We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nzulezo Village-on-Stilts

Nzulezo Village-on-Stilts
Visitor Center, 1 Beyin Road, Beyin, Ghana
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Beyin
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Cultural
Attraction details
Sergy, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Loved the boat trip out to Nzulezo - silently gliding through marshes, peaceful, birds to watch out for, wild scenery close by as you get further onto the lake. The village itself is fascinating though inevitably a little distressing as you realise that in essence as tourists we seemed to be gawking a little at the residents' life style... I am not sure they benefit much from tourists' visits, and they clearly have quite a tough, isolated life. But still well worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    11
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is certainly something to be visited if you are in the area but once you arrive it does feel slightly soul-less and not somewhere that takes up much time. The journey in the canoe is lovely and although we were baling out water on the way back we felt very safe and comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What an adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was a bit heistant at first as the information centre isn't exactly informative. However, once you get in your authentic canoe being "pushed" along by your guide, the attraction comes to life. 20 mins of paddling takes you through some amazingly peaceful canals that eventually lead to a breathtaking view of the lake, with the village in the distance. A further 20 mins of paddling and you arrive at Nzulezu village. This place is unbelievable. 500 people live in these tiny houses on stilts and they go about their daily activities whilst you wander through waving and smiling at them. Very hospitable people with a great story of how they got there. A must see for anyone in Ghana.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Even if you don't find the village interesting, the canoe ride through the lake and Cafe Puerto make the visit worthwhile. The village is interesting to see, but the people are less than friendly so there is a little feeling of being an unwanted guest.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I think the stilt village has been my favourite tourist attraction in Ghana, mainly for the canoe ride there and back. The wetlands are beautiful and the canoe trip was peaceful.

Once at the village we felt a bit pestered for money, we gave 10 cedis each to the village chief to hear about the history and then a donation to the school and then on our return a tip to our guide. But we had been told about each of these before we booked so it was no surprise and the guide had done such a good job (even paddling back in a thunderstorm) we didn't mind paying it.

Well worth the long trip to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nzulezo Village-on-Stilts also viewed

Cape Coast, Central Region
Kintampo, Brong-Ahafo Region
 
Larabanga, Northern Region
Paga, Upper East Region
 

Been to Nzulezo Village-on-Stilts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nzulezo Village-on-Stilts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.