We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkby House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kirkby House to your Saves list
Kirkby House
Church Street, Kirkby Mallory LE9 7QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arrived frazzled after tough working day, bad traffic and a misunderstanding with my partner..
Within minutes the staff had settled us down and we started to unwind.
Restaurant menu simple but very well cooked & presented, super full English breakfast as well.
Room extremely comfortable, spacious & clean. Bathroom a good size & immaculately clean.
First class service at a reasonable price - we were very well looked after and plan to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
27
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent customer service nothings too much trouble they even took us to the local seafood resturant as they didnt serve food on a sunday evening. .. Very friendly couldn't ask for a more relaxed comfortable stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here whilst on business, middle of this week. Lovely hotel both inside and out! Very welcoming. Literally feels like your at home! Small bar to have a beer or 3. Spacious room with ensuite and walk in shower. Lovely tea would recommend the beef and upgrading to the full english for an extra 4.50 on the 59.99 evening meal and room deal I got! All in all 5*** Will be back,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Every now and then you come across somewhere that is a real gem and this is one such place. It is a family run hotel/guest house which is real value for money. There's masses of car parking. The bedroom was spacious with lovely corner bath.The room rate included dinner and we had the special - a superb beef stew which the chef had made the day before so it could have a long simmer. The house wine very drinkable and not too expensive. It was the warmth of the welcome which was the icing on the cake. Stephen was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The only downside was that the mattress was a bit lumpy - probably needed turning so I mentioned it the next morning and received an email later thanking me for raising it as he was anxious all guests had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I wanted to treat my husband something special for his significant birthday. How lucky we were when we were welcomed warmly by Stephen. We love the character of the house, the proximity to the Mallory park but most of all how we were treated. The personal touch was very important to us and because of that, we really enjoyed our stay. My brother and sister- in-law joined us for our celebration and they were equally impressed. The food was smashing and the Chef even came out for a chat at the bar/lounge. I highly recommend that you should try this B&B and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladybank
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Sometimes you get lucky and stay at a place that's really good. I had booked Kirkby House last minute for a business trip a colleague and I were making to Leicester. It's odd that on a midweek out of holiday season a hotel should be so full but clearly we are not the only ones to have stumbled on this gem. We got one of the last rooms, which although apparently smaller than those in the main house, was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was also excellent, a choice of cooked or continental. And all for just £55! A superbly run place and one I would have no hesitation in recommending. This might be a small hotel, but clearly the team behind it take great pride in the service they provide. Well done.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the main house are more spacious. I wasn't in the main house, but my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I was on local business in Leicester and after comparing many others I opted for here for location and VFM.
Room was new and comfortable in the courtyard converted stable.
I had an evening meal and breakfast which were very good. Shower was powerful and very hot. £2.95 for a can of strongbow was a bit steep. Only disappointment was hit and miss wifi was was advertised as available. Overall a pleasant one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkby House

Address: Church Street, Kirkby Mallory LE9 7QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kirkby Mallory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Mallory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel style en-suite accommodation, a master suite with double jacuzzi, a farm house style dining room serving freshly cooked food, separate guest lounge, separate licensed guest bar, secure parking. Located in the heart of the Midlands with central road and transport networks close by, within 2 minutes walking distance of Kirkby Mallory Race Track, Stoney Cove and Bosworth battlefield just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Kirkby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.