We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dusty Miller

Save Saved
You added Dusty Miller to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dusty Miller
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sheffield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4TW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Barlborough B&B and Inns
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Decent value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked to stay here to visit family. Very friendly staff on arrival, family room was double booked, but this was sorted no bother and we were offered 2 rooms for the same price, so was happy at that. Rooms themselves were very well presented and warm although en suite was a little chilly, but was only to shower and freshen up so not a problem for us. Car very looked and smelled smelled delicious unfortunately we didn't have time to try it.

Recommend for a stop over and when next in area I may just call back to try out the highly rated carvery... After looking at the newspaper review in the wall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi

Great you were more than satisfied with your stop over Jo.
Look forward to you being here again.
Regards team Dusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
12
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This pub/b&b is excellent. Friendly staff, great food and on our stay a band was playing (not too late) Food we had was from there well liked carvery (Newspaper review on the wall) and I could have eat it again, even though it was a huge portion...tasty!

Room clean inc en-suite and warm. Will be down that way again next year, and will stay here. Excellent value too. Way better than a Travelodge for less money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Graham

Thanks for the thumbs up on all aspects of our staff and establishment and top marks.
We look forward to offering more of the same on your next visit.
All the best from team Dusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location was great for an overnight stop - within sight of the M1 but still very quiet.The staff were really friendly, so couldn't be faulted. The room and bathroom were fairly average, although unexpectedly cold. They did fire up the boiler for the central heating for us but this took a while to get going. The real let down was the food which was awful. Having been told we could have anything we wanted for breakfast we asked for poached eggs, only to be told we could only have scrambled eggs. These arrived on plates awash with water and were totally tasteless. The limp bacon was fatty and inedible. Glasses of orange coloured liquid were already in our places on arrival. This turned out to be some sort of orange squash or tropical juice and was horrible. The meal the night before had been OK but we were very worried by how long the carvery meats were left on display uncovered.
This pub was good value for money and served our purposes but we would hesitate to recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Well it seems to me that most aspects of your stay were favourable .Breakfast sounds like you did not get what you wanted but that does not reflect our quality food that is produced on site and served throughout the day.As you mention our carvery- it is checked regularly and freshness is maintained and temperature.I don't think your opinion and concern is valid as you are not here long enough to have 1.We serve over a 1000 meals a week so actually keeping up with produce to be available is the only problem we encounter.
My comments are only to enlighten you of our actual procedure and assure you of our freshness which you seemed to enjoy your evening meal anyway.Plesed you thought location,staff and value was tops.
Regards
Adrian & team Dusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were visiting family in the Chesterfield/Clowne area and decided to stop at The Dusty Miller, It was a great experience The food was excellent and brought back many memories od wholesome English cooking. We will definitely return on future visits home. Janette, Sean, Vicki and Nicole

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Visiting from the USA and enjoying our traditional home made food by our 2 chef's and the rest of the evening.Thanks for your excellent comments and a full house with top marks.Most appreciated.
See you on your next visit.
Regards
Adrian and team Dusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We travelled up from Northampton to see the fabulous Harlem Nights Motown band on August 31st and what a superb evening we had! The band we excellent as always and gave a great performance of all the Motown classics.We had a great table,top drawer food,drinks and service from Adrian and his great staff.A truly memorable night! Many thanks,see you all again soon.Phil,Irene,Rob & Yvette.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Wow another fabulous review and top marks and to think you traveled all that way out to enjoy what we have to offer,just brilliant!Thank you so much and see you soon.
Regards
Adrian and team Dusty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a really fab night. With a huge choice and great value the Home cooked food was amazing. Staff work really hard and were so friendly. Soul/Motown Band 'The Harlem Nights' were just brilliant - can't recommend this pub highly enough - everyone should go for a great night out

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review.It makes it all worth while for myself and Team Dusty.
Regards
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Needed a place to stop on the way home from visiting relatives in Barnsley, as well as a quick meeting/drink with friends. Found this pub an excellent overnight stop. Room was clean and comfortable, service was good, owner was friendly and breakfast was great. Looked like an interesting place for live music, too...pity wife didn't book to stay on a Saturday night! High possibility that we will use the Dusty Miller again.

Room Tip: No idea...if our room was fine I would imagine that they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks Chris for your fab feed back.
Hope to see you soon
Regards
Team Dusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dusty Miller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusty Miller

Address: Sheffield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusty Miller 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusty Miller Inn is set in the pictures'k village of Barlborough and is ideal for staying over in one of there en-suite rooms while visiting the peak district and for commuters alike with it just being a 2min drive from Jcn 30 of the M1.It has a warm welcome with comfortable surroundings and a great place to eat,drink and relax.Also it boasts 2 top music nights being Wednesdays and Saturdays. The Dusty daily Carvery is renowned for Miles also the Steaks and other offerings from there extensive bar menu.Sunday's special Carvery is a great day out with over 300 plus meals being served and a great Child's menu or Child's Carvery .Large Car park,picknick tables overlooking one of the most pictures'k view's in the area also a garden centre directly opposite-just across the road and your there.All roads lead to the Dusty Miller.Privately owned by the Fazakerley Family since June 1976.Need we say more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dusty Miller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusty Miller Barlborough, Chesterfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusty Miller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.