We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing...!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Steadings at the Grouse & Trout

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Steadings at the Grouse & Trout to your Saves list
Steadings at the Grouse & Trout
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Flichity IV2 6XD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Flichity B&B and Inns
Highlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing...!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic setting and host friendly when they appeared...however service and menu outdated (elevator music/paper doilies/crescent veg/banana spilt) and does not justify the price of £23.95 for one course with additional supplements for steaks and cheese! Shocking! Quality of food very disappointing...!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After arriving here at the end of a long drive we were warmly welcomed by David and Mary with tea and coffee in the lounge and settled in for three nights in very comfortable surroundings, with excellent service and delicious food - including some tasty vegetarian options. Our room had a lovely view over low mountains and was spacious and comfortable with cute teddy bears on the single beds. The Scottish ambiance was evident throughout and we experienced first class service and food in the intimate restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. It was a short yet picturesque drive to Inverness, Culloden and we particularly enjoyed a short visit to Fort George - a working army base built in the 17th Century and the mystical 3-4,000 year old cemetery at Balnuaran of Clava. So if you enjoy excellent food, great service, beautiful scenery and historical sites, this could be the place for you! We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights after seeing it in Johannsens and reading Trip Advisor. A bit off the beaten track but that is what we wanted- peace and quiet in a lovely setting with hills and fields all around it.Easy to get to Inverness and to the South side (the better side) of Loch Ness.We were welcomed on arrival by David.The hospitality here is excellent. The bedroom was a bit on the small side but perfectly adequate and the bathroom was nice. Everywhere very clean. The stair and corridor carpet could do with replacing and not as good as the public room areas. The bar and lounge areas were very comfortable and the lounge has views over the lawns to the countryside beyond.The dining room was cosy but even with lights on - a bit dark- maybe a lighter,more contemporary colour scheme on the walls is needed while still keeping the traditional funishing- it would really help.Breakfasts were fantastic-ample and well cooked but with a lighter choice if preferred.Dinner is worth having if a little expensive compared to other places where we have stayed and eaten. The food is good without being great- we tried the duck on the first night because of reviews but the plum sauce is overwhelming and made it taste like 'boil in the bag' food.We had steak on the second night and this was excellent.Good choice of wines from the expensive to some very acceptable house wines. Good selection of drinks in the bar including fine malt whiskies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Steadings is a Scottish bed and breakfast treasure! If you are traveling to the highlands and the Loch Ness region I highly recommend adding this charming stop over. The atmosphere is completely relaxing and beautiful, blending plush comfort with natures beauty. Every touch in the inn is personal, comfortable, and thoughtful, offering the traveler a total highland respite. The inn is owned by proprietors who take great pride in the ambiance created by blending nature, history, and charm. Truly it is not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Have dined here on a number of occasions over the years and always thoroughly enjoyed it. This time it was unbelievably good. I had a half duck in plum sauce and it was superb. Melted in the mouth. Followed by the most wonderful chocolate and mint ice cream dessert. David and Mary are excellent hosts and worthy successors to the McGillivrays

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our second trip to loch ness and we were ever going to stay anywhere else On our first trip we slept well in the converted cowshed and were treated to some great food prepared by husband and wife team Mary and David good local knowledge sent us off at the right times always in a different direction to see the beautiful scenery This time was no different the food was better than I remember and the room in the main house boasted a whirlpool tub in the ensuite After the main coarse we took our cheese and port into the conservatory to watch the last of the autumn light disappear My only regret was we were there for only two nights ,but we will return

Room Tip: ask if the whirlpool ensuite is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Steadings with our motorhome, and had dinner in the restaurant. The portions were epic, the presentation immaculate, the quality superb, and the welcome from David and Mary was second to none. We would recommend this wonderful place unreservedly... the only problem is too many of you might go there!! June and Andrew

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steadings at the Grouse & Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steadings at the Grouse & Trout

Address: Flichity IV2 6XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Flichity
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flichity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steadings at the Grouse & Trout 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steadings at the Grouse & Trout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steadings at the Grouse & Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.