We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gems At Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gems At Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Gems At Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Clarence Town, Long Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just like Long Island itself, Gems at Paradise resort is beautiful, relaxing and sechluded with friendly helpful service, lovely rooms beautiful beach. We were only there for a short time but spent plent of time relaxing on the beach and even went kayaking with a baby dolphin and it's mother.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
ChristieCooper we're delighted you loved your time at Gems and appreciate your share of Hance's special care of you and your amazing experience with the baby dolphin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
41
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I just returned from Long Island with my wife. We booked five nights at Gems in Paradise and the name tells the truth! it is truly THE Gem in Paradise. The room was excellent. Hance, the owner was an excellent host. The beach was beautiful and the grounds were well kept,

The Island was great and the people were all friendly. I will go return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Mary S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and express the relaxing time you had at Gems!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My hubby and I stayed at the Gems in February 2014 and were pleasantly surprised to find how quiet this place was. We were in town for a dive class, and stayed at the Gems for 8 nights. It was a very relaxing and welcoming experience; Hance made us feel more like special guests in his home than customers at a hotel.

Our room was very well decorated, and I liked the bath products provided. We had a great view and our own balcony with steps to a path leading to the beach. We actually ended up being the only guests on a couple days of our stay, and basically had the beach to ourselves. While snorkeling, we even saw a couple sting rays!

Sandy's cooking is as legendary as the other reviews say, and I highly recommend her curried mutton for dinner. It was awesome.

This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi DizzyViv C, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased your trip was relaxing and that Hance and the ladies were able to make it special for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had the place to ourselves for our stay. Hance was wonderful and the food was great, Sandy is an excellent chef. We travel the Caribbean often and have never seen such a beautiful island and beaches as we did on this Island, everyone is so friendly. We rented a car (SUV) and went all over the island. It was gorgeous. I am not going to give away where the best spots are on the island, you will have to find them for yourself. It will be worth it.

We will be back next year and hopefully will get our same room, it had an awesome view. Hopefully Domino will remember us.

See you next year Hance!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Dawn D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Gems experience and the complimentary words on our service, accommodations and food. The hint to visit to discover the many gems of Long Island was great. Domino will certainly remember your loving attention and Hance, Sandy and team will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The room you see on tripadviser with the red bed spread was our room. Oh, the views, the owners, the facilities. And! Outside this resort. The island and it's residence itself. Just down home good old folks everywhere you go. And I mean everywhere from the far south to the north end of the island. Everybody is a little shy before they get to know you. No different then you would be meeting new people. But once they know you and you know them. You will feel like you went home for Christmas and mom was waiting for you to pull in the driveway. So much to do and see. If you like a Norman Rockewell holiday experience. Don't pass this one up. Do a lot of research. We did. But don't pass this place up. Hance we miss you, Frank and Janet. PS., use BahamaGo.com works like a charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Fobn(F&J),

Thank you for taking the time to share your Gems experience. We're so pleased you had the "best time of your life" and describe your Gems experience like a Norman Rockewell holiday. Hance really misses your chats and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

our stay was beyond words , Hance will go out of his way to help you find anything you want to do or hidden beaches to snorkle , swim or just soak up the beautiful island breeze.
If you are looking for a resort that offers all the perks of an all inclusive then my advise is to stay away from here or even Long Island for that matter.
A holiday experience in the out islands in the Bahamas is one for someone who wants to get away and just turn the key off and throw it away for a while , the beaches , the water , the food , and most of all the people draw you back here time after time and you never get tired of it , it is a special place and Gems at Paradise is just another "Gem" to find on this beautiful island.
If you like to explore and give up a life style of being catered to then I challenge you to take a trip to Long Island and stay at Gems , bring your snorkle stuff , jump in the kayak and go around the corner and swim with the turtles and rays all with in a stone throw of the quiet hammocks at Gems.
Then rent a vehicle and travel from one end to the other and discover a breath taking beach at the end of a rocky dirt road and chances are you will be the only one there all day.
Let The wonderful ,beautiful people at the Gems show you what they can offer or do for you and I will bet you can't wait to book for next year, I know we are .
To all at the Gems thank you for making our visit what it was ....and Sandi you are the best cook on the Island !!!!!!! :)
Terry and Shauna . Alberta Can.

Room Tip: any of the rooms are have great views , we stayed in # 5 and was awesome . watched sunrises in bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hi Terry E, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing that your stay was beyond words. The accolades for Hance who goes out of his way to make guests' vacation experience superb ,Sandy as the best cook on the island and the rest of the Gems team is greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great value for money. Clean, friendly service. Second time staying here and we always love it. We appreciated having the kitchen, which allowed us to make breakfast every morning
Very accessible and conveniently located to Clarence town and beaches

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for coming back yet again and taking the time to commend Gems at Paradise for our excellent service! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gems At Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gems At Paradise Resort

Address: Clarence Town, Long Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gems At Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Gems At Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gems At Paradise Hotel Long Island
Gems At Paradise Resort Long Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gems At Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.