We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Round House Inn, welcome to Barbados” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Round House Inn

Save Saved
You added Round House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Round House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Highway Z, Bathsheba, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Guadeloupe
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Round House Inn, welcome to Barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you're looking for a place where everything is perfect, search an other location...
If you're looking for a place to meet barbadians, have a good sleep earing the waves, have sweet times with people inside and outside the bar or the hotel, Round House Inn is the right place.
Come to be coooool, no stress and you will have a good time, if you come stressed, and you're looking for perfection, you will have a bad time. If you need something you will find someone to give you tip in simple way
If you're a surfer, it's a very good place, just go on the balcony or open your windows to check Soup Bowl & Co.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This 2nd generation, family run beach restaurant/hotel is truly special! But, as I read through some of the negative reviews on the Road House and more specifically the service, I have to ask the question - what do people expect from a remote and very old surfing village that doesn’t even have an ATM or gas station? I am not from Barbados and this was my first trip to this magnificent island, but I have travelled extensively around the world in style as well as in just board shorts/sandals. I feel that I have an absolute understanding to what is proper accommodation and service for the location/price. In my personal opinion, it comes with the territory that the ultra-relaxed attitude of local worker is part of the experience when you are in this type of environment. I think it’s a bit ridiculous to be so harsh on an establishment that is priced very reasonable in comparison to other restaurants/hotels on the island.

With all of that said, I stayed at the Round House in room 4 for 7 nights in late August 2012. I can honestly say that my experience could have not been more pleasurable. My room was particularly clean and comfortable for the modest price I paid. I never felt that my passport, wallet, computer and iPad were ever at danger to be stolen, which is something I can rarely say in other remote regions I have previously travelled. The views, beaches, surfing and sunrises/sunsets were all awe inspiring. The staff felt more like a group of friends rather than the sometimes awkward hotel staff you find at hotels. They were very accommodating to my every need. The restaurant was absolutely fine for the price, sure they were sometimes slow but who cares…seriously?! This is not a 5 star restaurant in New York. I also chose to eat at a few high end restaurants during my stay and can say that the increase in service was not relative to the increase in price.

If you are considering staying at Bathsheba, then the Round House is a fantastic option. If you are just stopping through on a day trip, then be prepared to relax, soak up the calm energy and have a nice simple meal with a few banks beers or your favorite libation.

Room Tip: Get room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Despite all the negative reviews that the Round House receives; this place truly is a gem on earth. The impressive vistas just beg you to behold them, and when you are not beholding the impressive natural beauty; the mind is yearning to take a look again. The restaurant serves the most delicious zucchini bread and the BBQ chicken and blackened shark is absolutely mouth watering. Visitors will appreciate the natural charm and the rustic appeal of the place. You can never please all men ,someone will always have something negative to say, but at the end of the day; beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, and this is unequivocally a beautiful place, and when appetite kicks in after all the beauty— there are sumptuous Caribbean meals and cold BANKS beer! One guy's impression? Impressed and fully sated. The Round House compliments the Bathsheba experience nicely. As a further observation; I think the morale of the staff could do with a boost, but they were all certainly willing to please. Kevin (one of the managers) is also an amazing guy! ( Makes the best natural fruit smoothies on earth! )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have been to Barbados twice. Each time a trip to Bathsheba was a part of the plan and enjoyed. Round House had been seen on tripadvisor and an instant attraction was felt...and lunch was the right time of day for us to be there.

We had no reservation. The restaurant was busy, but the wait staff found a table for us...First time on the terrace, second inside in front of a window. The Breeze is lovely and welcome as lunchtime is a peak time for Sun too. Menus provided quickly and drinks magically appeared. The waitress noticed I was more than a little warm and brought a cold towel to the table for me. Now that is above and beyond!

We shared the Flying fish plate as an appetizer and it was delicious. Fish and chicken mains tasty, as was the breadfruit chips. Coconut pie yummy. Perhaps as I am a New York native the prices did not seem terrible....high yes, but then any place we ate in Barbados was expensive so not shocking that this was too and was known from reading the reviews.

Service was slow, but friendly and as these trips were vacation, no rush needed.Felt very comfortable with just chilling out, staff did not rush us. Was nice to sit and linger over our bottle of wine, while the heat of the day dissipated. Not a place to eat on the run, but then why would you want to?

I liked it so much that I asked for a tour of the rooms above. The manager was more than informative and showed all to me..Each different, small, lovely, and the views....WOW..Not a plastic shiny place.... charming is the right description.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time here. Everyone we met was very friendly & helpful. If you are looking for AC, TV, nightlife, etc., this one isn't for you (although we actually had internet for parts of the day). We're early risers so loved getting up with the sun. We stopped at a market before going to Bathsheba as we read about the east side off season, and our room had a small working fridge just perfect for cocktails & beer, juices, fruit & muffins. The manager asked us when we would be dining to make sure they were prepared if we were going to be there for meals, so it worked well for all, I think. Truly are beautiful views, and the lighted deck from room #3 is great for hanging out at night playing cribbage and drinking rum. Also great for being able to watch my husband surf and still be on the deck reading a book. The one warning I would have is mosquitoes -- they seem to eat Cutters, Deep Woods off, anything I put on. Being only shutters on the windows & skylights, it's wonderful sleeping listening to the ocean with the breeze, but not so much getting chewed, not so bad with the wind, but couldn't count on the wind. We had rain part of every day, so prepare for damp if rain is in the forecast. Would recommend it like we did it, a few days here, then over to the other side with the sand beaches and pools. Loved both.

Room Tip: Room 3 was great, large shared deck, great views, seemed better than private deck on room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
386 helpful votes 386 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I agree wholeheartedly with the previous review. The Round House Inn enjoys the most fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean but seems to rely solely on this advantage.
Our original email enquiry was dealt with in an un-business like manner but the only other hotel close by, The Atlantic, was full and we particularly wanted to stay on the East coast of Barbados.
Our room (room 3) was on the shabby side with a bed far too large for the space. Manoeuvering round the bed was difficult and there was no space for our luggage (one small suitcase). An oldish fridge was sitting on one of the bedside tables and the shower cubicle was virtually in the bedroom. Any electrical appliances had to be run from an extension cable found under the bed. There was an acute shortage of hot water and the bed and its linen had seen better days.
The large deck was not private, it could be accessed by guests from other rooms and it did not have any sunloungers on it as shown in the pictures on the hotel website. The dipping pool was a foot bath (please see photos). The deck had some wooden chairs on it which were adorned with old clothes that must have been left by past guests. On the floor were some unsavoury items such as used Q tips. It obviously had not been swept for a while and did not get swept while we were there.
The rate does not include breakfast and the breakfast provided was adequate, no more. Dinner was fine, not memorable.
The whole place felt unloved and uncared for. Locals were drinking in the bar at 9.00 am. The owner hid in the office, never once coming out to say 'Hello'. The check-in and out was slow and unprofessional. Our room did not get cleaned during our stay. The staff was adequate but could do with more guidance and training with regard to service.
What was most disappointing is that this small hotel could be so much better. It only requires a really good clean, some better linen and some better trained staff. It seems as though the owners have lost their enthusiasm and it shows big time.
What did we like? the wonderful sea breezes, the magnificent views, its location away from the touristy side of the island and some of the old furniture in the reception area. Would we recommend? Unfortunately, NO.

Room Tip: Perhaps room 4 as it has a private deck. However, we did not see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in February and were amazed at how unprofessional everything was. Our room was not cleaned, nor the bed made, for two days and it appeared as if nobody really cared.
The general cleanliness of the dining room was not good. The food was OK but one day I asked for a fruit salad at breakfast and got mainly apple and banana - this is Barbados, so where was the real fruit ? We paid $175 for our room which was vastly overpriced and although I loved the situation of the building it would take me a long time to return. I feel that the owners have lost interest and it needs a huge infusion of $$$, and enthusiasm, to get it back to what it obviously was a while ago. A great disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Round House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House Inn

Address: Highway Z, Bathsheba, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Round House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the ruggedly beautiful Bathsheba beach on the untouched East Coast of Barbados, this hidden retreat is a must for those seeking surf and relaxation a little off the beaten path.Located in historic Bathsheba on the rugged east coast of Barbados, Round House has been a popular destination for locals and visitors alike for over 100 years. Built in the early 1800’s, the property offers commanding views of the entire Atlantic coast, a unique scenic environment and an undisturbed stretch of beach studded with natural tidal pools located just a one-minute walk down the sand to "Soup Bowl", one of the world's premier surf spots.Round House houses a historic inn featuring four architecturally-unique rooms with unparalleled views, and a bustling restaurant and bar serving Continental Caribbean cuisine with indoor and outdoor seating and some of the best views on the island. With its unique history, great food, friendly people and mellow vibe, Round House is a locals' favourite year-round and the spot frequent travelers to the island return to again and again to be greeted like old friends... with its unique hilltop perch providing a breathtaking panorama of Bathsheba and its pounding surf, it is also a “must-do” part of every first-time visitor's Barbados experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Round House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round House Inn Barbados/Bathsheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.