We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately the windward side of the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bathsheba Beach

Bathsheba Beach
Sandy Beach, Christ Church, Barbados, Bathsheba, Barbados
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$68*
and up
Beautiful Barbados Coastal Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Bathsheba
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach offers spectacular views of the island, but watch out if you want to go swimming - strong undercurrents can make swimming here dangerous.
teesside
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Definately the windward side of the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Breath taking views as you drop down the hillside road to the coast. The coast and gigantic rocks make for good photos, be careful about taking pictures of the cute little monkeys, you'll be asked to pay upfront. If you fancy paddling, it's a bit like at Seaton Carew..........(the Atlantic Ocean is as cold as the North Sea!). The wind blow straight off the ocean and a bit too cold sitting about. There are a few vendors with local produce, dotted about the grassy area, you can find the same stuff at the port shopping complex in Bridgetown.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    130
    25
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“beautiful surfing beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

gorgeous scenic beach with great waves, clean restrooms, a few vendors where you can purchase cold drinks or small trinkets

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Wow! What a spot! Simply the most beautiful beach I have ever been to. I'm amazed that it isn't more developed but so pleased that this is the case! This feel like real Barbados. A few locals milling around mainy asleep under palm trees who would lift their heads only to greet us.

We had trouble finding it as our map was poor so allow lots of time and take lots of water as there are not many shops.

We went with our two toddlers and whilst the water is no good for swimming, the children spent hours looking in the rock pools and enjoying all the space on the beach.

As long as you are not a "stuffy west side only" type of person, this place, in my opinion is a must!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery - DO NOT SWIM!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The rugged wind and surf battered East coast is best seen at Bathsheba beach. DO NOT SWIM!!! The currently and tows are savage and not to be messed with! This is a place to enjoy nature's fury and beauty.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

If I had it to do over again, I would stay at Bathsheba. Even though you can't really swim, this area of the island is gorgeous and wild.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bathsheba Beach also viewed

Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Bathsheba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathsheba Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.