BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANTS EVER! The service was second to none with the staff being very attentive un yet not overbearing. The whole place has a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere, not at all stuffy, like some of the other reputable seafood restaurants we have visited.
We had oysters and they were the best we have ever had, the starter of pork belly literally fell apart and the hot seafood platter was immense! I would say there was only one disappointment, the fact you couldn't order their amazing crab claws as a separate dish - they were phenomenal.
We had the gold bar for desert and this, as all of the food that was being bought out, was an absolute vision. It tasted as good as it looked! The bill was very reasonable and not at all overpriced for the quality and quantity that was served to us. You are able to bill everything to your room and pay on check out so nice not to have to worry about cash while you enjoy your surroundings.
Ask for a champagne bucket with ice in your room for arrival and bring your own bottle as there is not a massive selection. Because the hotel is very remote, the sky is very dark and full of stars, again adding to the romantic feel of this beautiful place.
We took advantage of the room service for breakfast and this is all included in the price. We were told we could order exactly what we wanted, so we ordered everything :D It was amazing and we even took our coffee into the garden. Make sure you munch the biscuits in the room, they are seriously yummy!
On check out, (they give you late on request till 12) yes we were crying a little, we asked about the other rooms for next time. The lady then took us on a tour of all of the other hotel rooms as they had all been checked out at 11. They are all as beautiful as each other but when I go back I will be asking for Bird Island, Bora Bora or Cipriani. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant for atmosphere, quality and service.

Room Tip: As per review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at The Crab & Boar, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Bertntash,

Thank you for such a special review!

This is one of our most descriptive and gushing reviews for The Crab and it really does help in painting the unique picture that we try and paint ourselves.

We are very pleased that you were able to have a fantastic celebration and could relax in Bora Bora. We do try and stress that the gardens are semi-private for the hot tub rooms, and this is explained on our website, but on third party sites across the internet it is difficult for us to control all that is written. Definitely a good idea to bring the swimsuits!

Following on from looking at all the other rooms, hopefully one of them will have been enough to tempt you back, and we look forward to welcoming you here again!

Also, some great photos, thank you!

Kind regards,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crab and Boar is an award-winning country inn specialising in fresh seafood and game with an enviable reputation both locally and nationally. Our 14 bedrooms have been designed with your comfort in mind and include luxurious bed linen, flat screen TVs, Tea & Coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature an outdoor hot tub. The Crab and Boar is the place where you can relax in a warm and eclectic atmosphere, and where we bring you the best seafood and game to your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
The Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab & Boar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.