We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Joe's Kaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Joe's Kaia to your Saves list
Old Joe's Kaia
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
NL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Feels like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for only one night and Marian and Paul were able to steal our harts in such a short timeframe.
When we arrived it was raining Cats and dogs and the electricity had a hard time keeping up with the demand.
The open fireplace was burning and the comfortable seats made us feel like home.
There is no exact diningroom area or sittingroom area and we found the interior relaxing and like a spacious livingroom. We sat there with a delicious glass of wine enjoying the atmosphere.
The food was lovely and when it stopped raining we could explore the beautifull gardens. The bedroom was comfortable and after a good night rest we were surprised with a wonderfull presented breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and already recommended it to our friends

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    46
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
121
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A number of friends visited Old Joe's Kaia for a Sunday lunch en route to one of the Game Parks in the Lowveld. The lunch was divine, the cuisine was superb, the hospitality exceptional and the environment was very special. This was a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Chris

Thank you for your review of the lunch we prepared for your party.

We are thrilled you loved it and hope you stay longer next time, perhaps for an overnight and our 4 Course Dinner experience.

Warmest wishes from the Lowveld and the Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Our family group of 15 members enjoyed a fantastic lunch at Old Joe's Kaia! The food was excellent, the hospitality exceptional, the ambiance and milieu exquisite with special arrangements for a 78th birthday luncheon. Attention to detail formed the main ingredients for a very special and unforgettable family gathering! Thank you Marian and Paul; we will revisit your little peace of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Lizet

Thank you for the wonderful review. We love it that you all had such a great time - and hope to share in more momentous family occasions with you.

See you soon we hope!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I went for the third time, welcoming still very friendly , love the cat's, dinner very nice with fresh vegies , breakfast too absolutely excellent with home made muffins.
Unfortunately little disappointed with room, need refreshment.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Brigitte

Thank you so much for your review. We always love hearing the great stuff and about the things we do well! And also value hearing about the areas that need improvement. So thank you for your honesty.

We are in the process of moving through each of our rooms one by one and upgrading, changing and giving lots of TLC and attention to the details. I am sure you can appreciate that this is a constant process in the hospitality industry and we are just so sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

We would love you to return one day and see what we have done.

Warm wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We visited Old Joe's again this weekend. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends, Marion and Paul always make one feel MORE than welcome. The food is excellent and well planned. Marion also cates for vegetarians, and they have a good selection of boutique wines. A walk down to the labyrinth is a calm peaceful experience. It is on the way to Kruger Park and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 - 9 is great, no noise, peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Elrieta

Thank you for your lovely review. We do love hosting you both so much - and welcoming back old friends is really what makes us tick!

Come home again soon!

Warmest Lowveld wishes
Paul, Marian and The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

What a delightful charming place. We went for a Bookclub weekend away and were absolutely spoilt. The food was perfect and the presentation made for great photos. Our every wish was catered to and I will definitely be recommending this place to anyone who wants a stopover on the way to Kruger Park or to spend a lazy weekend away. The views are super and a walk through the labyrinth is a must. The wines on offer are really interesting and not the usual selection.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Natasha

It was such fun hosting and spoiling you ladies! And a delight to see you unwinding and laughing loads. Please do come again soon and thank you for your fabulous review!

Warmest wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Have just returned from a Writer's Retreat weekend at Old Joe's Kaia. Great workshop venue. Nothing is too much trouble. Being able to enjoy sublime food, beautiful surroundings and participate in a writing workshop was heaven. I have run several of my own Women's Retreats at Old Joe's and they never disappoint. Marian, Paul and their team go out of their way to make your stay so special. Whether business or pleasure, they offer great value for money. You will certainly never leave hungry! Take time to walk the labyrinth, enjoy the gorgeous gardens or tuck up in the lounge with a good book and a glass of wine. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the log cabins - beautifully appointed, own balconies, set in the gardens. Kaia rooms are fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Di

It is an absolute pleasure hosting you here each and every time you come., Thank you for your fabulous review - and the tips to other guests. The retreats you have hosted as well as assisted organised bring such a fresh flavour to Old Joe's Kaia.

We so look forward to more time spent together.

Have a stunning week!

Warm wishes
The Old Joe's Kaia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD JOE'S KAIA is a unique and small family owned and managed Country House situated in the magnificent malaria-free Schoemanskloof Valley. This is a little oasis full of surprises. Expect fresh and unpolluted mountain air, fabulous scenery, prolific birdsong, and a wonderful relaxing, homely atmosphere. Known for its excellent cuisine and fabulous wines, this is the perfect stopover en route to The Kruger National Park, Mozambique, Swaziland, The Panorama or the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Joe's Kaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.