We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Meikleour B&B and Inns
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for a short break and although things didn't quite go as planned(my husband was taken ill and had to spend first night in hospital) everyone was great, I didn't feel uncomfortable being on my own in a strange place, Kia and her staff went out of thier way to make sure I had all the support needed, will definately revist in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, I know how daunting it can be arriving somewhere on your own, especially under such harrowing circumstances. Delighted your other half was able to enjoy at least half your trip, and truly hope that you both manage to get back to Meikleour sometime in the near future.
regards
Kia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    32
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
83
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We only stayed for one night (breaking our journey north), and would have happily stayed longer. We were met in friendly fashion and shown to our bedroom which was airy, clean and bright with all of the expected extras (plus a small decanter of sherry). Our bathroom was very clean with lovely White Company lotions and potions and a good sized bath; the modern fitted bathroom furniture gave us plenty of space to spread out our own toiletries too! Before our baths we had a pint in the bar, the local ale the 'Lure' of Meikleour was delish and we met some fine folk in the bar with their gorgeous dogs - always good to see dogs in a bar. Dinner was then a most excellent affair, good choice and clear evidence of the providence of the produce. There was no hurry at the table and we thoroughly enjoyed everything we had. We slept well and then in the morning had a very decent breakfast. Without doubt we will be back, having now found the perfect stop off point on our long journey north. Thank you, Julie and Duncan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Glad you found us, and that you hope to visit again. Bathrooms are so important in a hotel stay, and without esception so many do not provide enough space for your personal toiletries ( this is a BIG complaint by my husband who travels away every week) so when we refurbished the bathrooms here this was his influence.
Local produce is always our first choice, and we like to deliver this with both professionalism and a friendly touch,
WE are all dog owners here so they are a big part of our lives, both my springers come to work with me every day, so guests dogs ( provided they are well behaved) will always be welcome.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Returned to Meiklelour after about 18 months and found it to be as good as ever! Such a lovely a room. The food is really good. A bit special but at the same time not too fancy. All the staff make you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. Maybe breakfast could do to be a wee bit later than 9am but perhaps I am just lazy !

Room Tip: I believe all of the 5 rooms will be first class. However we were in the twin-bedded Landsdowne room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
It is always a pleasure when guests decide to return to us, and we are delighted that you did, it is a very compliment you pay us by returning, and our regular guests are extremely important to us. I am sure that we could stretch the breakfast to suit you if you ask us the next time you stay....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a find, what a delight, This small hotel has just served us up plates and plates of delight.
The food was outstanding and the chef is most certainly to be complemented upon his skill, thank you we had a fab meal.
We chose to eat in the bar, with it's cost friendly atmosphere. The staff looked after us perfectly and in polite cheerful manor, nothing was too much trouble for them. Although we did not stay at the hotel people we met in the bar did and praised it most highly. We would certainly choose to stay here on any return visit to the area.
To sum up, this is the real deal and to be highly recommended don't pass this one by or you will have missed out.

T

Room Tip: Book a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review, we pride ourselves in serving locally ( whenever possible) sourced ingredients, and always showcase seasonal products. Our team of chefs ( our head chef is a lady by the way) take pride in their work. Front of house staff try to be professional with a mix of friendly, nothing worse that stuffy staff !!, So next time phone us and book your room here, we would love you to try the whole experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here from Sun 12th August for 3 nights on a business trip .I arrived late on a Sunday evening and was very pleased to be able to have my supper in my room as I wanted to watch the Olympic closing ceremony . I had a lovely room upstairs with a very comfortable bed and enjoyed great sleeps after long working days . This hotel is very relaxed and the landlady and staff were so helpful and attentive . I had dinner with several colleagues over the 3 evenings and enjoyed the choices from a nicely prepared menu using locally sourced ingredients.
This hotel will be my choice when I next visit this beautiful part of Scotland whether on business or holiday.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review, Glad we managed to accommodate all your needs, and we are delighted that we will be your choice should you find yourself this way working again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with an Itison deal. It's a nice hotel in a small village in Perthshire. We had a lovely large room upstairs with a cute sloping roof and a window with a window seat. There was also a dressing table with a stool and two arm chairs. The bed was two singles together and was comfortable.

The coffee/tea tray featured lovely stem ginger biscuits, boiled sweets and a whisky decanter).

The bathroom is also spacious. Toiletries provided (except hair conditioner).

Breakfast is good. There is a choice of cereal/yoghurt/fruit compotes, porridge (with cream and whisky if desired!), and a choice of hot dishes (full Scottish breakfast, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, kippers, and smoked haddock and poached eggs). Marmalade was probably homemade. Decaf coffee came in a cafetiere (yeah - not instant).

The hotel was easy to find using our sat nav.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, all comments are very welcome and are always shared with the team. With the extras in the room I feel that it makes it a little special to all guests. I am pleased that breakfast met with your expectations, and yes you are quite correct the marmalade is made in house by our head chef.
I hope that you will come back and see us agin some time in the future.
Kind regards Kia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel. i travel alot and am fussy! would return and make a base of it. nothing too much trouble. spacious luxurious spitless rooms - even complimentary sherry. Food superb. Breakfast delicious and lots of choice and proper service no lame buffet. a breath of fresh air. well done.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. Customer service is the most important aspect of our business, and we endeavour to ensure that all our guests have a positive memorable experience during their stay with us here at Meikleour. We hope that we get the chance to welcome you both back to Meikleour some time in the near future.
Kia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meikleour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.