We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms - fab views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neilson Vounaki Beachclub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palairos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Vounaki Beachclub
Save
You added Neilson Vounaki Beachclub to your Saves list
Paleros Bay | Vounaki, Palairos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palairos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
surrey, GB
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Huge rooms - fab views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here following a week's competent crew course...the huge clean rooms were real luxury following 5 days on board in a cramped yacht cabin! Lovely bathroom, also huge, with a wonderful terrace and sea view. The service could not have been better as at the end when I called Reception for a porter 2 lovely guys arrived to carry our bags (no wheeled bags allowed on board)which made us feel very spoiled.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
87
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A very welcoming arrive, food ready and a welcoming party straight away. The sailing was great every sailing dingy you could think of was there and if your aim was to try everyone they will help you achieve that! also great kayaking, windsurfing and Stand up paddle equipment. Also every day there were several races which were very well organised and great fun! i would recommend this holiday to family's, single travelers, sailing enthusiasm, couples, beginners, groups and even schools its a great place for everyone. i traveled with my college and it was a perfect place to go and be. there is also a nice village 5min cycle with shops and restaurants! you hire mountain bikes from the resort free of charge! Lastly they also have there own habour which you can rent yachts out and sail to one of the islands your over looking! great view also. rooms they are all great

Room Tip: front one with an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband is the sailor and I just go along as clueless crew,however, having said that you can take out all sorts of boats. From single handers to cruisers,these are all rigged and ready to go,when you finish your sail you hand it over,it is de rigged and you just walk away. There is so much to do,kayaks and paddle boards to have a go on it is really good fun. The staff work really hard and have a good attitude. The afternoon tea and cakes go down really well, this is the time everyone is coming off the water and is really appreciated. We can't fault the food, the selection is amazing we are vegetarian and we have never been anywhere with so much choice,so a pat on the back to the kitchen for that. This is a good holiday for couples like us,one sails and one doesn't, there really is a lot to do and occupy yourselves

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsurfer, wales
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

have stayed at a Sunsail before and it was good but basic. Sunsail in Vounaki is a superb location.
Weather was glorious esp as this was end of October. All the sailing kit was in good order and accompanied by Sunsail's usual enthusiastic beach/sport team. Food was a big improvement on the last Sunsail. If you like sailing holidays then Sunsail is just the job. My wife doesn't sail but was more than happy with tennis, aqua, pool and day yacht.
Hard to be critical of this holiday. No hot water am's in block 5 didn't bother me but did our friends who like morning shower. Would we go back? Tomorrow would be nice.

Room Tip: All are good but higher up gives better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We'd been on a few sunsail holidays in the past so knew what to expect but we hadn't been with children before. The kids club was absolutely fantastic and made our holiday. All of the staff were wonderful but the nannies in particular couldn't have done more for us or our kids. The whole place is so well set up for children and families - I don't think I have been this relaxed in years!
Sailing facilities, food and service were all also faultless. It would have been nice to have free wifi in the room as that seems pretty standard but I actually quite liked not receiving any emails etc.

For parents of small children who are need of a break and would like a stress free holiday I couldn't recommend this place enough. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked a last minute holiday as it was such a good deal for a week. The whole site is on a hillside so if you have mobility problems this could be a problem. Our room was huge with a patio/balcony that had shade if you needed it. All the meals were excellent with good choices. Breakfast was a great start to the day, especially the omelette lady who always had a lovely smile... thank you thank you!! There are two pools, one of which is adults only so I appreciated that.
Can I just say that if you do have children it is a great place and I constantly heard nothing but praise for the staff at the crèche. In fact some parents said their children cried when they went to pick them up as they didn't want to leave!!!
As for the sailing, my husband really enjoyed it. I am not a sailor at all but I made use of the tennis courts, spa (lovely massage) and pools although the pools in October were VERY cold!
We walked into the little town along the coastal path, it takes about 7 minutes. Take a torch at night as it is a bit dark but the path is good and wide. There are a few places to eat. We enjoyed a meal at Dionysos thanks to a previous Tripadvisor review. The lady there is very welcoming and the food excellent. There is a nice bakery where you can buy bread, the man will cut you half and slice it for you. It was delicious bread and I had a cake with creme patisserie that was yummy too. Also a shop called The Driftwood Shop, the man goes out in a boat and takes photos of the sailing that you can then buy. He has lovely jewellery and t shirts for sale. I bought most of my presents there as there are not many shops around.
The evening trip to Lefkas is well worth a visit. I did tell them that I think it should go earlier so you have more time there as there's plenty of shops and places to eat. The man from the Driftwood Shop suggested The Lighthouse to eat in Lefkas and we really enjoyed it. I have done a review on both places we ate.
Change over day was fine for us. I read all the negative things but when we booked the holiday we were told you can book a late check out for €40. All the bookings form the UK end had gone but we did as the lady mentioned and went on the first day to ask for a late check out which was no problem. It meant we enjoyed the last day as we had the room till 4pm then left the resort at 6pm. We really enjoyed our holiday, it's a great place for couples and families, sailors and non sailors. You end up being like a big family by the end of your time at Vounaki and the staff do everything they can to make your holiday special.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in block 2 or 3 as it's in the middle of the site so everywhere is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a beach club review.

Travelled start of September for 2 weeks. We have never done this kind of holiday but both sail in the UK. First off we were not disappointed with the wind. It was very light in the morning and building up to F3/4 in evening. Beach was never closed even when conditions were above most people. There was always great safety boat cover. Beach team are amazing. Respect them as they are looking after your safety! Guests seemed to forget that. The sailing area is clearly marked (about 1200m x 1000m) and adequate size. There are loads of different boats. The team will rig the boat and doesn't matter if you have never sailed that boat before. Also I learned to windsurf from nothing to competant level. There are lots of free courses all week covering all sailing subjects.

The hotel is very clean and tidy. Our room had a sea view but we didn't pay for it. There is a fridge in room for your own stuff. Beach towels are provided. Food in hotel is very good and healthy. Best buffet style food I have eaten, also a la carte is great. 20 min walk to village. There are lots of restaurants there which always have customers. Take a torch for the path back at night. Most nights there is entertainment at hotel, band/singers/ dancing.

We had a deal at £700 each it was well worth it. Warning you might not want to go home and sail in the cold UK again.

P.s sunsail sort out your lame website. More pics/details of the resort required, it's like a secret society.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neilson Vounaki Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Vounaki Beachclub

Address: Paleros Bay | Vounaki, Palairos, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Aetolia-Acarnania Region > Palairos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palairos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Sunsail Club Vounaki Hotel Palairos
Sunsail Hotel Vounaki
Sunsail Hotel Peloponnese
Neilson Vounaki Beachclub Greece/Palairos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neilson Vounaki Beachclub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.