We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay on Briland at Runaway Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Hill Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harbour Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runaway Hill Club
Save
You added Runaway Hill Club to your Saves list
Box EL 27031 | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Harbour Island
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay on Briland at Runaway Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Runaway Hill for 6 nights at the beginning of June. We absolutely loved every second of our stay. Everyone at RHC were so personable and took so much pride in the resort. The rooms were beautiful - simple but elegant. The pink sand beach was only a couple of steps away!! We ate at the restaurant daily - either breakfast, lunch or dinner...and sometimes all three. The new Chef did a wonderful job with all of our meals - clearly I recommend any/all fish dishes (since it's caught daily)...but everything we ate was top notch. The owner, Jen, is fantastic. We had a great time getting to know her and the entire team. They have the ability to help you plan additional "excursions" in/around the island. For the most part we just sat and relaxed on the beach and in the ocean in the mornings and then spent time at the pool most afternoons....very relaxing.
I can't recommend this place enough...

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have an ocean view - most of them have a large front porch & a sundeck a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Traveling to Harbour Island by boat, we took a break for a few days at this lovely hotel. We had dined there on past trips, and always said we would return as resort guests. We enjoyed a room on the top floor of the main building, which featured a private deck overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Despite being located over the restaurant and bar area, our room was not noisy, just as promised by our wonderful host and manager Jennifer. We are seasoned travelers, and seldom have we enjoyed such warm, friendly and personal service -- everything we expected and more from a fellow Canadian! Over breakfast she shared ideas about things to see, where to dine, and how to get the most from the beach and coral reefs just offshore. At dinner (which is consistently excellent, thanks to another Canuck, Chef Luc) we heard about the history of the resort, and where to head for dancing and fun in Dunsmore Town. All to say that we will return to Runaway Hill again soon, and can't wait for that trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor, but felt compelled to after spending an exceptional week at Runaway Hill. I have never been on a beach vacation where we had more bad weather than good and still had a magical time!! Everything you have read about Jennifer is true, she is an amazing host... She is warm, friendly, helpful and makes you feel as though you are a guest in her own home. The staff at every level are helpful, friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make you feel welcome and fulfill any requests you have, and always with a smile on their faces. Runaway Hill is small, total chill and laid back, the grounds are beatifully landscaped, the rooms and villas are comfortable, cozy and warm. The common areas are relaxing and well done and of course the beach is beyond description with its turqoise waters and white (soft like flour) sand. It seems that wherever you are on the hotel grounds you are seeing the beuaty of the water, the beach, a sunrise or a sunset. Their is a small and refreshing pool with great views and many comfortable places on the grounds to grab a hammock or a chair for a good book. The food at Runaway Hill is also exceptional, the new chief who happens to be a charming Bahamian young lady is talented and prepares delicous and creative food. While on our stay Jen had a number of her family members in house including her parents, two brothers and a number of nephews, it was great getting to know and spend a bit of time with them all as they are all great peeps!!

Harbour Island has a number of places to choose from, however on the beach side you have Pink Sands, Coral Sands and The Dunmore. Runaway Hill is the most unique of all and will always be the place that I stay. Make sure to rent your golf cart (for getting around the island) from Mike, he is great and gives a fair deal. Their are a number of fantastic restaurants on the Island, for lunch the best is Sip Sip next door to Runaway Hill, also down on the dock check out Queen Conch and Harry O`s, great local food and cheap. For dinner Aqua Pazza, The Landing, The Rock House and of course Runaway Hill.

If you are looking to get away from it all Harbour Island and Runaway Hill is your escape, no T.V, cars, noise traffic and the RUM is killer!!

Say hi to Mom and Dad, Paul and Mark, hope the fishing was awesome!

Thanks Jen, you are the best Cori and I cannot wait to see you soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thanks to Jen and her wonderful crew for making our stay a perfect blend of relaxation and fun! Justin makes the best vodka gimlet, Donna gives a very good reading of the map as far as what we should do, Shelly brought delicious breakfast with a warm smile, Jay was a most willing driver and all around provider of whatever we needed. Definitely will return to this most laid back but proper Inn set right on a lovely stretch of soft beach. Couldn't have been a better vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Thank you Jen for your extraordinary hospitality, we had a wonderful experience at Runaway Hill. The room was sumptuous, the bathing products luscious, the food fantastic, the service second to none. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were high quality and lovely. We were made to feel like invited guests rather than paying customers and I know we weren't alone in feeling that way, Jennifer has a gift for hospitality! The attention to detail in this hotel reflects the fact that the owners and their extended family use the property for their own enjoyment at certain times of the year. I highly recommend this location for anyone wanting quality, comfort, and a little pampering, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the last room with the view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My trip to Harbour Island, Bahamas was made so much better because of my decision to stay at Runaway Hill. Not only was the beach the prettiest beach I have ever been to but the staff at Runaway Hill made me feel like I was right at home. Jennifer Messier, the co-manager at Runaway, catered to my every need and then some. She is one of the best entertainers that I've ever met. I recommend a trip to Harbour Island to everyone but especially to stay at Runaway Hill if you want the best possible trip!
Thank you to all the staff and especially Jennifer Messier for making that the best vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is great and the owner, Jen even better. The environment is ultra casual and relaxing. There are fancier hotels on the island that charge much higher prices but for our money, Runaway Hill was a great choice for our family. The food is very good, the rooms a touch dated but perfectly fine and comfortable and the service is exceptional. They know how to make their guests feel right at home. It's location on the beach is amazing and makes for a delightful stay. We highly recommend!!

Room Tip: The rooms that border the driveway can be noisy due to the gas powered golf carts driving by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Runaway Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Hill Club

Address: Box EL 27031 | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runaway Hill Club Hotel Harbour Island
Runaway Hill Club Bahamas/Harbour Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Hill Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.