We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Pierre Bahamas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Pierre Bahamas
Millers Bay, Long Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Long Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at Chez Pierre for a week in march. We absolutely loved the place and can only recommend it. Cabins are basic but right by the sea. The food is world class and if you want to get away from everything, Chez Pierre is the right place. Don't expect anything fancy but if you like to experience real island atmosphere, then this is the right place.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Chez Pierre offers a rare and perfect combination of a 'back-to-nature retreat' and world-class dining. Pierre, the owner, has done an exceptional job of offering just enough with his accommodations - everything that you need, exactly where you expect it to be. This is not a luxury hotel - but it is exquisite in its simplicity. There are no distractions, just simple eco-friendly accommodations on a pristine and private beach. Pierre is an incredible chef, offering excellent salads, soups and entrees every evening. Our dinners included an incredible salad (or soup), fantastic fresh bread (baked daily on-premise) and excellent entree generally featuring fresh fish and an exquisite sauce. It simply does not get any better than this - especially for Pierre's reasonable rates.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Ventured to Long Island and Chez Pierre in the Summer 2005, went down to do some fishing and diving in between the relaxation....I had a blast. Accommodations are simple, yet functional and all you need. No TV's or phones here. Pierre is an awesome host and cook, I always looked forward to breakfast and dinner. Additionall, Pierre was kind enough to pack me a lunch when I went bonefishing. Location of Chez Pierre is very private and Long Island is everything an Out Island is......period. Merci beaucoup Chez Pierre for bringing back the simple things in life.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

You'll see very positive and very negative reviews centered on the owner's personality traits. Our experience with Pierre was very, very positive. It probably helped that A.) one of us (not me) is a tall and very good looking woman, and B.) the other of us has a rather snarky sense of humor. Pierre seems to appreciate both, but not in an offensive way, I hasten to add.

I've uploaded a few photos that are similar but not exactly the same as ones already posted, including a couple of shots of the infamous (by typical for Long Island) road. I also uploaded 4 brief videos that give you a good sense of the place.

Here are my other comments to add to the mix. We had a great relationship with Pierre and he went out of his way to be friendly. You get no control over the menu, but the food is pretty good and sometimes excellent. It also comes served in a front-loader, beginning with a salad that could only be finished by three hundred rabbits. His wine selection is quite good considering it must all be imported from afar. We found out that when he was younger and living in Quebec, he had a bistro that specialized in pizza, and he still makes them. Locals often order for pickup, and because we got along so well, he made pizzas in addition to his planned entree one evening. Worth having, if offered.

It was miserably cold when we went, so that limited us. The cabins have no insulation, and despite a blanket, we had to close the shutters and wear heavy clothes just to sleep. Little to do on Long Island, and it was too cold for any water activities other than fishing (which we do not do). One spot worth visiting is Dean's Blue Hole - it's really gorgeous and unexpected.

The cabins are spare but well made. One very important note about the cabins: there is no door between the cabin proper and the bathroom. This is not a good vacation for a couple that isn't getting along. It works out fine as long as both people understand that there are times when it's proper and desirable for one person to just go for a walk.

All secondary roads are awful, including Pierre's. It's quite a haul from the main road to his place, but certainly drivable. We had a standard small car and had no difficulty with it other than taking it really slow unless you want your passenger to crack his or her head while simultaneously emptying their stomach contents on the dashboard.

Last note will be a complaint, but not about Pierre or Chez Pierre. It's about BahamasAir. I'd used FF miles to fly from DC to Nassau, then booked a BA flight from Nassau to Long Island. They changed the time later on so that a connection would be impossible. I scrambled and found another carrier, but attempting to get a refund or even a credit from BA was met by stone silence no matter what I tried, including calling (I was directed each time to use their Internet form, which I believe is filed directly in the bit bucket when you click "send". Finally gave up. Avoid them if at all possible.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Before we traveled to Chez Pierre last month, I was a little concerned due to some of the reviews but having returned home a couple days ago I have no idea what all the complaints are about.
Chez Pierre is a small out of the way place with a great beach and an even better chef, Pierre himself. In the seven days we stayed there, we never saw a menu and yet enjoyed the best food of our lives. Pierre personaly picked it all as if we were his regulars. At the end he even gave my wife some of his salad expertise which we put to good use last night.
If there was any complaint, it was the heat, but traveling in the off season, that was expected. The road complaint is silly, all roads on Long Island, except the Queen's Way, are rough but certainly passable. If you want better roads, go to Nassau and please enjoy the traffic.
Chez Pierre is a place you can get back to basics and nature. Pierre himself is a nice man who will treat you the way you treat him. By the end of our stay we were discussing all sorts of topics with him in a very friendly atmosphere. On the last day I even broke his beer cap opener and he took that one in stride.
Bottom line is if you are expecting a Hyatt type hotel, complete with the crowds, then go to Nassau but if you want a quiet and relaxing place then I fully recommend Chez Pierre. Know what to expect there, you will have a great time and your taste buds will thank you, all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We holiday on Long Island for the excellent bone fishing. Staying with Pierre is a bonus!
Each year the experience seems to get better.
Every day it is a treat to wake up to the ocean.
Pierre's food is always excellent and he accommodates an allergy I have with respectful mischief!
Pierre is a most genial host and the little eccentricities of the place add to it's charm.
You can fish the bay and one of our 'champagne moments' was catching a bonefish on the way to dinner!
We look forward to the relaxed ambience of Chez Pierre and returning after a hard day's fishing is always a pleasure.
We do not mind the brackish shower and view our stay as a real 'back to nature' experience. Shoes, make up, and the media can be forgotten and you cannot fail to be soothed by your stay.
Pierre could not be more helpful with logistics, checking in flights and even making breakfast at 5.45am for our early departure.
We will return as often as possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed at this wonderful Eco style beach retreat in Feb 2010.
Having read a few comments from previous guests, i have been a little shocked at some of the comments posted, this has lead me to write my own.

This being my first visit to long i had know idea what to expect........
My visit to the island was mainly in pursuit of happiness.lol....well land actually!
Had know idea where to stay, so as you do, checked my friendly tripadvisor for a heads up!
Came across this excellently priced, lovely eco-beach bungolows, located in Millers( Chez Pierre), singularly run and owned by a french-canadian gentleman.

May i add the food was fantastic.....but it would have been nice to introduce a bahamian dish, well we are in the caribbean!

The beach bungalow price was the cheapest on the island, as no other guest house/hotel offers half board(Room,breakfast and dinner) at such a competitive price.

Pierre, what a wonderful man, helped me immensely, found him to be very knowledgable on all things worth knowing on the island.
And his two helpers too , 2 of the nicest people ever.....unfortunately have forgotten both their names.

Will definately return this year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Pierre Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Pierre Bahamas

Address: Millers Bay, Long Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Chez Pierre Bahamas Hotel Long Island
Chez Pierre Bahamas Long Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Pierre Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chez Pierre Bahamas to your Saves list