We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serge Kovalskiy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast
Colebrooke Street, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Serge Kovalskiy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

It is a one of the best place to stay in Harbor Island. Small, family run BB Hotel, with style and sense of Caribbean Sharm. Quiet, safe and peaceful atmosphere, extremely helpful host service , clean like in Japan hotel in Ginza, and everything you need just short walk from this place. And most important: 5 minute walk until Fantastic Pink Sand beach, which have simply unbelievable view, fresh sea air, clean water and always empty beach…that seems like only yours… (Like on Cow Wreck beach on Anegada, BVI), what you need more to escape and relax from urban tension?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The breakfast is poor with expired yougurt and cereal. Just bread and jelly.
The problem was the chair...not enough for all guest. Table and chair outside very uncomofortable.
Position is ok, but needed rent a gof car (50 usd daily!!!)
The daughter she is stressfull. She want attention from guest. If somebody give her a few attention after she follow you everywhere. NO PRIVACY!! She know at the door in the morning for said "hi".
Last but not least huge cockroack in the room!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at Sugar Apple. We’re American budget travelers approaching retirement age who like to meet locals and explore our surroundings, and Sugar Apple was just right for us. We were there off-season, so we were the only ones there most of the time.

The room was small and extremely clean. Since we were there for a week, we moved things around and made it more comfortable. We used the refrigerator to keep our snacks, drinks and ice cream cold (we purchased all of these at a local small convenience store close by), and we used the microwave to heat up leftovers from the restaurants since we were traveling on a budget and some of the servings at the higher-priced restaurants were huge!

Rosie, our friendly host, provided a simple, satisfying continental breakfast every morning. When we became better acquainted with her, she prepared a Bahamian breakfast for us. She was genuinely interested in our experiences eating at the restaurants she recommended to us. We talked about gardening, the Bahamian economy and culture, food, and recipes. It seems like an organic gardener would be fascinated by the challenges local Bahamians face when trying to grow their own crops.

The majority of folks used gas-powered golf carts to get around (there were a few cars). We did not rent one ($45 per day). We walked everywhere and were able to see everything we wanted to see.

At the end of a long day out in the heat, we would find a clean, neat, and tidy room waiting for us with fresh towels.

The locals told us it was hotter than usual during our stay. We used the air conditioning most of the time. The electricity on the island went off 4 times. A couple of the shopkeepers shared their frustration with this ongoing problem. We noticed that many of the resorts and some of the homes had their own backup generators. The Sugar Apple did not have a backup generator. Fortunately, the power never went off at night, so we always slept comfortably.

The beach nearby is stunning. It became our reward for a long day of touring and heat and our connection to true, natural beauty. We would have prefered to stay at a place right on the beach, but those houses are parts of resorts or private estates—way out of our price range. Our 5-minute walk from Sugar Apple to the beach became a bridge from the busyness of our trip to a peaceful downtime. We’ve been to other beaches in the Bahamas, Caribbean, Hawaii, and Fiji, and this was probably the most beautiful we’ve seen (except for Fiji, maybe).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

A pleasure to stay here and so close to one of the most amazing beaches we've ever seen, the Pink Sands beach. Great service and friendly family business. The home made banana bread is to die for.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Friendly and helpful staff, clean, great location, comfy beds, great value. Highly recommended. Walk to pink sands beach and it is a nice stretch of beach just down the street from SugarApple.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay that is laid back and relaxing the sugar apple is the place. Stayed here over new years and had a good relaxing stay. If you need reservations for dinner have MISS ROSIE call for you. She knows everyone, and you will get table . Recommend the BLUE BAR for lunch and the ROCK HOUSE and PINK SANDS for dinner. Plan to pay with cash unless you go to a big resort. When you stay with MIss Rosie at the Sugar apple, have her fix you up with a golf cart. She can roll it into your room rate. If you are looking for a place to be pampered this is not the place for you. The Red Apple is like you having your own apartment or condo in The Bahamas, however, if you need anything MISS ROSIE will help you get it. Try the Sugar Apple, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We like the Family Islands of the Bahamas and had not visited Harbour Island or Eleuthera. I found Sugar Apple B&B on a map of everything on Harbour Island, Googled it and found their websit www.sugarapplebb.com, called the owner Rosita several times, and made a decision to confirm a reservation. We were there for the off season so Rosita took time to take us around and show us great photography opportunities. She told us where the good reasonable priced resturants were, and where the good grocery stores were. She also set us up with Mr. Herman for a reasonable priced 1/2 day fishing trip. She gave us a great deal on a one bedroom unit with a nice kitchen and sitting area. The unit was tastfully decorated and clean. Rosita and her Mother Mrs. Stephanie were great hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Sugar Apple b&b
Sugar Apple Hotel
Sugar Apple Hotel Harbour Island
Sugar Apple Bed And Breakfast Bahamas/Harbour Island
Address: Colebrooke Street, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Bahamian hospitality, intimate and tropical accommodation. Combined with the Best brewed coffee and banana nut bread located Dunmore Town, Harbour Island. Which creates a relaxing, cozy, comfortable, friendly and welcoming atmosphere at The Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast. Come and explore the three to five minutes footpath to the famous Pink Sand beach. Have a delightful taste of our four tropical fully furnished suites. Come and relaxed in the comfort of air conditioning, cable television, private bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living and dining areas. The Sugar Apple B & B is perfect for families, honeymooners, business men, boaters, pilots, vacationers and hosting guest. Wake up to the aromas of Rosie's signature Banana Nut bread and Joe's freshly brewed Kenyan Coffee. At the Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast, the only original Bed and breakfast on Harbour Island that promises you a truly unforgettable hideaway an a unmatched level of service awaits you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.