We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence on the east!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellence on the east!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We spent four nights here after a week at Little Good Harbour, Atlantis' sister hotel on the west coast.

We loved The Atlantis! It's just been beautifully renovated and the space feels really happy. We arrived in torrential rain and were so excited to check in and receive a warm welcome. Andrew, the owner, showed us how to use our room's Mac mini (I think!) to watch movies... which was important given the weather.

I've stayed in 1,000s of hotel rooms and this one is in my Top 5... it was huge and luxurious with an AMAZING view out to sea. From the bathrobes to the furnishings, there were so many thoughtful touches that I would have been happy to live in it forever!

The staff at Altantis are terrific and we were sad to say goodbye to them. We enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere so much that we ate just about every meal on the terrace watching the waves.

Bathsheba and the beach are a few minutes walk away along a track . The beach on the east side is stunning - it goes on forever and there are no crowds or resorts in the way (very different from the west coast!)

Even if you don't stay at Atlantis, I'd recommend a trip here to fall in love with the view and eat at the restaurant.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Forget all those Resorts like Crane (Disneyland), Coral Reef (Retirement Home) Atlantis is authentic and chic place to stay. The owner Andrew rebuilt it from the original Hotel from 1880. The Atlantis was the place to stay in the early 1900s as it was at the end of a 2 hour train journey from Bridgetown through plantations and tropical parts of the island. Andrews kept the authentic imagery and felling of those Schooner days on top of a dramatic beach.

The pool is great, with an infinity area, where you can watch the fishermen go out.

Walk up the path and see the famous staggered rocks in the sea, which is breathtaking.

The service was friendly, the food was great, Buljol breakfasts being my favourite choice.

The rooms are really big and really special. The waves are noisy at night so be prepared!

Highly recommended for a couple of nights away from the boring West Coast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed for one night with my partner as a romantic last night in Barbados. The Atlantis is a lovely hotel and our room was absolutely beautiful. The staff, however, are rather odd even by Bajan standards.

On arrival, we were told to sit in the 'lounge' (a sofa in reception) and to remain there whilst our bags were taken to our room. After about 15 minutes, we were then allowed to see our room and given a cursory and disinterested tour. There was an Apple TV machine in the room, but no-one told us how to turn it on or use it. There were no instructions in the book in the room.

After an afternoon stroll, and having developed a hunger, we returned and asked if bar snacks were available. The answer was 'no'. No other words, just no. Again, room service appears to be unavailable, so we starved for a few hours.

Our dinner, which was very good, was quite a pleasant experience although we found that we had to get up and walk to the bar to get drinks because the waiting staff were ignoring us. Equally, no-one was interested in our paying for food so, again, we had to go inside to pay it.

The Atlantis prides itself on having something like 40 staff for only eight rooms. Be cautious - at least 50% of these are wandering around chatting at any one time and most of the remainder are incredibly terse. There are, however, one or two diamonds and the quality of staff will hopefully improve over time.

On our day of departure, we checked out (after more paper shuffling), booked a cab for later in the day and took another walk. On returning to the hotel, the lady at reception told us that we weren't allowed to sit in the 'lounge' and wait for the taxi as we weren't residents (although we had paid £300 to stay the previous night). When we eventually got her permission to sit there, the owner eventually spotted us and offered us some drinks.

All in all, great hotel, friendly owner, one or two lovely staff and a whole heap of useless and rude people standing around.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bimjimmy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We are locals who now live near Toronto. We visited 21-28 April on vacation, and were invited by a friend to the Atlantis Hotel for their Sunday buffet lunch.

I had been disappointed with the screwed-up flavours and textures of all my favourite local "Bajan" foods served elsewhere, possibly from the "chefs" taking short cuts, but the Atlantis kitchen got it all right at the same time, and their care showed in the perfection of the food. From the suckling pig to the (Jamaican breadfruit recipe) "Oil-down" to the flying fish and coucou and everything in-between I could not have asked for more.

And of course it was buffet, so if you really like something you can go back and have seconds!! Thirds, even!!

One of the things I really like and miss is pork skin - we always called it ":crackling" - so I asked for some of that when I was in the buffet line. I was a bit disappointed when I got to the table because it was very thin and hard - almost inedible - but then I realised it came from a suckling (young) pig and there would be no satisfying crunching I was accustomed to from an adult pig's much thicker skin, and gave up.

The overall opinion is that if you like "Bajan" food or if you want to have an authentic taste of a wide range of "Bajan" food, this is absolutely the place to come. Make reservations, update your GPS with the (free) "BajanNav" mapping of Barbados' more than 900 miles of road (Google it on the Net), find Tent Bay (south-east of Bathsheba, on the east coast), and get thee thither as fast as thy wheels will carry thee on Sunday for lunch.

Warning... this is located on the eastern side of Barbados - we call it "the country" - so expect a scarcity of gas stations, steep hills, narrow roads, close brushes with large buses and trucks (and other cars) and a 30 to 45 minute drive from the south or west coasts. And if you don't have a GPS with BajanNav on it, expect to get lost a few times and spend quite a bit longer getting there (and back). Anyone you stop and ask can help you make progress!!

While I was there (21-28April'10), one of the major bridges at the bottom of Horse Hill (Joe's River Bridge) was out - and may take as long as year to replace - so in the near time frame there may be complications other than just finding the hotel.

My friend paid the bill, but my understanding is that the Buffet will cost you BDS$75 plus taxes plus drinks, so figure about BDS$100 (CAD/US$50) per person for the experience.

Finally, a drink suggestion. There is a history of a Bishop Bentley "way back when" in Barbados who became fed up with the excessive consumption of alcohol in the island, and came up with a replacement for those who would receive his preaching against the "demon rum". It is much like a lemonade, with a few shakes of bitters, some maraschino cherry juice, and (traditionally) with a cherry on a toothpick at the bottom of the glass.

This is also served with a straw, useful for spearing the cherry to eat when you have finished your drink!! Next time you are in Barbados, ask your bartender for a "Bentley", and you may be pleasantly refreshed!!

Jim Lynch
"bimjimmy)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We were staying at a nearby hotel and came to the Atlantis for lunch. We were immediately impressed with the setting and views from the terrace restaurant which were matched by the delicious food and the friendly professional service. Andrew the owner gave us a tour of the newly refurbished hotel of which he is rightly proud. We instantly fell in love with the simple elegance of the whole place and decided to move in for the rest of our stay in Barbados. All the bedrooms are enormous and the view of the sea from our window through the white-wooden shutters (which we could see from our canopied four poster bed) was like a picture-postcard. We were made to feel completely at home by each and every member of the friendly staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble and when we were subsequently caught up in the volcanic ash fiasco, Andrew and all his staff were helpful and understanding beyond the call of duty. Then moved to sister hotel Little Good Harbour (see our review for that too! - also great)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My wife and I spent Christmas at the completely restored Atlantis Hotel. All the rooms are beautifully furnished with fantastic ocean views. The friendly but professional staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is incredible and the wine list is excellent. Their Sunday Buffet is not to be missed. Excellent walking trails lead you to the small town of Bathsheba. The pool over looks the ocean and is a fantastic place to enjoy a book or just appreciate the ocean views. Don't miss an opportunity to stay in this old but newly renovated beauty. It's a wonderful opportunity to experience the rugged east coast of Barbados. We plan on returning to the Atlantis.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed several nights at the newly re-opened Atlantis hotel late last year; it was a beautiful and memorable experience. all the rooms in the hotel are very large and luxurious with stunning views. We ate all our meals at the hotel; the food was delicious and the service was friendly and proffessional. I enjoyed lazing beside the pool with a rum punch or walking along the coast. It was one of the highlights of my stay in Barbados and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic and relaxing holiday in a stunning location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.