We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andromeda Botanic Gardens

Andromeda Botanic Gardens
HWY 3, Bathsheba, Barbados
+1 246-433-9454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Bathsheba
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Getting married, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wonderful collection of plants with a relaxing pond at the heart of these historic Gardens. Journey through these Gardens at your leisure and marvel at the vision of its creator, Iris Bannochie. A plant-lovers' paradise. A unique place to visit, get married, picnic or hire for you own special event. Andromeda Botanic Gardens -sustainable, beautiful, unforgettable.
Herrenberg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the Andromeda Botanic Gardens very much. It is a quite garden where you can see that the people who opened it to the public love nature.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    56
    19
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must for any plant lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife & I visited these gardens on a recent trip to Barbados.
The gadens are amazing & well worth the 25B$ entrance charge.
There is a cool snack bar in which we sat drinking our ice cool fruit juices.
There are good paths but some are quite steep so you need good legs.
One of the highlights of our holiday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well-designed with outstanding plantings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a warm day at noon so I walked fast through this gorgeous Garden. Their are two tracks one with lettered sites and one with numbered sites. In all it should take about two hours to see both at a moderate walking speed. The terrain is hilly and rocky but the paths are cleared. For the most part, the presentation is of mature plants native to Barbados from trees to ground cover. Many plants were flowering so the image was colorful and the air fragrant. Andromeda is a wonderful old establishment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Paradise on the hill - what a lovely couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I must start by countering some disappointingly negative reviews we read prior to visiting andromeda!

Justifiably we are keen gardeners in our native England and appreciate the splendour of the achievements within this attraction maybepre than non-gardeners. Furthermore, without a GPS the drive to the gardens may have been somewhat trying!! Nevertheless, we saved on the marital driving directions arguments (and stress) by using a GPS to get to andromeda and other east coast attractions.

The souvenir shop lady was very enthusiastic and warm in her introduction and provided the tour cards which were handy to describe the feature plants, shrubs and trees as well as keep us on track with the John and Iris paths - both clearly marked for our enjoyment.

Whilst in our 30's and fit; my wife and I did find the humidity rather intense so do consider this when visiting and pace yourself on some of the steep elements - take time to enjoy the gardens as it can be very warm to navigate.

One pleasant aspect was seeing a gardener providing some in depth info to some fellow American visitors as hoc.

Finally, the souvenir shop is te best quality we've found on the island during our three weeks.

Ensure you schedule a spare thirty mins to absorb the dramatic scape of Bathsheba beach it's immense.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a wonderful visit here this week, the staff were helpful and it is divided into 2 walks and we stopped for a needed drink inbetween. Some amazing plants and trees - well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andromeda Botanic Gardens also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Andromeda Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andromeda Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.