We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true - a wonderful place and welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Mill Tavern

The New Mill Tavern
25th Martiou, Palairos 30012, Greece
+30 2643 041634
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Palairos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Please, note that The New Mill Tavern will be closed, for a wedding event, on 23d and 24th of August 2014. We really sorry for any inconvinience that might cause. We 'll see you again Monday evening 25th of August! THANK YOU FOR CHOOSING NEW MILL TAVERN.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“It's all true - a wonderful place and welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went twice in the last fortnight, we encouraged other people to go after our first visit and they were not disappointed.

I wholeheartedly agree with the reviews that are already posted - not to be missed.

Richard and Barbara

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind. Must visit! Delicious authentic Greek food, fun and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant in our first week, then took a group of people back with us the next week. Food was authentic and delicious, plus the daughter, mum and husband team made the visit extra special. They are gorgeous people, and their personalities, energy, passion and expertise was obvious from the second you walk in. The courses that arrive are surprises, so that's half the fun! The wine bottle that comes to a table with a group is 5 litres in volume, and the wine is tasty! Be sure to ask for water as its essential to stave off the inevitable hangover.... My favour part of the meal was the skordalia, which the mum talked us through how she makes it - its like homous, but made with potatoes instead.... We will definitely return when we next visit vounaki in Greece

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RoseW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Cathy and Mahi treat you like family at this brilliant hidden gem! No menu just amazing homemade Greek food and a warm welcoming atmosphere! Watch out for the wine bottles, the bigger the party the bigger the bottle! A definite must if you're visiting Paleros!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The warmest welcome and the best food provided by Cathy and her daughter Mahi. No menu, but you won't be disappointed, and they will provide a genuine Greek eating experience. Check out their guest book and the long list of recommendations by a whole list of TV chefs and celebrities.
This has been our fourth family visit since finding the place in 1990, and it's every bit as good now as it ever was.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality and Great Greek cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in the adjacent rooms at Antonio's Guest House and Diving (Ionian Scuba Diving) which we booked through AirBnB. We were very pleased to learn his mother and sister have this restaurant next door and we were fortunate to enjoy their hospitality and wonderful food. We also read very favorable reports from previous guests such as Gordon Ramsay and Jamie Oliver.

We would definitely recommend this family owned restaurant to anyone who is visiting the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Mill Tavern also viewed

Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
 
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
 

Been to The New Mill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Mill Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.