We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gueriniere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Gueriniere to your Saves list
La Gueriniere
Lieu dit "Baccas", 24250 Cenac-et-Saint-Julien, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and had dinner the first night of our visit. La Gueriniere is one of the loveliest B&B's we have stayed at in 24 years of frequent trips to Europe. It is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and in a lovely garden setting. The evening meal was amazing. First class cuisine in every aspect. Breakfast was also delicious with many generous choices, way more than the typical French breakfast. The location is very convenient for visiting popular tourist sites in the Dordogne region. This place is great - don't pass it up if they can accommodate you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had stayed at the B&B part of this wonderful place about 10 years ago and always said we wanted to return and rent one of their gites. We were finally able to do so this month for one week. It is a little piece of heaven. The eve we arrived we had a sumptuous meal of the terroir prepared by the chef and host, in front of a crackling 17th century fire place, flowers, even a little candelabra on our table. The grounds are lovely, flowers, plantings, shade trees, just us the birds, frogs and bees. The areas are all very clean and well kept. The hostess, Brigitte is lovely and they try very hard to make everything perfect. The gite was well stocked, bed comfortable and swimming pool on the grounds lovely. We would be happy to return in the future. Excellent location for seeing all the regional sites.

Room Tip: Our first stay I think was the room was le Coquilotte, under the eaves. Our gite Jonquil was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed just one night and immediately regretted not planning a longer stay. La Gueriniere has it all - it is a magnificently restored old property in a beautiful rural location, with luxurious interiors and first class cuisine. Our hostess was very relaxed and sat chatting at dinner and was again a genial presence at breakfast. The surroundings are among the most peaceful we have encountered and, on a short evening walk, I heard a cuckoo and a woodpecker - birds rarely heard at home. Somehow this confirmed the feeling that all is in perfect balance at La Gueriniere!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights, and loved the location. Madame cooked a wonderful evening meal and the breakfasts were good too with homemade cake and yogurt. The furnishings were lovely, and the garden/ pol too, but sadly weather was poor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gueriniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gueriniere

Address: Lieu dit "Baccas", 24250 Cenac-et-Saint-Julien, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Cenac-et-Saint-Julien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cenac-et-Saint-Julien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
where the rich architectural heritage is equaled only by the beauty of the unspoilt natural scenery .From the pool to the tennis court , nothing is left to chance so that you can enjoy various activities in the property or within 6km or you can enjoy hiking , climbing, aspéologie riding ......and 2 km from the Dordogne (river) you practice canoeing or kayaking.Located in the heart of medieval villages , castles and prehistory and the Lascaux cave ....housingSpacious guest room with bed 180x200 bathroom and private toilet, overlooking the park .Breakfast for 2 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Gueriniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gueriniere Cenac-Et-Saint-Julien, France - Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gueriniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.