We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Resort Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stella Maris Resort Club to your Saves list
Stella Maris Resort Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean View Dr | Stella Maris, Long Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fly from Nassau Credit
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Fairmont, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Class Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recently my wife and I and two other couples made our annual early spring bone fishing / beach vegging trip. We have been to a number of Caribbean locations and chose Long Island Bahamas as we had never been there and for years had read about the bone fishing there. After much research on accommodations we chose Stella Maris Resort and are extremely glad we did. From our initial contact with Jill, one of the owners of the family run resort, to all the waite staff in the restaurant, we were very pleased with all involved. We spent probably a little too much time at the oceanfront bar, but got attached to Queany and Sues Pina Coladas,. They were delicious and both girls were very attentive and fun to be around. We ate all but one of our dinners at the resort and no one in our party had a bad meal. The bread is to die for and I couldn't get enough of the conch fritters. Joel, the pilot who takes you from Nassau to the Stella Maris Airport, is Jills brother and is also an owner whose sense of humor is great. Both owners also waite tables which shows how all seem to work together and take customer service very seriously. Although the bone fishing wasn't what we had hoped for, it may have been our timing and we plan on giving it another chance as the resort and the Long Island people are enough to bring us back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gecko House which is a three bedroom villa overlooking the Atlantic and was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Bonefish48,
We are so very pleased that Stella Maris Resort was your introduction to Long Island, Bahamas. And that you got to fly with Joel. Isn't that a beautiful flight from Nassau to Stella Maris? I never cease to be amazed by the spectrum of colors of our Bahamas seas from the air.
I wish the bonefish had been more cooperative, our weather in early spring was a bit more brisk than usual. Thank you for giving it a second chance. Looking forward to you return.
With sunny regards from management and staff,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    33
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
67
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We enjoy traveling to different islands in the Caribbean, especially ones off the beaten track. We try to avoid places with high rise hotels, glitzy casinos, and lots of people. Long Island was a perfect destination for us and Stella Maris offered the perfect out island resort feel. When Joel met us at the airport in Nassau, it was super to fly in the private Stella Maris plane, no waiting at either end and as another reviewer said, it makes you feel special.

We stayed in the Gecko House which is a three bedroom house located on the Atlantic Ocean and a three minute walk to the Moonshine Bar. It was perfect for the six of us. Any issues or concerns were immediately taken care of by Jill, even though we did not communicate our issues to her. The staff took care of all our needs. And Queenie and Sue at the Moonshine Bar were especially enjoyable and both made a great pina colada.

We had hoped to do some do-it-yourself bone fishing which was disappointing as I am not sure that opportunity is a solid one. However, there is a learning curve with fishing a new place and I feel we need to give it another chance. We did fish with a guide two days which did produce a few hookups and catches.

Long Island has some great beaches with the Atlantic side being rocky and ruggedly beautiful while the Caribbean side has soft, sandy quiet beaches. Pick the one you like. Deans Blue Hole is a must to see. It is the deepest blue hole on Earth. We found grocery shopping to be quite adequate but a car rental is a must (for us).

I hope to return to Long Island and would stay again at Stella Maris without hesitation. I forgot to mention that the dinners there were very good. We did try eating at the other resort, but enjoyed the food at Stella Maris more so.

Make sure that you know what your expectations are at an out island. If you enjoy off the beaten track destinations as we do, I think Stella Maris will exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So very nice of you to share your experience with our flight service. We try very hard to accommodate our guests arrival and departure schedules.
Sue and Queen appreciate your compliments to their mixology skills, nothing beats a good pina colada seasoned by a ocean breeze.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Being the only resort on Long Island, it is extremely peaceful, tranquil and serene to be there. Everyone, from the owners to the staff and even to the locals, are friendly and hospitable. You can participate in activities or do nothing at all. Amazing snorkeling and shore fishing too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to introduce you to Long Island. Many thanks for your compliments to our staff. Hope to have you visit again soon.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the moment the owner of Stella Maris picked us up at the Nassau Airport, we felt special. This family-owned and operated property- in the rural out islands of the Bahamas amazed us with raw natural beauty, friendly people, and plentiful ammenities. If your idea of a great getaway includes: clubbin', shopping, or people-watching on a crowded beach, then this incredible oasis of true Bahamaian hospitality is not for you. However; if hiking with your sweetheart from one incredible, private shore to another along flats that go on for miles... with a picnic, a hat, and a fishing pole sounds like a perfectly blissful way to waste a few days....then please come to Stella Maris. Spend a day flyfishing with the renound "Yoda of bonefish", Docky- owner of Bonafide Bonefishing. Rent a car one day- just to get a view of the island and it's beauty. How's the food? WOW! (and I'm a working chef) The Chef at Stella Maris is the real deal, and the food at the resort was just our style: simple, local, and delicious. We HAVE to go back next year- we were so busy fishing, star-gazing, holding hands, trying new island recipes and flavors (food AND beverages), reading, wading, relaxing, and exploring...I forgot to SIT BY THE POOL!, so- we just have to go back! We also never got to climb to the top of the Lookout Tower, checkout the tennis courts, or shop for our retirement home. On our third day, my fish- addicted but still romantic husband simply said, "honey, you nailed it". He Loved it and so did I. These folks are working together (in a socially and environmentally responsible way) to offer a full-service experience in a natually beautiful, secluded environment. Two tickets to paradise? I'll leave tonight! Go to Stella Maris! Call the resort direct. Tell them about your dream trip. They will help you make it happen.

Room Tip: loved our cottage! every room has a view~!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Always liked that Eddie Money tune. Thank you so much for your compliments, to staff, to Docky - he really is a great guide, and teacher; to Bruno and our wonderful kitchen staff, and to paradise that is Long Island. We look forward to your return, and with great summer rates and our continuing flight special, there's no reason to be crooning, 'waited so long' before your next visit.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been going to Long Island since I was very young, and the Stella Maris Resort has always treated me like family. Whether I was a guest at the resort itself, or simply visiting the restaurant and bar, I have always been greeted like family. When the stove broke on a property I was staying in not owned by the Resort and I showed up desperate and unfed, the staff at Stella Maris made sure I had something to eat and the phone number of the island electrician who arrived early the next morning and fixed the problem
The past three years I have had the pleasure of visiting the resort during Christmas/ New Year and every time I am newly amazed at the fun loving and inclusive atmosphere that the owners create. All of their parties include local people, music and food, a refreshing difference with some other establishments on the island. Even as a young teen, my parents had no qualms about letting me stay late at resort parties or go explore relatively unsupervised because of the positive, safe environment in Stella Maris. Island time is a reality in Stella Maris, as elsewhere on Long Island, but it never impeded my daily activities, and was much more refreshing than it was a hinderance. I look forward to making it back to Long Island this coming year, at least once, if not more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It sounds like you have some wonderful memories of visits to Stella Maris with your family. One of my favorite trips was in my 20's with Mom, Dad, Grandma, and all my siblings (5 of us). A wonderful holiday filled with sun, sea and sand - and over 30 years ago! We, like you, came to think of Long Island as our 'island home' and the people as our extended family.
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for a week at the resort. The rooms are very clean. The food at the restaurant is very tasty. The very friendly staff treated me like family. The views from the room were stunning. The place is remote but offers various beaches to visit. The staff is very knowledgeable about the area and suggested places to visit on days that I wan't bonefishing. I would highly recommend this resort, especailly if you need to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Call Jill and she will set you up with the type of accomodations you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
So nice you hear you enjoyed your visit to Stella Maris and Long Island's lovely beaches. Indeed, Jill and all of our staff are happy to help guests select the best room or cottage for their stay. Whether an ocean view room, or one of our cottages, or a three-bedroom villa with a private pool; Stella Maris has accommodations to suit our guests' requirements.
Hope you caught 'plenty bonefish', and that you return soon.
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent the New Year's holiday at the Stella Maris Resort for the second year in a row and had yet another fabulous experience. We had two beautiful rooms which were spotless and well appointed. The resort is small enough to be cozy but large enough to offer a wide range of activities. It is family owned and operated which makes all the difference. The food is delicious and well priced and events are scheduled almost nightly. The New Year's Eve party was a blast with a huge buffet, a live band and games. It was a great opportunity to meet folks from all over the world as well as some fascinating locals. We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I love the holidays at Stella Maris; the food, the fun, the people all add to the marvelous mix of the celebration of the season. I remember one New Year's Eve, an impromptu costume party themed 'Under the Sea'. Guests were charged with creating themed costumes from 'whatever was at hand'. The inspired creativity made for a memorable evening.
Hope to have you back again for the next holiday season, or whenever the spirit moves you.
Warm wishes,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Address: Ocean View Dr | Stella Maris, Long Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort, a 2014 Certificate of Excellence recipient, is an intimate Bahamas Out Island hotel offering a wide range of tropical vacation rentals and accommodations, from panoramic ocean view hotel rooms to 4-bedroom waterfront and beach front villas, two with private pool. We provide the perfect Long Island Bahamas resort getaway for leisure travelers, family vacationers, private pilots and active water sportsmen. Tropical accommodations and inclusive island activities make Stella Maris the perfect Bahamas family resort or romantic getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Resort Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.