We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection All Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Hill Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harbour Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runaway Hill Club
Save
You added Runaway Hill Club to your Saves list
Box EL 27031 | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Harbour Island
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my third time staying at Runaway Hill in the past 2 years and it continues to succeed my expectations. It is the perfect vacation spot, tucked away on the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas. The accommodations are amazing - I have never slept better in my life. The staff is so incredibly welcoming and attentive. Jennifer and her staff make every guest feel special and relaxed at all times of day! The food is impeccable...so amazing. Chef Kirshna made me look forward to each course of every meal.

Hands down the best vacation spot in the world. I would recommend this island, this hotel and this restaurant to anyone seeking the PERFECT VACATION SPOT.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a simple wonderful hotel. Very comfortable....not a lot of frills.
No TV, except in main building which I liked. Rooms do have wifi.
The Beach is simply gorgeous....
The hotel itself is a little tired could use some TLC....but all the same very comfortable.
The food is quite good.
The only thing I wish is that someone would come offer drinks and/or lunch on the beach or by the pool.
Also, pool tables never cleaned from children's sticky drinks....Staff couldn't be nicer, but need some guidance.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this very special place. I stayed for a week and ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at Runaway Hill and loved every meal. All the food is fresh and flavorful and there is a great variety of dishes to choose from. The staff treats you like family and I looked forward to seeing Chris and Donna each morning for my cup of coffee! Runaway Hill makes for a relaxing and comfortable environment and I plan on visiting again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

One of the best places I've stayed. Ever. Our room was private and overlooked the beach. The pool is comforting and fascinating. There are always towels. There are always drinks. The beach was enticing and the staff relaxing.

Beware the golf carts.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're looking for and let them pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I just wanted to take the time to comment on one of the nicest resort vacations I've ever spent. The beautiful Harbour Island beaches and perfect weather certainly were major factors. On top of this, the staff and service at the Runaway Hill Club was outstanding. I felt more like being welcomed into their family than just a guest. The staff, from the management to the cleaning folks, were all great!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the ocean sky. A wonderful way to wake up each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent a fantastic day on the water with Caption Rich Hellmuth on the Wani Kanati! Fifty-five feet of pure fishing machine. Everything aboard was first-rate and Capt. Rich and his first-mate Jordi (sp?) were very knowledgeable and knew where the fish were. We caught a boat-load of Mahi Mahi, had a tuna on -- that became an appetizer for a white-tip shark -- and several barracudas. The day was fantastic and could not have been better. A day that we'll talk about for the rest of our lives. Thank you -

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Staying at Runaway you feel as if you're at a small private club with a great relaxed - island- atmosphere! The staff makes you feel truly at home, always with a smile on their face. We stayed for ten days and loved every minute! During our stay we visited most of the other Island's restaurants, but always came back to Runaway for the best meals. Runaway's 'locally grown' chef Krishna always prepared an excellent meal with a great island flavor. We truly loved our stay and Jennifer, the manager, made us feel like family. We could not of asked for anything more!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Runaway Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Hill Club

Address: Box EL 27031 | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runaway Hill Club Hotel Harbour Island
Runaway Hill Club Bahamas/Harbour Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Hill Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.