We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Po Box L.I 30-117 | Galliot Cay, Long Island, Long Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach Lover's Package
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Cape Santa Maria is a Magical Paradise that everyone needs to visit. We arrived at the Stella Maris Airport on Long Island, Bahamas and the island warmth hit our faces. As we traveled down an island road with mangroves on either side, thinking where are we and we need a drink. Suddenly we arrived at Cape Santa Maria and the view of this Magical Paradise welcomed us along with Neal Henning (General Manager). Neal and Wanda are the most gracious and fun people to be around always making you feel so welcome and making sure you are having a great time. We settled in and took our first walk down the boardwalk that runs the entire length of the resort. What a beautiful site to see the aqua water right in front of our Villa. The clouds reflected the aqua color beneath them and the sun was settling down and it looked like fire on the water. The beach is the best in the world and the water is always calm due to its location on the leeward side of the island. The bar was so inviting and open air, we ordered our first Pina Colada and Conch fritters. We looked at each other and said, wow what an amazing place, upstairs was this beautiful dining room where we had our first delicious meal watching the sun set into the ocean. Tired from travel, we went back to our room. This Villa was the most beautiful spacious place to stay and the bed was so inviting and comfortable. Viewing the ocean from every part of the Villa was amazing. A wonderful breakfast and staff awaited us every morning in the dining room… and at lunch and dinner as well. Got a great fishing hat in the gift shop where it was fun to shop and buy some souvenirs. Snorkel and masks were available to use during our stay. We had the best time swimming up and down the Cape. Rafts were fun for floating in the calm waters. The kayak for two was so much fun paddling around the island into the shallow water of the mangroves. Through the glass bottom we could see marine life including bonefish and Upside-down Jellyfish. We took the Hobie sailboat out and it was fun and relaxing. One of our highlights was fishing with Captain Bonefish Burt, he made this experience a great one, catching 13 bonefish and about 8 other types of fish. Burt knew where to find the fish. We were so busy having fun, no TV needed here or phones or computers. Relaxing in the Gazebo right outside our room was all you needed for entertainment. This was our first vacation in many years and it was the best time ever. It is a must “go to” for everyone for total fun, relaxation, meeting wonderful people and great food. Renting a car was another great experience as we tried to remember to drive on the left side of the road. Visiting Adderley’s Plantation ruins, Max’s Conch bar, swimming in Dean’s 663 ft. deep blue hole and the tip of the island to the Columbus memorial (viewing the ocean from the cliff) were all added enjoyment to our trip. We didn’t want to leave the Cape because it seemed to take you away from all the negative things that try to invade your life. Thank you Neal and Wanda and all your staff for making our trip such a Magical Time and we will be back. We need to stay longer next time so we can enjoy the paddle boarding and deep sea fishing and the many other activities to do at Cape Santa Maria.
Cheers from the Great Smoky Mountains

Room Tip: All Villa rooms were so Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort. Between the beach, kayaking, fishing, sightseeing and dining there is so much to experience while you’re here. How wonderful that you were able to fit so many activities into your vacation! Our guests always rave about the time spent out on the water so a deep sea fishing trip is the perfect choice for your next visit. We cannot wait to share your glowing review with our staff! They are the heart and soul of our resort and are always so happy to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay. We loved having you at Cape Santa Maria and look forward to seeing you during your next visit!

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    60
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
110
200
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week at Cape Santa Maria last week and must say the beach was second to none. The rooms need updating and maintenance. Maintenance was lacking throughout most of the resort. A little paint goes along ways. The showers have shower curtains and the tubs are heavenly rust stained and chipped and need updating. The service is the one issue that the beautiful beaches could not coverup. The service was the worst that I have ever experienced at any resort that I have visited even including the Holiday Inn. The servers acted like you were bothering them. They may bring you your drink and then disappear to another area to joke and laugh with other employee until you get frustrated waiting for them and you finally leave. We heard several guest have to wave down their server to get a second drink, a cup of coffee, water filled or your check. Guests would often have to break their server away from a group huddle to get service. The real kicker: the resort manager was often present while this was taking place. Laid back island attitude is one thing, poor service is another. We have visited other resorts in the Bahamas and the service was exceptional. My guess is that by automatically including the gratuity on your check, the employees incentive is nonexistent. The food was average at best and would take forever to arrive. This added to our disappoint with the resort experience. A resort pool would be a wonderful upgrade you could adjourn to relax and enjoy a drink after a day in the saltwater. In my opinion, the poor service does not do the wonderful beach justice. I was very disappointed with my experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful resort. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy our stunning beach and the crystal clear turquoise water. We are so fortunate to be located on one of the premier beaches in the world and we are so happy to share this slice of paradise with our guests.

We are very sorry the beachfront bungalow did not meet your expectations. We have recently completed several upgrades including the installation of energy efficient ductless air conditioners, new patio ceiling fans, installation of several bath tubs and new duvet covers. We are planning some interior renovations within the bungalows and are presently working on the timing of this. Should you have expressed to us your dissatisfaction with the room, we would have been happy to show you another bungalow or our luxury two bedroom villas.

We are extremely disappointed to hear that you found our service lacking, especially since we hear time and time again how much our guests enjoy the personal service they receive from our staff. In fact, we often hear that one of the major reasons we have guests return year after year is because of our friendly and courteous staff.We did stop and speak with you several times, even during dinner service and no issues were brought to our attention. I am sure that you traveled a fair distance to enjoy Cape Santa Maria and while you were here, I wish we had the opportunity to address any issues you may have had so that we could have made your stay more enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your comments as this allows us to revisit our standards and training procedures. I hope you will think of Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort when planning your next beach vacation

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here about 20 years ago for a 4-day weekend in the spring. There were only two resorts on the island - the Cape Santa Maria and the Stella Maris at the opposite end. On the days that the Stella Maris people did not visit (what a commotion they made sheeesh...) it felt like we were the last two people on earth. The beach is one of the most stunning I've ever seen, a long white endless crescent, strips of every shade of neon blue stretching to the horizon. The kind of place where you can actually see the green flash at sunset. Rustic caribbean individual bungalow-style rooms, TVs, no phone, wifi didn't exist.... just fresh seafood at mealtime served with a down-home vibe. No airs put on at all. Soooo relaxing. I would love to come back some day but I see the rates have jumped drastically. Oh well, I guess I can say "I was there way back when....."

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for remembering us after all this time, and for taking the time to write a review. We know that Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort leaves a lasting impression, which is why we have guests returning year after year. Visit us again and you will find not a whole lot has changed over the years. The beach and the turquoise crystal clear water are as stunning and as enticing as ever, we still serve fresh seafood and home-cooked Bahamian dishes and our warm and wonderful staff are dedicated to providing first-class customer service. I think you will find our rates are still quite competitive. For example, our Beach Lover’s Vacation Package is just $109.00 per night and includes a welcome cocktail, a bottle of wine at dinner, a ½ hour massage, complimentary conch fritters at happy hour and free use of our kayaks and bicycles. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The beach at Cape Santa Maria is amazing. The beach is long, the sand is perfect and the water is crystal clear. But equally amazing is the calmness of the water and the shallow depth especially during low tide. Our 2 year old was able to stand in the water 30ft from shore during low tide.

It is a perfect out island getaway if you want to just lie on the beach and in the water. For those wanting more activity, there is fishing (bone, reef and deep sea), SCUBA diving and snorkeling all within close proximity to the resort. The trip to Sandy Cay is a must. There is also sea kayaking, sailing on hobie cats and paddle boarding. The best part is that all the activities leave right from the beach at the resort. You can also borrow foam rafts from the water activity desk.

The people at Cape Santa Maria were equally amazing. Neal and Wanda, the managers, were behind the scenes but also very friendly greeting us each morning at breakfast and taking time out to speak for 20 minutes with our 2 year old. Breanda, Nadine and the rest of the staff went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We found the other guests at the resort to also be very welcoming and we became quick friends with many of them. Our children became very fond of the resort cat who was well care for by staff and guests.

We contemplated splitting our stay on Long Island between Cape Santa Maria and Stella Maris Resort. We had several dinners at Stella Maris at both the Moonshine Bar and Grill and the main restaurant. The food was very good, the staff was great and Stella Maris is very quaint. But happy we spent our entire trip at Cape Santa Maria as we are beach people and enjoyed the easy access to water activities.

We normally don't got back to the same place twice as there are too many places in the Caribbean and even just in the Bahamas to visit. We will definitely be making the trip back, however, to Cape Santa Maria. The beach is one of the best in the Caribbean and has only Cape Santa Maria Resort on it unlike other great beaches like Grace Bay, Seven Mile Beach and Pink Sand Beach that are sprawling with accommodations.

Room Tip: Bungalows 1 to 4 are the furthest away from the Villas if you want complete peace and quiet. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our resort. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family here, and I’m so glad we were able deliver a wonderful vacation experience for you. You’ve summed up everything I love about Cape Santa Maria. The stunning beach, crystal clear water and a wide variety of adventures and activities available right from the resort make this the perfect destination for any traveler. I’m so happy you’ll be returning for another visit; that’s probably the biggest compliment you could give us. I look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We recently visited this hotel for lunch, as we were staying at another location on the island. The facility is beautiful, the beach is clean and the water is bright. The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. We met the "Resident Cat" while there, it appeared to have a severe eye infection in both eyes. I was told by a worker that the cat lived at the resort. I hope that the resort has sought veterinary treatment for this cat, as eye infections, if left untreated, can lead to blindness. I mention this because another person who wrote a review also mentioned that they had befriended this sweet friendly cat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I’m so glad you enjoyed your lunch at Cape Santa Maria. And thank you for the compliments on the property. We work extremely hard to keep the resort in pristine condition. We can’t take credit for the crystal clear water though, that’s all Mother Nature! We’re just so fortunate to be located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

As for our resident cat, his eye has been treated by a vet and continues to be treated by a vet. He’s a part of the family here and we make sure he’s treated very well. Between all the food he receives from the guests and the staff he lives a pretty pampered life!

Thanks for your review and I hope you stop by to visit us again the next time you come to Long Island.

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Cape Santa Maria was amazing! Our bungalow was clean, air conditioned, and five steps from the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. The landscaping was perfectly kept, there was not one speck of trash anywhere on the grounds. Every inch of the resort was immaculate. The staff only added to the incredible ambiance. They were friendly and helpful, and made is feel like family. Nadine, in particular, made our stay even better. We opted for the meal plan, breakfast and dinner, which worked fine for us. The food was good, but I suggest that you get out some and explore other local options too. We rented a car at the resort for something like $90 for the day and went to Dean's Blue Hole (do not skip this), and a couple other island sights. The bugs were annoying in the evening, but a citronella candle and a solid layer of bug spray seemed to keep them mostly at bay. Apparently they are much worse elsewhere on the island. We were told that Cape Santa Maria has the best beaches and is far more casual than the other resorts on the island.
To sum it up, the beach was amazing, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was exceptional, and the food was good. We would definitely come back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort. We work extremely hard to maintain our status as one of the best resort in the Bahamas, and reviews like this make it all worthwhile. And I definitely agree with you about Dean’s Blue Hole: It’s a must-see! Whether you decide to rent a car or take one of our Island Tours, we recommend our guests get out and experience all the amazing sights Long Island has to offer. Thank you again for all the kind words and we can’t wait for you to visit us again!

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The grounds were perfect, clean & very well groomed. We were greeted very warmly by all the staff when we arrived, with each member making appoint to shake our hand and greet us by name. The staff in the restaurant, bar, and excursions went out of their way to make our time perfect. The rooms were very clean, bathrooms were nice. We stayed with friends in 14 & 15 which are different then the other bungalows. They have sliding glass doors that we felt gave you a better view of the beach and water. The ocean was perfectly clear and the sand as very fine. The snorkeling is OK, but we did the snorkeling trip was very good.
On the taxi ride from the airport the driver stopped at the grocery and we picked up a few things to eat. Prices are very high, but that was expected. The drinking water at the resort is perfectly pure. They have a treatment facility on the property so you don't have to buy bottle water. The water right out of the tap tasted just as good as my well water here at my home.
We also rented a car for the day to go to Dean's Blue Hole. That was a good day, and we found a nice restaurant in Clarence Town on the harbor, called Outer Edge Grill. We ate both lunch and dinner there. The water was gorgeous, and we spotted numerous sea turtles in the harbor. I'll post a review of the Outer Edge later.
All in all this was a perfect anniversary trip without our kids, though the kids would have loved the calm water and would have fit in perfectly.

Room Tip: Bungalows 14 & 15 have king beds and sliding glass doors giving a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakBayMarineGroup, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We’re so glad we were able to deliver such an amazing vacation experience for you and your friends. The resort and Long Island have so much to offer, and it sounds like you got to experience a little bit of everything. We’re happy the resort was to your liking and we hope you come back to visit us again soon. Maybe next time you can bring the kids!

Sincerely,
Wanda Henning
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Po Box L.I 30-117 | Galliot Cay, Long Island, Long Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.