We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Alamandas

Save Saved
You added Las Alamandas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Alamandas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km. 83.5 Carretera Federal 200, Quemaro 48850, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Quemaro
Utah
1 review
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Las Alamandas is the ideal location for someone who values privacy and is willing to pay a bit more for outstanding service. My husband and I took our kids out to the Las A pristine beach (2 minute walk from our room) and it was a surreal experience to have this magnificent beach all to ourselves. We had just come from Suyalita, where you had to fight for enough room to put your towel out and faced a never-ending line of locals pushing their wares on you.

The beauty of Las A was stunning, the food was amazing, and the service was the best I have received at any top hotel - anywhere. We enjoyed horseback riding, surfing, tennis, and ocean-side massage...and we were only there for 2 days! This is definately a place I want to visit again, and plan to stay longer. Thank you Isabel for everything!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

This was my second trip to Las Alamandas -- went with my partner -- we will be back again and again. Its truly a mind blowing eco-paradise -- recently remodeled and updated rooms are stunning.

The staff are fantastic -- some have been working for the owner for a decade or more. They will do anything to make you happy, and seem somehow to anticipate your thoughts.

This place makes the Four Seasons feel like McDonalds.

The food is marvelous, the drinks are tremendous. There is a cool art gallery, swimming, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, fantastic margaritas, and I love the various beaches -- choose your private beach and go for it. I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about, I have been swimming on all three beaches and the waves are great. Some of my friends went surfing, and bodysurfing. Lagoons inland, secret swimming coves, vista points, tennis courts (in fantastic condition). It just never ends.

If you are with a lover, go there. If you want to have a special celebration with a group of friends (we were there on this visit with 20 people to celebrate my 40th birthday), go there. If you want to unwidn, decompress, and charge your battery, go there. If you love nature, go there.

Thank you Las Alamandas and congratulations to the owner on creating detail by detail one of the most amazing destinations on the planet (this from someone who has travelled to 55 countries and stayed in the best of the best).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed 3 years ago and had thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel beach is sensational, better than the photographs but just in case that isn't enough there are several other stunning beaches which were mine for the asking. We had a beautiful picnic which was set up with sun umbrellas on a beautiful deserted beach. The staff are caring, attentive without ever being intrusive and it was a pleasure to see their familiar faces again. Since my last visit the villa with the pink dome, Casa del Domo, has been totally remodeled. It is luminous, spacious and utterly glorious. Casa Isabel was also remodeled and is equally lovely, and they are in the process of remodeling the Casa del Sol. Wow ! What a project in 2 years. The food was delicious and the menus are not rigid and obligatory as in other hotels. If you have a request and it can be done, the kitchen will happily accommodate you. I cannot recommend Las Alamandas enough to those who truly want to get away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Absolutely stunning property! We spent five magical nights for our 25th anniversary and could not have been more pleased, pampered and served. From the welcome margaritas to the picnic and afternoon on a private beach to the glorious sunsets from our terrace, palapa day bed or loungers by the ocean... we fell in love all over again.

The service was spot on; never intrusive. We truly felt - and every staff member made us feel this way - as if we were staying at the estate of a close family friend. Every request was greeted by "of course, this is your home". Absolutely the richest five days of our married lives, other than those of our wedding day and the births of our children.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

resort needs to rid itself of the tejons (racoon-like scavengers who pester outdoor diners) Service on beach was totally inadequate. Food was tasty but not artfully served. I think they could do A LOT more with the property. Need to upgrade amenities -- even soaps and lotions were not great quality. Robes, etc seemed tired. Sheets needed to be fine thread count, not poly blend. The massage therapists were average, not great. The bones of this place, the remote location, the great setting, the vegetable garden access all make it possible to be so much greater than it is. Oh, and the ride to and from the airport is LONG and sick-making.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Many things make up a wonderful getaway, and they are all in adundance at Las Alamandas. From the moment we arrived until the final wave from our security guard, the people of Las Alamandas create the experience. Whether the surprise birthday cake for my wife at dinner, or the bouganvilla pedals arranged in a birthday wish on our bed when we returned, the surprises were wonderful. But the surprises were only the headline. The real story is that each and every employee genuinley wanted to serve us, and make this our best holiday. That some employees felt that way is expected; that they all did was truly amazing. I should mention the food which was excellent, and prepared to our customized tastes!

My wife enjoyed riding to the scenic lookouts and galloping on the beach each day, while I enjoyed the amply equipped gym with all of the time in the world. When the daily activities were over, I burned through my current "read" with the rhythmic sound of Pacific waves pounding the beach as I sat on my patio.

We like to explore new places and rarely return to any, but this was our second trip....and I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swissmex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

The first thing you notice in Las Alamandas, is the absence of things annoying. Not here the humming of engines and turbines and elevators. Not here the noisy breackfast buffet with lousy coffee stressed waiters and too much of everything. Not here the ridiculous poolscene with one girl telling a bunch of others how to move their legs and arms to the sound of "new Age" music and everybody pretending desperately to be in touch with the universe. Not here irritating waterscooters, lawnmowers and golfcarts.
There is no contamination here, not visually not otherwise. I found it difficult to read a book for your eyes and mind tend to wander off somewhere to the play of light and shadow on the grass beneath the palm trees or the silouette of a hammock, or the open horizon beyond a wide and clean beach.
We found the ocean to be perfectely swimmable, despite a surf, and the beach wide and clean and undisturbed.
The staff is friendly, descreet and efficient, food and bewerages are more than you could wish for.
There is a theme to Las Alamandas, a discipline in design and colour and attitude that inspires awe and wonder.
True, it is not for everyone. But for those who apreciate nobility and serene elegance , it is priceless.
Las Alamandas is not just another fine Hotel, it is also a state of mind.
I salute the owner for creating it, and thank the staff for maintaining it the way they do.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Alamandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alamandas

Address: Km. 83.5 Carretera Federal 200, Quemaro 48850, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Quemaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Quemaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Alamandas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Alamandas is Mexico’s beach hideaway extraordinaire in beautiful Costalegre. The secluded haven, located on the Pacific midway between Puerto Vallarta and Manzanillo, offers it all: unsurpassed luxury, personalized hospitality, every recreational activity, and complete serenity on 1,500 acres of unspoiled tropical paradise. The newly remodeled suites are exceptionally spacious and exquisitely appointed. Gourmet cuisine is prepared with locally caught seafood and organic produce grown on-property. Massages and treatments are enjoyed in a spa pavilion by the sand. Every amenity and facility is available, from a swimming pool, fitness center and Kids Club to nature hikes, kayaking, horseback riding, tennis and surfing to a private 3,300-foot airstrip allowing guests to fly directly to the resort. Set within a pristine nature reserve, Las Alamandas boasts untouched white-sand beaches, numerous species of multi-colored birds and whales swimming along the island-studded coast. Operated like an intimate private estate, Las Alamandas is a vacation paradise for a relaxing getaway, a honeymoon or a family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your Las Alamandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alamandas Hotel Quemaro
Las Alamandas Quemaro
Las Alamandas Mexico/Costalegre - Quemaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Alamandas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.