We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE this hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Hill Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harbour Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Runaway Hill Club
Save Saved
You added Runaway Hill Club to your Saves list
Box EL 27031 | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
indian springs, al
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We LOVE this hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Although we have been to the Bahamas and Harbor Island several times, this was our first time to stay on Harbor Island, but probably not our last!
Nestled on a secluded hill on the Atlantic side of the island, is the beautiful, charming, quaint estate called Runaway Hill. The resort overlooks a private pink sand beach with beautiful turquoise water, with the reef only about 50 yards offshore. A small boutique hotel (our favorite kind), this resort offers some special amenities. We stayed in the Alice Emily suite: the bedding was fantastic, the room impeccably clean and well maintained and all the necessities present, the shower was great, our balcony with lounge chairs was secluded and comfy, and we couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful and tranquil setting.
The bar and restaurant both overlook the beach, where you can enjoy truly delicious cuisine in a beautiful ocean-view setting; see my separate TripAdvisor review of the restaurant here- just incredible food! As a guest, you have full use of the bar anytime of the day or night. It is based on an honor system of recording your drinks on your personal tab – a first for us! (Beware the complimentary Goombay Smash, and say “No” to the floater!!!). The resort has wake(paddle) boards, kayaks, and other water equipment for use without charge, as well as volleyball, etc. You can easily get to the reef for snorkeling, and it’s especially easy with the use of the kayaks.
We were fortunate enough to have the owner-manager, Paul Messier, on the premises during our stay. He is a very gracious host and always willing to accommodate the needs of his guests. He was always very personable, and knew his guests by name- another first! Paul and the staff are what really make this place so special. Everyone is very helpful and accommodating, willing to go out of the way to ensure your time here is the best it can be, from housekeeping, to the bartenders, to the management.
The setting is outstanding, the grounds are gorgeous, the estate is well-maintained, the beach is beautiful, the pool is adequate, the lounge chairs are comfortable, the food is outstanding, the people are great, the rooms are comfortable – it couldn’t get much better!
“Negatives”: There are no in-room TV’s (which was not a problem for us). No in-room coffee or refrigerator, which would be helpful. The property could use some minor repairs and upgrades.
We would definitely stay here again, and we had such a good time, I may bring my whole family here next year for vacation. We really love it here!

Room Tip: Read the resort's description of the rooms before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The first week of June is a fabulous time to visit Runaway Hill Inn! The weather was perfect - an occasional rain shower, but not too hot yet! Jennifer and her staff really know how to make you feel welcome. My husband and two daughters spent the mornings watching the sunrise while walking the beautiful beach and the afternoons discovering the island or just laying around the inn being completely lazy. The food Krishna prepares is absolutely some of the best on the island! For either breakfast, lunch or dinner there is something for every age or picky palate to enjoy and savor. Wonderful waffles topped with loads of whipped cream and fresh berries, fluffy omelets and scrambled eggs, lean and light fish tacos or flavorful conch chowder for lunch and a catch of the day dinner followed by banana toffee pie were some of our favorites. Take your favorite book and enjoy one of the many beautiful spots to read and relax. You will not be disappointed vacationing at the Runaway Hill Inn.

Room Tip: We were in two of the rooms in the main house on the main floor. Its an inn, so don't freak if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were searching for a Carribean location for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay away from big resorts and crowded beaches. Priorities were great food and a beautiful beach (my husband loves to stay in the water for hours!). We found a travelchannel video on Harbour Island and were immediately drawn to the quaint nature of the island and features on the amazing food. There are three resorts/hotels on the Pink Sand (atlantic) side of the beach. We decided on Runaway Hill based on a review on trip advisor that sounded like it was just what we were looking for and the review was spot on. The other ones- Pink Sands and Coral Sands are a bit bigger and more fancy. Runaway Hill seemed a bit more quaint.

The Inn has about 10 rooms- we stayed in the Alice Emily room which has a gorgeous ocean view and is connected to the main bar and dining room by a short walk across the patio. The room was perfect- comfortable bed, great bathroom and shower, twice daily room servicing, and a short walk down the stairs past the pool to get to the beach. We had initially inquired about the two small private cottages, but the owner recommended the Alice Emily for the view and location- we were glad he did. The two cottages are great but are situated right behind the main house and don't have as good ocean views.

The highlight of the inn was the people. Jennifer, the owner's sister and one of the managers of the property, made sure every need was met. The entire hotel staff knew us by name, and everyone was genuinely polite and helpful. The other incredible aspect of Runaway Hill was the food- Harbour Island is known for its great restaurants and we ate at pretty much every one of them. But we had our best meals at the Runaway. All the food on Harbour Island is generally pretty expensive, but once you accept that and embrace the incredible meals, it is a foodie's dream. Runaway Hill was on par expense-wise with all the other recommended restaurants on the island.

In general, I can't recommend Harbour Island enough. If you are looking for perfect beaches, great food, impeccable hospitality and a quiet location, you can't beat it, especially for a honeymoon. Other highlights of the week:

Goombay Smash (the local fruity frozen drink)
A massage by Claudine (any resort will know her)
Breakfast at Arthur's (have to try the french toast)
Lunch at Sip Sip (any of the daily specials are incredible but the lobster quesadilla is to die for)
Driving around the island in golf carts (you definitely will want to rent one)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Runaway for our honeymoon in May 2014. We checked in on a Monday and were greeted by Justin and our complementary welcome drink (Goombay Smash!!). We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, so Justin let us into another room to change and we headed out to the beach. The pool and beach in front of the hotel were top notch. Beautiful pink sand and clear blue water. We came back up a little later to get another drink and Justin let us into our room (#3). The room was perfect and we even had our own private patio that overlooked the ocean. We didn't have great views of the ocean due to the trees and plants, but it was still a gorgeous view, especially with a cup of coffee in the morning. Paul, one of the owners, was there during our stay and was extremely accomodating, setting up in-room massages for us and even hosting a little cocktail hour during a NHL game (appetizers and a drink on the house). There were only two other couples staying at the hotel the first few days we were there and we all became fast friends. We stayed for 9 nights and therefore really got to experience everything on the island - Valentine's for drinks, dancing, and dinner; Queen Conch for lunch (unfortunately they were out of Conch Salad both times we went there); Harry O's; Ma Ruby's; The Landing; Rock House; Runaway Hill (awesome food - got the Roasted Butternut Squash bowl for breakfast - amazing; sandwiches and salads for lunch; seafood crepes for dinner were fantastic, a little rich, but so good). We dove with Valentine's - thanks Shane and George!

The staff at Runaway was amazing, they knew us all by name and were so friendly. Justin, Vernon, Vonnie, Donna, etc., thanks for a great trip! And thanks to Jennifer and Paul for being so welcoming.

Room Tip: We loved room #3. It was just off the dining room, but had a private patio with views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just the most wonderful place as stunning views of the sea, and the hotel staff so friendly and helpful. Maybe candles on tables inside restaurant as well as outside to give cosier feel - and why music when there is the sound of the waves - most people come here for the tranquility and just to relax. But I would definitely love to return - quite a unique spot. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my third time staying at Runaway Hill in the past 2 years and it continues to succeed my expectations. It is the perfect vacation spot, tucked away on the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas. The accommodations are amazing - I have never slept better in my life. The staff is so incredibly welcoming and attentive. Jennifer and her staff make every guest feel special and relaxed at all times of day! The food is impeccable...so amazing. Chef Kirshna made me look forward to each course of every meal.

Hands down the best vacation spot in the world. I would recommend this island, this hotel and this restaurant to anyone seeking the PERFECT VACATION SPOT.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a simple wonderful hotel. Very comfortable....not a lot of frills.
No TV, except in main building which I liked. Rooms do have wifi.
The Beach is simply gorgeous....
The hotel itself is a little tired could use some TLC....but all the same very comfortable.
The food is quite good.
The only thing I wish is that someone would come offer drinks and/or lunch on the beach or by the pool.
Also, pool tables never cleaned from children's sticky drinks....Staff couldn't be nicer, but need some guidance.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Runaway Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Hill Club

Address: Box EL 27031 | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runaway Hill Club Hotel Harbour Island
Runaway Hill Club Bahamas/Harbour Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Hill Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.