We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea-U Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea-U Guest House to your Saves list
Sea-U Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Direct Booking Disc.
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Sea-u guest house is in my opinion the best place to stay on the east coast. its not commercialised at all, its also probably the best value for money in terms of accommodation and they also provide a 3 course dinner for 30 USD which compared to everywhere else on the island is very reasonable.
The staff are super friendly and extremely helpful, one staff member Stacey even came to collect us after hours 45 minuets away from the guest house as we were lost-THANK YOU STACEY!
Sea cat makes a fuss of you on arrival with a coconut drink cut fresh from the tree as a welcome gift.
The only thing I can fault with sea-u is that if you choose to have dinner with them you have to sit with everyone else staying there, he tables around you are empty so not sure why you cant have a private meal (it would be nice to have the option).
other than that all very good service and lovely clean rooms.
RECOMEND GETTING A SAT NAV FOR THIS AREA!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UschiW, Owner at Sea-U Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we try always to make your experience with us unforgettable and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Our family-style dining is part of our unique charm as one of the few B&Bs on the island and it also helps us maintain our dinner value rather than having to serve individual tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    61
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
155
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Rustic charm.Good home cooked food.Friendly people.Lovely setting.What more could you want?Go to sleep to the sound of the waves and the chirrup of the tree frogs,lovely walks,just a perfect get-away!

Room Tip: We stayed in a self-contained bungalow, but you can also stay in the main house,all verandas look ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Love this place! The relaxing atmosphere and beautiful view of the water on the island made you want to crawl in one of their hammocks and stay there forever. Staff were friendly but did not intrude. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family just returned from a wonderful week at Sea-U. We took our adult children to Barbados for Christmas and wanted a place that was reasonably priced where we could just hang out and relax together. Sea-U was perfect. We loved eating breakfast together as we looked out through the palm trees onto the ocean. We sat together on the porch outside our rooms in the comfortable adirondack chairs or in the sun on the lounge chairs and drank rum punch. A rental car helped us access the rest of the island which we loved exploring together. Lunch at the Round House and dinner or beers at The Garage, a local bar, added to our experience. The east coast is wild and windy but a great place to get away from all the tourists and experience Barbados.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I got engaged in Barbados 38 years ago. This was our first trip back, this time with the results of our engagement, our 30-something children. They said it was the best Christmas they've ever had, and my wife and I agree. Sea U is an extraordinary place, on the quiet side of the island. Sea U is tranquil, gorgeous, wonderfully maintained, lovely rooms; with very good food, scenery that is sometimes mind-blowing, and the staff provides excellent service. They even found us a car when the company we originally rented from said "sorry" two days before we arrived. Sea U made our vacation a real vacation, a real treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it had been for longer! Our studio room in the cottage was furnished to a very high standard and we could see and hear the waves on the shore below. Breakfast was very good and we also ate here in the small restaurant one night. Honesty bar available. The Atlantis Hotel is a 5 minute walk down the hill if you want to eat out - also very good. If you don't have a hire car, local buses to Bridgetown and Speightstown run every hour or so from a bus stop 5 mins up the hill. Also within walking distance are the Andromeda Botanical Gardens. Excellent value for money and makes a pleasant change from the wall-to-wall resorts on the southwest coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sea U Guesthouse on our honeymoon. We knew we wanted to spend the trip surfing and away from touristy areas, so Sea U really fit the bill!
The grounds are beautiful , and overlook Tent Bay... We had a room in the building below the main house and it was perfect : decently sized for the both of us with a comfortable bed with mosquito net, which was useful! Our room was equipped with AC, but we didn't use it once as the ocean breeze coupled with the ceiling fan cooled the room nicely in the evening. The balcony was the best part of the room and we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves as we visited the Guest House in the off-season and the room beside ours was vacant.

The staff might have been the best part. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We LOVED Sea Cat, the groundskeeper - maintenance - all around helpful guy. Sometimes when you travel you meet really great / memorable people and he is definitely one of them...My husband and I looked forward to our daily conversations with him. He was also a helpful surf guide having been one of the first local surfers on the Island back in the day .

Location couldn't have been better for us ... The surf breaks Parlors and Soup Bowls were just a 10 second drive away (we definitely could have just walked down the hill to Parlors - haha) and we really loved the slow pace of this part of the Island. Some really beautiful beaches are just a short drive away and it's more than likely that you'll have those beaches to yourself. But, if you're craving more things to do then it's easy to get to other parts of the Island provided you have a car. We went to the West Coast and South Coast many times to surf and eat and it never took us more than 40 minutes to get anywhere.

Not many restaurants / shops in Bathsheba area, but there's a great little lunch spot ( I think it was called Sand Bar) just a 10 minute drive from the Guesthouse... There's also a great little local spot in Martin's Bay just south of the Guest house. Round House , which is right by Soup Bowls , also has good food.

The only disappointment in our entire stay at Sea U was the breakfast..... Don't get me wrong, it is nice to have breakfast included with the stay and the dining area is lovely, but I would have expected more. It was nice to have the option of eggs cooked to order, but there really wasn't much else that was appealing: fruit, some days a meat option ( I'm a vegetarian, but I think there was sausage available and bacon as well), bread for toast, and some banana bread that was not home-made. ... The fruit never seemed very fresh and was cut into very small pieces.. The poor quality of breakfast ultimately informed our decision not to have dinner at the Guest House.

BUT this in no way would prevent us from returning, as we will definitely stay at the Guest House the next time we come to Barbados!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UschiW, Owner at Sea-U Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to know that our guest have a wonderful time whenever they visit. Your wonderful comments will be passed onto the staff especially the infamous Seacat.
We try our best to make our guest comfortable, it would have been helpful if you had told us at breakfast if there was anything else you missed because you are a vegetarian. It would not have been a problem.

The banana bread and coconut bread we serve here is made and baked right here in our kitchen. The recipe below is what our cook uses you can try it for yourself.

BANANA BREAD

1 egg
1 cup brown sugar
2 TB butter or margarine
Bajan spice or cinnamon powder
2 cups flour
2 T baking powder
water
5 or 6 crushed bananas
3 TB Bajan mixed essence or
1 T vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients and make a dough,
then fill into a square baking pan
and bake for 1 hour at 180 Celsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea-U Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-U Guest House

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea-U Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic and affordable bed & breakfast at the lush east coast.Sea-U is tucked within a lush tropical garden along the seaside slopes of the village of Bathsheba on the east coast of Barbados, the most natural side of the island. Here you can enjoy unspoiled beaches, breathtaking views and mingle with locals. Uschi Wetzels, owner and manager and fell in love with Bathsheba and its friendly people, while working on a Barbados travel guide for a German editor.With hammocks strung between coconut palms, the Atlantic Ocean waves breaking against massive limestone boulders. Sea-U is a place for those who are looking for a decidedly significant change of pace from a busy life.The main house and the cottage are built in a traditional island style out of wood with large patios. The 9 rooms are decorated with mahogany furniture, louver window treatments, rattan chairs, locally handcrafted clay lamps and batik art. Sea-Us welcoming staff provides knowledgeable information.The atmosphere is relaxed, and guests quickly become friends. Green globe certified, close to Andromeda Botanical Gardens and world class surfing at Soup bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sea-U Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-u Guest House Hotel Bathsheba
Sea-U Guest House Barbados/Bathsheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea-U Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.