We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bathsheba Beach

Bathsheba Beach
Sandy Beach, Christ Church, Barbados, Bathsheba, Barbados
Improve this listing
Visit Bathsheba Beach like an insider
Special Offer
$68*
and up
Beautiful Barbados Coastal Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bathsheba
Activities: Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach offers spectacular views of the island, but watch out if you want to go swimming - strong undercurrents can make swimming here dangerous.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

If I had it to do over again, I would stay at Bathsheba. Even though you can't really swim, this area of the island is gorgeous and wild.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    162
    30
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
strongsville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach spoiled by hustlers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Based on reviews, I wanted to spend time at what was supposed to be one of the prettiest beaches on the island. Our villa attendant warned us not to stay as theft levels are high (you climb down a series of steps to get to the beach and cannot see your vehicle from the beach). Even so, we wanted to see the beach so we went. From the time we got out of our van, a guy wanted to be our "guide" and wouldn't take NO for an answer. He followed us the whole time, making us fairly uncomfortable. Nice beach, not for swimming (sunning or surfing only), but our visit was spoiled by the hustler who wouldn't take NO.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“surf's up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

if you're not a surfer don't stay on the west coast.
it's a very nice part of the Island (the nicest in my opinion) and is a must see. but unless you love doing nothing and reading or Surfing you are better of on the South or West coast.
internationally know as the best surfspot in Barbados this is not a swimming beach, so be very careful when going in the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“On the wild side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

rolling waves and a crowd of surfers to entertain as you sip your wine on the deck.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice for a day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed on the West Coast but took a couple of days to visit the East Coast and Bathsheba was one of our stops. Perfect for our group as the teenage boys and dad hung out at one end of the beach watching the surfers and exploring the rocky part of the beach whereas the teenage girls and mom walked down to the other end and hung out in the coral pools. Beautiful spot, could us some tidying (like many beaches in Barbados) but definitely worth the visit.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bathsheba Beach also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Bathsheba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathsheba Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.