We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Eleuthera is a quiet paradise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast
Colebrooke Street, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel amenities
pittsburgh, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“North Eleuthera is a quiet paradise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay that is laid back and relaxing the sugar apple is the place. Stayed here over new years and had a good relaxing stay. If you need reservations for dinner have MISS ROSIE call for you. She knows everyone, and you will get table . Recommend the BLUE BAR for lunch and the ROCK HOUSE and PINK SANDS for dinner. Plan to pay with cash unless you go to a big resort. When you stay with MIss Rosie at the Sugar apple, have her fix you up with a golf cart. She can roll it into your room rate. If you are looking for a place to be pampered this is not the place for you. The Red Apple is like you having your own apartment or condo in The Bahamas, however, if you need anything MISS ROSIE will help you get it. Try the Sugar Apple, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We like the Family Islands of the Bahamas and had not visited Harbour Island or Eleuthera. I found Sugar Apple B&B on a map of everything on Harbour Island, Googled it and found their websit www.sugarapplebb.com, called the owner Rosita several times, and made a decision to confirm a reservation. We were there for the off season so Rosita took time to take us around and show us great photography opportunities. She told us where the good reasonable priced resturants were, and where the good grocery stores were. She also set us up with Mr. Herman for a reasonable priced 1/2 day fishing trip. She gave us a great deal on a one bedroom unit with a nice kitchen and sitting area. The unit was tastfully decorated and clean. Rosita and her Mother Mrs. Stephanie were great hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We had a fantastic time staying at the Sugar Apple! Rosie and Joe are wonderful! The rooms are adorable. We used their smallest room which had a separate bathroom, A/C, Microwave, Refrigerator, TV and Separate sink. There are some Mango and Sapidilla (tastes like brown sugar) Trees on the property that they picked ripe fruit from in the mornings and served with our toast and jams in the morning with some great Kenya Coffee. We also rented a golf cart from them to get around the island.
It was nice to be so warmly welcomed to the island by such gracious hosts! We came to Harbor island not knowing anyone and left knowing we had made some new friends!
Thank you Joe and Rosie! We will see you again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Sugar Apple was much more than i expected. The pictures online don't do this property justice. The rooms were more than what expected a "suite" to be and the owner Rosie made my stay a dream. I had the best business trip ever!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. James
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast is a refreshing experience as to what hospitality should be. The owner was very nice, she catered to all your needs. The room was clean and very home like, it was comfortable and spacious, It had everything, full kitchen, dining area, living room and private bathroom. I had some of the best coffee every morning for breakfast, it was a special brew from Kenya. Rosie's(the owner) banana nut bread was amazing. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a true experience of Bahamian hospitality. Thank You Sugar Apple B&B, you made my trip a success!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We pulled our golf cart over and stopped in for a quiet breakfast, stumbling upon the best coffee on the island.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

The Sugar Apple is a great, affordable place to stay on Harbour Island. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the host, Rosie, was very warm and welcoming. It was very easy to get to everything on the island from the B&B, and Rosie also rents out golf carts to get around the island. The Cafe in Sugar Apple's courtyard and garden serves excellent Kenyan coffee and breakfast. I will definitely return to this great little B&B!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast

Address: Colebrooke Street, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Bahamian hospitality, intimate and tropical accommodation. Combined with the Best brewed coffee and banana nut bread located Dunmore Town, Harbour Island. Which creates a relaxing, cozy, comfortable, friendly and welcoming atmosphere at The Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast. Come and explore the three to five minutes footpath to the famous Pink Sand beach. Have a delightful taste of our four tropical fully furnished suites. Come and relaxed in the comfort of air conditioning, cable television, private bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living and dining areas. The Sugar Apple B & B is perfect for families, honeymooners, business men, boaters, pilots, vacationers and hosting guest. Wake up to the aromas of Rosie's signature Banana Nut bread and Joe's freshly brewed Kenyan Coffee. At the Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast, the only original Bed and breakfast on Harbour Island that promises you a truly unforgettable hideaway an a unmatched level of service awaits you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Apple b&b
Sugar Apple Hotel Harbour Island
Sugar Apple Bed And Breakfast Bahamas/Harbour Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Apple Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.