We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ma Ruby is worth the price of admission...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tingum Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tingum Village Hotel to your Saves list
Tingum Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Colebrook St. | P.O. Box 61, Harbour Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuart, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ma Ruby is worth the price of admission...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

...this is a no frills hotel that is a perfectly fine budget place to stay on this very expensive island. Everyone was more or less stressed out when I checked in, as preparations were being made for a big 4th of July party. Ask for the room with the stone wall... I shared a common wall with that room and it looked very cool. Ma Ruby is ever present, and a joy to talk to! The cheeseburger is really quite good. It was hot, so I was thankful for a working room a/c. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 because we arrived a day earlier at Harbour Island and didn't want to pay $450/night at our prebooked hotel at Coral Sands. We stayed at one of the rooms on the 2nd floor with its own tub in the room, which we didn't use. As soon as we came in, we were greeted with a stinky smell from the room but we thought it was just because the room hasn't been aired out and besides the smell, the room and bathroom were clean so we took it. Turns out the stinky smell was from the refrigerator (there was a small kitchen in the room) because the fridge is unplugged if no one is staying in the room. We plugged in the fridge and the smell was gone the next day although we were already leaving by then. It was no big deal.

The room had a small terrace with 2 chairs and a table overlooking the backyard and the neighbor's backyard. It was very quaint, pretty and homey. The downside of being so close to the neighbor are the roosters that did their cock-a-doodle shout out nonstop the next morning from 7 am until about 10:00 am. From 7 to 9, my husband and I slept with our ipods on. THAT was annoying. We have stayed at Caribbean hotels before where we hear the roosters but I think because the roosters this time had a perch to sit on, which was at the same level as our 2nd floor room, the noise was deafening. I am a very deep sleeper and slept through a fire alarm once in undergrad but this was something else.

We didn't use the kitchen but it seemed pretty clean. It would be a good option to have if you don't want to spend a lot of money on meals, which can add up at Harbour Island.

The bed was a little on the hard side but the worst part was how small it was. It's an American full size so my husband ended up rolling over to my arm/shoulder every few times during the night. The floors were relatively clean. Housekeeping is what you expect from a 2-3 star hotel.

The bathrooms were relatively clean, with broken faucets and water stains on the shower, which were an eyesore, but if you can ignore those, the bathroom works just fine. The shower takes a while to get a good water pressure and water temperature up but again, not so bad.

We did not eat at the hotel but the conch fritters are among the best we have tasted. We hung out with Ma Ruby, owner of the hotel who must be about 70 years old, and that was fun. She was awarded a medal by Queen Elizabeth (I think for tourism) and there are pictures by the bar of this occasion. She spoke about her children and how accomplished most of them are. It was like listening to a rambling of your grandmother. We especially loved the check in lady, Jill, for her enthusiasm when she checked us in. Note that if you pay in cash, you avoid the 5% surcharge.

The village is located on the main street, within walking distance to the nightclubs and restaurants so that was good. Do rent a golf cart during your stay, however, as it will give you the freedom to go out at night and explore the rest of the island. Walking around the island at night, no matter how close you are to the clubs/bars, isn't as much fun as driving a golf cart home. Rent is $40-60 per day, depending on size of the carts.

There is no swimming pool or fitness center in this village.

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you want a view. 1st floor if you want a big terrace with seats to sip coffee on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saronno
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We went there following a local suggestion, but very unsatisfactory. The menu already with little variety did not have half of the food indicated. The rest was all forzen. Asked the cook and he said he had no raccomandation (and he was right), becasue everithing had the same taste. May be once was a good restaurant, but now forget it. Price also very high. At least if it was cheap...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed here in September as part of a group activity (we took over all the rooms and then some). My understanding is that they had just reopened after Hurricane Irene had come through but you could hardly notice. If you're looking for a super fancy, 5 star, this isn't the place for you -- but if you want to support a local, family run business; meet fantastic people and truly feel like you have a home away from home, this is the place the place to go. My room was just adorable, full whirlpool tub, comfortable bed, small kitchenette and sofa area, plus a fantastic huge porch, with lattice work all around. Juanita is incredibly friendly, welcoming and a huge sports fan. Be sure to look around the lobby/bar area at all the amazing photos and listen to the stories. This is the kind of place people come back to year after year and Juanita and her family are the reason. You can rent golf carts there (and when your group is so big that all the golf cars are rented, Juanita tracks down the other companies that rent golf carts, even though they are on vacation! and gets more golfcarts for you!). You can walk from the back of the resort about 2-3 blocks distance and be on the beautiful beach (it's a big jungle like to get there, so get good directions!) or take the golf cart over to one of the public access areas and walk down. The words beautiful, amazing, awesome don't begin to describe the beach, words simply won't do it justice.

Go to Harbour Island, go to Tingum Village, and just relax and have a fantastic, amazing time.

Room Tip: I loved my room, Cat Island. It's like having your own little hideaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at Tingum Village recently for a special tour and we were treated like family! Juanita was so friendly and accomodating to our whole group. Our room was very comfortable and clean. As others have stated, this is not your 5 star resort but in my opinion, this is a good thing as it is a complete escape from reality! Tingum Village is simply charming and a great place for some r&r. If you are looking for complete relaxation, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Tingum Village was a great stay on Harbour Island - the owners were extremely friendly and very helpful! Rooms were air conditioned and comfortable/spacious. It was also nice to have no TV - very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy2009
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Hi,

We stayed at the Tingum hotel for 5 nights and loved it. Ma Ruby and Wanita were the perfect hosts and made our stay really enjoyable.

The hotel is located less than 5 minutes away from the pink sand beaches and can organise eveything you may need on the island.

Although this is not a 5* hotel what they lack in the latest appliances they make up in service and attention to detail.

p.s. You must have one of Ma Ruby's homemade burgers... damn they are good!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tingum Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingum Village Hotel

Address: Colebrook St. | P.O. Box 61, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tingum Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of lush garden and steps away from the Pink Sandy Beaches of historic Dunmore Town Harbour Island, Bahamas, is an hidden village that can only be best described as a 'Tropical Paradise" called Tingum Village Hotel. A family owed operated Bare foot elegance offers a one, two or three bed room bungalow. Owned and operated by the Percentie Family lead by legendary Ruby Hanna Percentie, MBE. "Ma Ruby" greets you with her welcoming smile and says "Welcome Home". Tingum Village Hotel offers and open honor bar as your second home. Perfect for the traveler looking for a long term rentals, reading/writing in our swinging hammocks. Backpackers or families who are looking for an authentic Island experience. A Honey monomer's hide out. Ma Ruby's Restaurant has signature Jimmy Buffet " Cheeseburger in Paradise" and serves organic vegetarian and native dishes daily. Your catch of the day can be prepared at for your liking at sunset. Operated by Juanita Ma Ruby's daughter and friendly staff has listened to customers concerns and request and have captured the true essence of an authentic Bahamian experience and renovated in 2013. Tingum Village Hotel is located 50 miles from Florida and 15 minutes away from the capital Nassau, Bahamas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tingum Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tingum Village Hotel Bahamas/Harbour Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tingum Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.