We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stop at North Kessock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Kessock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Kessock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Kessock Hotel
Save Saved
You added North Kessock Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street | The Black Isle, North Kessock IV1 3XN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kessock
North Kessock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected stop at North Kessock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We are travelling in our motorhome with my mother. Stopped at North Kessock at the car park to watch the dolphins and booked mother into North Kessock Hotel opposite. The owners, Cilla & Dennis couldn't have been more helpful. Due to my motorhome being hit by a land rover and losing a wing mirror we were unsure as to the length of stay required(whilst we enquired at the Fiat garage). Staff were very helpful also and the food was excellent. Mother's room was spotless and very comfortable. Excellent TV on the wall to watch the Olympics!
Can recommend this hotel but sadly - be aware all rooms are upstairs and there isn't a lift.

Room Tip: Room 2. Corner room with double sea view. Can see the dolphins coming with the tide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
22
22
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Do not go near this dump. The only thing going for it is the view from the carpark across the road. The waitress was trying her best but wasting her time. Warm flat coke. Warm lager. Frozen stale bread. Dry tasteless fish. A menu from 1970. Poor poor show. Broken chairs. Odd smell. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Husband suggested a treat on way home from Inverness, we called in to the Kessock Hotel. Nice welcome - table was set for four with an abundance of glasses we did not need and no one removed. Service was prompt and polite. Food arrived and looked amazing very well presented but unfortunately it lacked flavour or taste. King prawns cooked in batter (Scampi) nice idea but prawns were dry and tasteless and not enhanced by tartare sauce - homemade chips looked great - how can a chip be tasteless. Not cheap. Will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Where do I start - difficult to negociate in with a wheelchair - staff at best indifferent.decor needed updating 3 decades ago. We were booked for evening meal ordered an orange and lemonade and got orange squash and a can of cheap barrs lemonade which was sent back in preference for water. The starter was some sort of basil blancemonge - the likes of which I hope will never be seen again - uneatable but no real complaining yet - it was when the fish was served which tasted on its way out and spelt bad too - this resulted in Chef coming out from the kitchen for an arguement. My pork chop which sounded lovely on the menu was a dried up piece of old leather Please do not be fooled by the gorgeous sea side setting - this was a truly dreadful experience which was meant to be a treat for the visiting in-laws.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at North Kessock Hotel passing through to Scrabster but if we go back to Inverness area we would certainly stay her longer. A family run hotel with well appointed rooms and the south facing ones have splendid views over the Firth with a chance to see seals and dolphins. A good restaurant worthy of the 3 stars so there is no need to search for food. A very quiet location and a very warm welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing or water front room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived Pam welcomed us and showed us to our room. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable.
Pam told us a lovelywalk to go on.
Our meal however was fantastic. The staff could not do enough for you and the quality of food is just something else. Our whole table had squid which was the best I have ever had and then our main were just as delicious. Darren made us feel very welcome and I would recommend anyone that was heading to Inverness to travel over the bridge and stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We met up with friends here on our way back from holiday it was a mutually convenient location but none of us had dined here before so it was pot luck ......... what a gem! food was delicious ...straightforward menu, nothing too fancy but well presented, generous portions of very well cooked food, staff were friendly and welcoming and the fact that the restaurant was busy speaks for itself

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Kessock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Kessock Hotel

Address: Main Street | The Black Isle, North Kessock IV1 3XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > North Kessock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kessock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
North Kessock Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Kessock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.