We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arguably the best beaches in the Bahamas and great fly fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Island

Long Island
Long Island
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Long Island
Type: Islands
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An island in the Bahamas best known for its shark feeding dives.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Arguably the best beaches in the Bahamas and great fly fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Atlantic beaches are some of the wildest and most beautiful in the world, and most are remote, so chances are you'll be alone on your selected beach if you aren't near one of the few resorts. The lee side beaches are equally beautiful, but more tranquil with sand like powdered sugar. We like to rent a car and drive to different beaches and to a number of bonefishing flats. Some of our favorite places to fish include the Clarence Town ocean flats, and the salt pan areas on the lee side.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best secluded island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you're looking for relaxation this is your island. There are no big resorts, no malls, just the friendliest locals, great food, great drink, and the best beaches.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The most beautiful island in the bahamas that I have seen. Very quiet and private. You rarely see anyone on the beaches. There you will find all of the amentities that you may wish for. There a a few very nice resorts if that is your thing. For the most part it is little mom and pop inns. There are many very good restaurants and bars and plenty of sights to see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wicked Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I loved, loved, loved this place! If you need a lot of action and entertainment then this is not you place. If you like chilling, relaxing and exploring, then this is your place. My favorite thing about this island is the people! So many nice and helpful people I couldn't believe it. Sad that we have to be shocked to find such hospitality but be that as it may I am a solo traveler and I have never felt so safe and welcomed! Cannot wait to go back! So many beautiful things to see and people to meet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winamac
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

There are so many things to do.Bike riding,snorkeling walking,walking the beach exploring caves,scuba diving,swimming just relaxing wonderful vacation

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island also viewed

Clarence Town, Long Island
Long Island, Out Islands
 

Been to Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Long Island to your Saves list