We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip with teenagers, will go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Resort Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stella Maris Resort Club to your Saves list
Stella Maris Resort Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family trip with teenagers, will go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We recently returned from our first trip to Stella Maris resort. We stayed in the Rainbow House. The whole property at the resort is very well maintained, landscaped, clean, and quiet. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We will definately go again. We had a hard time deciding whether to stay on the rocky Atlantic side at Stella Maris or on the calm Carribean side at Cape Santa Maria resort. We visited Cape Santa Maria resort one day for lunch/beach, and although it is very beautiful there, there is nothing to do other than stare at blue water. We made the right decision staying at Stella Maris resort, as there was always a breeze, crashing of waves, and large property. We rented a car and visited Deans Blue hole and also found a beautiful secret beach down a long isolated road near Clarence town. We had our two teenage kids with us and they loved the resort as well. Only recommendation is that the gift shop could have some snack/drinks for purchase so that guests could keep these in their rooms. Beautiful resort, highly recommended, will return. Food was awesome as was the pizza delivered to the room. Spring for Rainbow House if you have large group, huge home with private gazebo and infinity pool. The resort recommended an excursion to Sandy Cay....this is a MUST and is the most beautiful place in the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
So very nice to hear you enjoyed your family time with us on Long Island. There is so very much to see and explore.
Looking forward to your return.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    35
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
51
79
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our family recently spent a week at the resort as returning guests. We love the relaxed undeveloped feel of the island. It's a bit off the beaten path, but the resort can fly you in on their own plane from Nassau. A beautiful setting, with much to do in the surrounding area and a great long time staff. The diving is very good with many easily accessible spots, the beaches are empty, and the people are friendly. We stayed at one of the rental homes with a pool. We dove, snorkeled, or sat on the beach in the morning, then lounged at the pool in the afternoon and visited the Moonshine bar to round out the day. We've self catered in the past, but did the meal plan this time and were pleased. The resort is very accommodating in setting up excursions and beach trips, even if your group is small. It's a great combination of fun and relaxation you simply can't get at the big commercial resort properties on other islands.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My Husband and I recently returned from a dream come true trip at S.M. We stayed in a lovely one bedroom cottage. Very spacious with a comfortable bed and couches. The porch was the perfect place to sit with ocean views. The cottage pool was serene and quiet. We enjoyed the large size of the property, flowers, trees, and the tropical setting. Prices for meals are fair for out island food. However, the continental breakfast should have a protein choice available. I felt as if I was in carbohydrate overload at breakfast and opted for the more expensive american breakfast (I needed the eggs and meat). Pizza was yummy if you did not feel like eating off the dinner menu entrees.

The afternoon desk clerk was great. She helped us with any question that we had. She even gave me the tips on where to find the flamingoes! At the beach bar, Sue and Karen were the most kind bartenders ever (what sweet hearts!). Queen and Shawn were wonderful too. This was the trip of a lifetime and we will definitely be returning again. True paradise. The snorkeling was awesome in front of the resort. Games are available in the bar lounge for children/ adults. Many pools throughout property. The nature pool is so much fun to swim in. Beach towels are provided so no need to bring one.

We visited Cape Santa Maria for the day. Stella Maris includes free transport to this beach. Beach was beautiful with crystal clear water but not much else to do there. They will not let non-guest rent their water sports equipment if you are not a staying overnight guest. I offered money to the front desk to rent a paddle board. They would not budge and the 4 paddleboards sat on the beach all day untouched by anyone staying at their resort. This was a disappointment. Not good snorkeling there either and you can only look at clear water for so long.

Tip for the hotel: give matches in rooms, you provide 3 citronella candles but no matches.
Selling more snacks in Tingums would be great.

Tip for guests: bring protein/ granola bars (they do not sell these things)

We cannot wait to plan our next trip to the resort! It was better than our honeymoon. No worries mon when you are at Stella Maris. We loved it! :-)

Warm regards
Robin & Kenny Krause (Buddy the dog too)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the moment you step on to Stella Maris property your mind and body start to decompress. The check in is very simple and you are escorted to your accommodations and given a quick over look of the property. We stayed at the Gecko House and it was a very lovely cottage that can not be any closer to the beach but has just enough elevation to have a constant breeze to enable you to sit out on the lovely back porch to enjoy your beautiful beach and ocean views. The Wifi in the room was great had no problem with it at all and it was very fast! Though the rooms were very clean and well appointed they need to pay a little more attention to the bedding , making sure they smell crisp and clean , we did have to ask the housekeeping to change our bedding when we go there they were stale. Once they changed them it was fine.
The food at the resort was excellent, take into consideration that there is really no other place close by besides the Cape Santa Maria Hotel to dine which we tried and Stella Maris food blew it away! The pools side service was the best experience we had , the bartender Sue was amazing and fixed us a spectacular lunch and yummy cocktails. She was also a joy to talk to. She made our trip!
The only real negative that I have to say is that we did rent a car in advance and when we arrived they gave our car up because the regatta was in town . They did keep trying to get us a car but It did not happen which kind of put a damper on our trip since we wanted to get out and explore. But because of this we met the most amazing person on the Island that we really enjoyed spending the day with him his name is Divitt!!! If you want to see all the best in Long Island spend a day with him it is well worth it! He is all about service!!!
We enjoyed Stella Maris and will definetly be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for letting us know about the problem with the sheets so that we could take care of it right away. Gecko is a lovely house and a great location - glad you enjoyed it.
Sue says 'Hello', and thank you for your comments on her service. She expects to see you at the pool again soon.
We are sorry for the mix up on your rental car - it is great to get our and explore Long island - and wonderful that you were still able to do some exploring with such an excellent guide.
Our very sunniest regards from all at Stella Maris, we hope to see you again soon - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My family spent a week in April in a one bedroom cottage. What an enjoyable trip! The cottage was a little tight for our family of four, but more than adequate for our needs. What makes Stella Maris special are the people that work there - everyone had a smile on their face and truly cared that our stay was special. We loved the daily excursions - a trip to Sandy Cay is a must-do and the snorkeling and beaches were picture perfect. We were worried that we would run out of things to do on a "small" island, but we could easily spend another week without repeating any activities.

Thank you, Yvonne and the rest of the S. M. family!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you - great to hear your already thinking of coming back! 4 generations of my family have vacationed at Stella Maris, and we all keep coming back for more. Sandy Cay is great, next visit be sure to get to Columbus Point, and to the Blue Hole - don't miss a stop at Max's Conch Bar on the way - and check out the Long Island Museum. You're right, there is always one more 'must do' when you come to Stella Maris. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Sunny regards from all your friends at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just finishing up a stay here and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel rooms are modest, but clean, staff is friendly and helpful, amenities are great. Food is the bomb! Haven't been disappointed yet and we've eaten every meal at the resort. The views are spellbinding. Natural pool is a natural wonder I've never seen anything like it before. Mosquitos are raging after the rains, but you learn when to stay indoors to avoid them. Dive crew was super and very hospitable, willing to accommodate our requests and crazy group. Would highly recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed our diving. Did you know that Stella Maris is one of the longest running dive operators in The Bahamas, and the very first to offer a shark dive? Hope you had a chance to explore the Conception Island wall, and the Comberbach Wreck. And hope to welcome you and your diving friends back again soon.
Sunny regard from your friends at Stella Maris Resort, and Stella Maris Water Sports - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small Hotel with a beautiful garden on a hill with wonderful views over the ocean from each room. Rooms are well kept and have a decent size. AC is on the quiet side. Unfortunatly there is no Wifi in the room (only in the public area, where it works well). There is a small beach nearby (3 min walk, not so good for swimming, because of rocks in the water) plus 3 swimming-pools.Big Plus of this place is the friendly and caring staff and the offer of a lot of activities which are included in the room rate. So you can sail on a small catamaran or sailing boat (starfish) in a safe, shallow bay (Deals Beach), get bikes and kayaks to explore the island or let you drop on the beautiful Cape Santa Maria beach (one of the best beaches I have seen with unbelievable crystal clear water, has shades). For Snorkling they dropped me at Coral Garden (no shade, difficult entrance over rocks, not so nice, would not recommend), Poseidon Point (easy entrance, some nice corals, no shade so take a free umbrella with you) and at the end of Cape Santa Maria (easy entrance, best place for snorkling where the riff comes close to the beach and around the cape in the next bay, plus a wonderful beach for swimming). The food at the restaurant is ok: Continental Breakfast 10$, American 16$ (Buffet Style), Entrees 20-28$. At the nice bar there is sometiomes Live-music (you cannot hear in the room)There are no shops or other restaurants in walking distance. The Taxi charges for the Transfer to the Airport 10$ (1mi), to Simms Harbour 30$ (7mi, Bahamas Fast Ferries and Mailboat to Exumas). Best place in the Bahamas I have been.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Many thanks for your compliments to our staff. And for your review of some of the snorkeling sites, one of my favorites is Columbus Point on the north end. I hope you had the chance to explore the boardwalk behind the Mooonshine beach bar, and the beautiful natural pool. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Sunny regards from you friends at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.1 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
0.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 10 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delphi Club
Delphi Club
#3 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.3 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club, a 2014 Certificate of Excellence recipient is located on a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Resort Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.